CVFLW Round 3 Review | Square fights back to beat Woorinen


GOLDEN Square won a hard-fought contest with Woorinen in Sunday’s match to complete round three in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy season.

The Golden Square line-up had home-ground advantage at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street to take on the league newcomer which had beaten Bendigo Thunder the previous Sunday.

Woorinen led 6-1 at quarter-time and looked well on the way to another upset victory after it scored 2.3 to nil in the second term.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square fought back brilliantly in the third as it scored 3.1 to nil.

The Bulldogs added another goal in the last as a brilliant defensive effort held the Tigers to just a point.

At the final siren Golden Square led 27-22.

Paynton Jolliffe’s two goals were the only majors recorded on the blue and gold’s team sheet.

Goalkickers for Woorinen were captain Tenay Fellows, vice-captain Carlee Hazlett, and Tiana Shepherd.

Golden Square’s best were Jorja Van den Berg, Marnie Gudge, Samantha West, Olivia Hogg, Brooke Hards and Natasha Tile.

Emma Peacock, Shelley Clarke, Tenay Fellows and Casy Unger played well for the Tigers.

The round kicked off Friday night when Castlemaine was at home to play Strathfieldaye at Camp Reserve.

The Magpies made a flying start to the contest as they scored seven goals in the opening term.

Goal tallies for the Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine across the next three quarters were six, five and eight.

At the final siren, Castlemaine led 172-nil.

The Magpies’ attack was led by vice-captain Aisling Tupper, six; Jo Allan and Eve Sheehan, two.

Castlemaine’s best were Eillish Cumming, Aisling Tupper, Charlotte Beavan, Eve Sheehan, Emma Pedretti and Jo Allan.

Dani Jeffery, Hannah Cue, Chelsea Reeves, Amelia Martin, Dakota Tuckerman and Bridget Chalkley played well for the Tim McCormick-coached Storm.

In Sunday’s other match, North Bendigo took on Eaglehawk at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

The Hawks led 22-0 at quarter-time and 38-0 by the main break.

Jointly coached by Molly Metcalf and Geoff West, Eaglehawk added five goals in the third and five in the last for a 106-2 victory.

Keely Fullerton and Sienna Hobbs led the attack on four goals as captain Jasmine Burzacott chipped in with three.

Another multiple goalkicker for the Two Blues was Molly Metcalf on two.

Eaglehawk’s best were Taylah Petrusma, Cass Coleman, Keely Fullerton, Pearl Sullivan, Molly Metcalf and Molly Pianta.

Ashlyne McInnes, Kira Gibbons, Maddie Jelbart, Maddison Hargreaves-Hale, and Aisha Mansfield worked hard for the Jie Thomson-coached North Bendigo.

A highlight for the Bulldogs was playing her 50th match for the club in the CVFL senior women’s competition.

Bendigo Thunder had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 2544 per cent, 12 points; Eaglehawk 324, 8; Golden Square 84, 8; Bendigo Thunder 259, 4; Woorinen 176, 4; Strathfieldsaye 1, 0; North Bendigo 0.5, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

16 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

11 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

6 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

5 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

Round four kicks off Friday night when Bendigo Thunder plays Golden Square under lights at Epsom Huntly Recreation Reserve from 7.15pm.

On Saturday it’s a twilight showdown when Strathfieldsaye faces North Bendigo from 5.15pm at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

The round will be completed on Sunday when Woorinen marks its first home game in CVFL senior women’s footy at Woorinen Recreation Reserve against Castlemaine.

The Tigers and Magpies match starts at 1pm.

Eaglehawk has the bye.