CVFLW Round 2 Review | Woorinen Tigers roar to first-up win against Thunder


WOORINEN Tigers marked its debut in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition in style on Sunday.

The Tigers roared to a 38-point win on Bendigo Thunder’s turf at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo to complete round two.

Players, coaches and fans of the yellow and black marked the long trek south with a memorable first-up victory.

Woorinen led 16-7 at quarter-time and added 1.2 as it kept Thunder scoreless in term two.

Both line-ups added a goal in third, but was the Tigers who roared in the last as they added four goals to a point to complete a 54-16 result.

Natasha Kelly kicked three goals and Emma Peacock added two.

Other goalkickers for Woorinen included Sheridan Gallagher and Kerri-Ann Zeunert.

Thunder’s goalkickers were Nikeah Anderson and Jessica Kennedy.

Best for the Tigers were Izabella Palermo, Tiana Shepherd, Katelyn and Carlee Hazlett, Natasha Kelly and Tenay Fellows.

Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Isabella Ayre, Louise Bibby, Jessica Kennedy, Stephanie McDonald and Pip Lloyd were Thunder’s best.

The round kicked off Friday night with matches at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve, and Golden Square’s Fur Life Vet Oval.

Eaglehawk led 9-8 at quarter-time at Castlemaine, but the Magpies lifted to score 1.4 to just three behinds in the second.

A one-goal lead for the Pies at half-time became 13 by the last change.

Led by Aisling Tupper, Charlotte Beavan and Abbey Bertram, Castlemaine scored 3.2 to nil in the last for a 51-18 victory.

The Magpies’ attack was led by Jo Allan and Charlotte Beavan on two goals.

Sienna Hobbs booted both of the Hawks goals.

Best for Castlemaine included Rachel Thomas, Eillish Cumming and Jemma Finning.

Molly Metcalf, Taylah Petrusma, Chloe Green, Sienna Hobbs, Eliza Long and Grace Edlin were Eaglehawk’s best.

Golden Square kept Strathfieldsaye Storm goalless in a 58-4 result.

The blue and gold led 26-2 at half-time and scored 4.8 to 0.2 in the last two terms.

Paynton Jolliffe and captain Liz Wakins kicked two goals for Golden Square.

Best for the Bulldogs were Katie Walker, Rebecca Berry, Molly Forde, Caitlin Robertson, Paynton Jolliffe and Keely Hare.

Bryde O’Rourke, Jessica Jackson, Tara Slender, Taylah Lindrea and Tracey Anderson worked hard for Storm.

North Bendigo had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 1588 per cent, 8 points; Woorinen 337, 4; Bendigo Thunder 259, 4; Eaglehawk 168, 4; Golden Square 75, 4; Strathfieldsaye 2, 0; North Bendigo 0, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

11 Eloise Gretgrix, Cm.

7 Britney Mueck, BT.

5 Aisling Tupper, Cm.

4 Charlotte Beavan, Cm; Ella Cochrane, Cm; Paynton Jolliffe, GS; Jessica Kennedy, BT.

3 Jo Allan, Cm; Nikeah Anderson, BT; Abbey Bertram, Cm; Jemma Finning, Cm; Natasha Kelly, W; Molly Pianta, Eh; Ainsley Taft, Cm.

Round three kicks off this Friday night at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve when the Magpies take on Strathfieldsaye Storm from 7.15pm.

In Sunday’s matches, Golden Square is on home turf at Wade Street to play Woorinen Tigers, and North Bendigo hosts Eaglehawk at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

Both matches start at 1pm.

Bendigo Thunder has the bye.