CVFLW Round 2 Preview |  Magpies face Hawks under Castlemaine’s lights


A FRIDAY night clash between Castlemaine and Eaglehawk kicks off round two in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition.

It’s the battle of the birds as the Magpies and Hawks meet at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve from 7.15pm.

Both teams made a flying start to the season.

Eaglehawk took on last season’s runner-up Golden Square on the Borough’s turf at Canterbury Park.

Led by the play of Drew Ryan, Molly Pianta, Taylah Petrusma and Kelly Fullerton, Eaglehawk won 90-13.

Players to watch in a Two Blues line-up which is coached by Geoff West and Molly Metcalf include Jasmine Burzacott at full-forward, Grace Edlin and Lexie Moss.

Castlemaine’s attack was on fire at North Bendigo’s Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

The Magpies marked goal tallies of nine, 11, 10 and 6 in a 235-point victory.

An 11-goal haul by captain Eloise Gretgrix earned the High Street X-ray Player of the Week award.

Gretgrix was not named in the Jordan Cochrane-coached team from Castlemaine for Friday’s game.

A powerful attack in the black and white stripes includes Ella Cochrane, Jemma Finning and Tiffany Bradley.

The play of captain Emily Cooper, Charlotte Beavan and Aisling Tupper are key factors for the Magpies.

Another night game on Friday will be at Golden Square’s Fur Life Oval in Wade Street where the Bulldogs take on Strathfieldsaye from 7.30pm.

Both teams are on the rebound from defeat.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square will be determined to create and capitalise on more scoring chances after a first-round score of 2.1 (13) on Eaglehawk’s turf.

Golden Square’s best in the season opener were Keely Hare, Paynton Joliffe, Natasha Tile, and captain Liz Watkins.

The team in blue and gold includes Rebecca Berry, Michelle McCready and Laura Stilo.

Strathfieldsaye was on home turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane for last Friday night’s first match of 2023 against Bendigo Thunder.

It was Thunder which stormed to a 124-point victory.

Best on a tough night for the Tim McCormick-coached Strathfieldsaye were Dani Jeffery, Shania Bowers, Emily Bickley and Caitlin Shaw.

Captain Tracey Anderson, Katrina Alford, Hannah Cue and Kerryn Seboa will be keen to play their part in a Storm victory.

Round two will be completed on Sunday afternoon when Bendigo Thunder hosts league newcomer, Woorinen Tigers at Weeroona in Bendigo’s Napier Street.

The Thunder and Tigers showdown starts at 1pm.

Jessica Kennedy, Stephanie McDonald, Acacia Edwards and Emma Lang were Thunder’s best against Strathfieldsaye.

Britney Mueck kicked seven goals and will test Woorinen’s defence all match.

Thunder’s attack also includes Nikeah Anderson and Brit Jackson.

The Tigers are an unknown quantity.

Many of their players have progressed from the Bendigo Junior Football League’s under-18 girls’ competition.

North Bendigo has the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Eaglehawk 692 per cent, 4 points; Castlemaine 0, 4; Bendigo Thunder 0, 4; Golden Square 14, 0; North Bendigo 0, 0; Strathfieldsaye 0, 0; Woorinen 0, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

11 Eloise Gretgrix, Cm.

7 Britney Mueck, BT.

5 Aisling Tupper, Cm.

3 Abbey Bertram, Cm; Jasmine Burzacott, Eh; Ella Cochrane, Cm; Jemma Finning, Cm; Keely Fullerton, Eh; Jessica Kennedy, BT; Molly Pianta, Eh.

2 Nikeah Anderson, BT; Charlotte Beavan, Cm; Grace Edlin, Eh; Brit Jackson, BT; Paynton Joliffe, GS; Kelly Mensforth, Eh; Ainsley Taft, Cm; Rachel Thomas, Cm.