CVFLW Round 1 Review | Hawks make flying start to season


EAGLEHAWK marked a brilliant start to the Champions IGA-backed Central Victoria Football League’s senior women’s competition on Saturday night.

The Hawks won every quarter on their way to a 90-13 victory against last season’s runner-up, Golden Square.

Jointly coached by Molly Metcalf and Geoff West, Eaglehawk led 26-6 at quarter-time of the clash on its turf at Canterbury Park.

The Two Blues slammed on 5.2 to nil in the second to lead 58-6 by half-time.

Eaglehawk’s pressure and run did not ease up after the main break as it scored 4.8 to 1.1 to lead by 77 points at the final siren.

Jasmine Burzacott, Keely Fullerton and Molly Pianta kicked three goals apiece as Grace Edlin and Kelly Mensforth chipped in with two each.

Both of Golden Square’s goals were off the boot of Paynton Jolliffe.

Eaglehawk’s best were Drew Ryan, Molly Pianta, Taylah Petrusma, Keely Fullerton, Grace Edlin and Jasmine Burzacott.

Best for the Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square were Keely Hare, Paynton Jolliffe, Natasha Tile, Liz Watkins, Ava Barker and Kendra Ahearn.

The season kicked off Friday night when Strathfieldsaye faced Bendigo Thunder under lights at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

The Terry Burt-coached Thunder dominated from the first ball-up and went on to win 18.16 (124) to nil.

Last season’s winner of the league goalkicking award, Britney Mueck made a superb start to a new race as she kicked seven goals.

Other multiple goalkickers were Jessica Kennedy, three; Nikeah Anderson and Brit Jackson, two.

Thunder’s best were Jessica Kennedy, Stephanie McDonald, Acacia Edwards, Emma Lang, Britney Mueck and Nikeah Anderson.

Dani Jeffery, Shania Bowers, Emily Bickley, Caitlin Shaw, Jessica Jackson and Bridget Chalkley were best for the Tim McCormick-coached Storm.

The round was completed on Sunday afternoon when North Bendigo hosted Castlemaine at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

It was always going to be a tough hit-out for the Jie Thomson-coached North Bendigo.

With many of last season’s premiership-winning team playing on, Castlemaine went on a first-quarter blitz.

The Magpies scored 9.4 in the first and 11.6 in the second.

At the final siren, Castlemaine led 36.19 (235) to 0.0 (0).

A list of Castlemaine’s goalkickers was not supplied.

Best for the Jordan Cochrane-coached Magpies were Aisling Tupper, Eloise Gretgrix, Rachel Thomas, Abbey Bertram, Taylah Sartori and Jemma Finning.

Quette Holloway-Jinks, Kira Gibbons, Matilda Henley-Johnstone, Maddie Jelbart and Mikaela Cole worked hard for the red, white and blue.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Eaglehawk 692 per cent, 4 points; Castlemaine 0, 4; Bendigo Thunder 0, 4; Golden Square 14, 0; North Bendigo 0, 0; Strathfieldsaye 0, 0; Woorinen 0, 0.

Round two kicks off Friday night when Golden Square plays Strathfieldsaye from 7.15pm at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

It’s a twilight match at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve on Saturday when the Magpies take on Eaglehawk from 5.15pm.

Bendigo Thunder meets league newcomer, Woorinen Tigers from 1pm on Sunday at Bendigo’s Weeroona Oval.

North Bendigo has the bye.