CVFLW Round 11 Review | Competition’s top three dominate contests


THE top three in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition dominated across the weekend’s 11th round.

Action kicked off Friday night when games were played at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park, and Strathfieldsaye’s Triple M Park.

At Eaglehawk it was the Two Blues who marked a 153-1 victory against North Bendigo.

Coached by Geoff West and Molly Metcalf, with Baz Metcalf as assistant, Eaglehawk led 41-0 at quarter-time and 80-1 by half-time.

The Hawks added 6.1 in the third and 5.6 in the final term.

Sienna Hobbs kicked a match-high nine goals.

Other multiple goalkickers were Grace Edlin, four; Drew Ryan, three; Molly Metcalf and Molly Pianta, two.

Best for Eaglehawk were Sienna Hobbs, Drew Ryan, Rhian Hobbs, Freyja Pearce, Molly Pianta and Grace Edlin.

Quetta Holloway-Jinks, Hannah McKenzie, Maddie Jelbart, Kira Gibbons, Ashlyne McInnes and Mikaela Cole played well for a North Bendigo team now being coached by Ross Egleton.

Strathfieldsaye faced a formidable Castlemaine under the Triple M Park lighs in Tannery Lane.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Magpies led 31-0 at quarter-time and scored 6.6 in the second.

Magpies’ captain Eloise Gretgrix went on to kick a match-high six goals in the 121-nil victory.

Other multiple goalkickers for Castlemaine were Tiffany Bradley, three; and Ainsley Taft, two.

Best for Castlemaine were Tiahna Cochrane, Eillish Cumming, Eloise Gretgrix, Chelsea Cole, Meg Ginnivan and Emma Pedretti.

Jessica Jackson, Bridget Chalkley, Dani Jeffery, Katrina Alford, Chelsea Reeves and Caitlin Shaw worked hard for the Tim McCormick-coached Storm.

The round was completed on Sunday at Woorinen where the Tigers took on Golden Square.

A closely-fought opening term went Golden Square’s way, 8-2.

Woorinen fired up to slam on 5.5 to a goal in the second.

A 23-point lead for the Tigers at half-time was 29 by the last change after they added 2.1 to 1.1 ikn the third term.

Donal Fellows capped off many of Woorinen’s attacks with seven goals in the 77-21 victory.

Remi Maher booted two goals for the yellow and black.

Golden Square’s attack was led by Paynton Jolliffe on two.

Best for Woorinen were Jemma Meehan, Tiana Shepherd, Donal Fellows, Sophie Peacock, Tenay Fellows and Carlee Hazlett.

Maddy White, Tanya Walsh, Paynton Jolliffe, Liz Watkins, Natasha Tile and Caitie Williamson were best for the Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square.

Bendigo Thunder had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 1008 per cent, 40 points; Eaglehawk 270, 24; Woorinen 232, 24; Golden Square 82, 20; Bendigo Thunder 165, 16; North Bendigo 8, 8; Strathfieldsaye 4, 0.

Round 12 kicks off next Friday night when Bendigo Thunder plays Castlemaine under the Epsom Huntly Recreation Reserve lights from 7.15pm.

The round will be completed on Sunday when North Bendigo meets Woorinen at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street at 1pm.

Strathfieldsaye and Eaglehawk clash from 2.30pm at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

Golden Square has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

39 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

25 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

21 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

17 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

15 Donal Fellows, Woorinen.

15 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

13 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

12 Isabella Ayre, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

10 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

9 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.