CVFLW Round 10 Review | Triple-header draws fans to women’s matches


A TRIPLE-HEADER at the iconic Queen Elizabeth Oval in Bendigo drew many fans to the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy matches on Sunday.

In a league first, all three matches in round 10 were played at the same venue on the same day.

Action kicked off with the match between North Bendigo and Strathfieldsaye.

The North Bendigo line-up won the first term, 15-6, and scored 1.5 to a goal in the second at the View Street ground.

Now coached by Ross Egleton, North Bendigo went on to claim a 4.11 (35) to 3.3 (21) victory against the Tim McCormick-coached Storm.

Goalkickers and best players for both teams were not supplied.

The league’s top two in Castlemaine and Woorinen met in game two.

It was the unbeaten reigning premier in Castlemaine opposed to a Woorinen line-up in its debut CVFL senior women’s footy season.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine made a flying start to lead 19-6 at quarter-time.

The Magpies added 1.5 to nil in the second for a 30-6 lead at the main break.

Castlemaine’s run and teamwork in the second half was superb as it won the last two terms, 39-6 and 38-2.

Magpies’ skipper Eloise Gretgrix kicked six goals as Tiahna Cochrane added four.

Castlemaine also had Tiffany Bradley and Lily den Houting chip in with two goals in a 107-14 victory.

Goalkickers for Woorinen were Madeleine Jeans and Samantha Johnston.

Best for Castlemaine were Taylah Sartori, Jemma Finning, Eloise Gretgrix, Tiahna Cochrane, Emma Pedretti and Eve Sheehan.

Tenay Fellows, Madeleine Jeans, Katelyn Hazlett, Jemma Meehan, Yasmin Harrington and Tiana Shepherd played well for Woorinen.

Finale to the day was Golden Square against Bendigo Thunder.

It was a crucial match for the Terry Burt-coached Thunder to keep the heat on the fourth-placed Golden Square.

Thunder made a great start to score two goals as it kept Square scoreless in the first term.

Accuracy was a highlight of Thunder’s play as it added three straight goals to the Dogs’ score of 1.1 in the second to lead 30-7 by the main break.

Both teams added two goals in the third.

A 23-point lead at the start of the final term for Thunder was up to 38 by the final siren after it scored 2.3 to nil.

Isabella Ayre kicked three goals as Britney Mueck and Jaime Sawers added two in a 57-19 victory for Thunder.

Goalkickers for the Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square were Paynton Jolliffe, two, and Olivia Hogg.

Bendigo Thunder’s best were Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Brianna Burt, Isabella Ayre, Jessica Kennedy, Jacqui Graham and Britney Mueck.

Natasha Tile, Rebecca Berry, Keely Hare and Bree Heiden were best for the blue and gold.

Eaglehawk had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 885 per cent, 36 points; Woorinen 220, 20; Eaglehawk 206, 20; Golden Square 96, 20; Bendigo Thunder 165, 16; North Bendigo 10, 8; Strathfieldsaye 5, 0.

Round 11 kicks off next Friday night.

Eaglehawk is on home turf at Canterbury Park to take on North Bendigo from 7.15pm.

Strathfieldsaye and Castlemaine also meet under Friday night lights from 7.15pm at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

The round will be completed on Sunday when Woorinen faces Golden Square from 1pm at Woorinen Recreation Reserve.

Bendigo Thunder has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

33 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

19 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

16 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

15 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

13 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

12 Isabella Ayre, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

10 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

10 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

9 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

8 Donal Fellows, Woorinen.

7 Nikeah Anderson, Bendigo Thunder.

7 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

7 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Kelly Mensforth, Eaglehawk.

7 Leonie Schulz, Woorinen.

7 Ainsley Taft, Castlemaine.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Abbey Bertram, Castlemaine.

6 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

6 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

6 Lily den Houting, Castlemaine.

6 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

6 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.