CVFLW Round 14 Preview | Thunder fights to hold place in top four


BENDIGO Thunder is under pressure to stay in the top four after this Sunday’s finale to the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy home and away series.

All of Sunday’s matches start at 1pm.

The Terry Burt-coached Thunder starts the round locked on 20 premiership points with Golden Square.

As Thunder tackles Eaglehawk at Weeroona Oval, Golden Square will be on home turf at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street against North Bendigo.

Massive task for Thunder to beat Eaglehawk in the clash between fourth and third.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square will be hot favourite to beat North Bendigo.

In round seven, Eaglehawk marked a 93-11 win against Bendigo Thunder on the Hawks’ turf at Canterbury Park.

The Geoff West and Molly Metcalf-coached Eaglehawk is on the rebound from a three-goal loss to Woorinen in Pride Round.

There’s the added incentive this Sunday for the Hawks as Molly Metcalf will play her 200th game.

A dual premiership player in her time with Bendigo Thunder, Metcalf’s football journey involved stints with North Bendigo and Kangaroo Flat juniors.

Metcalf’s versatility and leadership are two of the great strengths she brings to the Hawks’ line-up.

Eaglehawk is also determined to build confidence for the finals starting on August 20.

Key players for Eaglehawk include Grace Edlin, Eliza Long and Taylah Petrusma.

The Borough’s squad includes Rhian and Sienna Hobbs, Kelly Mensforth, Lexie Moss and Olivia Murley.

Bendigo Thunder marked a 57-point victory in the Pride Round game at North Bendigo’s Hibo Hotel Oval.

A talented Thunder line-up includes co-captain Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Acacia Edwwards, Nikki Heffer in the centre, and Shasta Martion.

The marking power of Isabella Ayre and Jaime Sawers will be a threat to the Hawks, along with the skill of Jessica Kennedy, co-captain Hannah Perry and Karleigh Whyte.

Golden Square must beat North Bendigo and also rely on the Hawks defeating Bendigo Thunder to keep its season alive.

In round seven, Golden Square won at North Bendigo by 31 points.

In Pride Round, Golden Square was scoreless after quarter-time as Castlemaine marked a 93-6 win at Camp Reserve.

Best in Golden Square’s latest hit-out were Katie Walker, Brooke Hards, Keely Hare, Liz Watkins and Marnie Gudge.

The blue and gold has Paynton Jolliffe as a main target in attack.

Other players to watch are Rebecca Berry, Laura Stilo and Tanya Walsh.

North Bendigo marked a club first in Pride Round as it played Bendigo Thunder under the Hibo Hotel Oval lights on Saturday night.

Best for the Ross Egleton-coached North Bendigo against Thunder were Maddie Jelbart, Mikaela Cole, Ashlyne McInnes, Mikala Dillon and Kristie Alford.

Woorinen Tigers will warm up for their first CVFL senior women’s finals campaign by being on home turf against Strathfieldsaye.

The Tigers will start hot favourite.

A talented Woorinen line-up which won at Eaglehawk last Sunday includes Donal and Tenay Fellows, Remi Maher and Freda Wosomo.

The Tigers also have Casy Unger, Izabella Palermo and Kerri-Ann Zeunert able to win plenty of the footy.

Strathfieldsaye is back in action after the bye.

Storm’s best in the round 12 match against Eaglehawk were Dani Jeffery, Bridget Chalkley and Jessica Jackson.

The Tim McCormick-coached squad will be determined to cap the long break by putting in a strong performance in its final hit-out of the season.

Castlemaine has the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 985 per cent, 48 points; Woorinen 266, 32; Eaglehawk 279, 28; Bendigo Thunder 150, 20; Golden Square 67, 20; North Bendigo 7, 8; Strathfieldsaye 4, 0.

The 14th and final round in the home and away series will be played next Sunday.

All matches start at 1pm.

Bendigo Thunder takes on Eaglehawk at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo’s Napier Street.

Golden Square fights North Bendigo in the battle of the Bulldogs at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

Woorinen is on home turf to play Strathfieldsaye Storm.

Castlemaine has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

47 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

31 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

27 Donal Fellows, Woorinen.

21 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

18 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

17 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

15 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

13 Kelly Mensforth, Eaglehawk.

13 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Isabella Ayre, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Abbey Bertram, Castlemaine.

12 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

11 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

10 Molly Pianta, Eaglehawk.

9 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.

9 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

9 Ainsley Taft, Castlemaine.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

8 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

8 Carlee Hazlett, Woorinen.

8 Lily den Houting, Castlemaine.

8 Leonie Schulz, Woorinen.

7 Nikeah Anderson, Bendigo Thunder.

7 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

7 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Remi Maher, Woorinen.