CVFLW Round 4 Review | North Bendigo marks long-awaited victory


NORTH Bendigo marked its first victory since last July in Saturday night’s round four match in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition.

The Jie Thomson-coached North Bendigo made a great start to lead 14-7 at quarter-time of the night match at Strathfieldsaye Storm’s ground in Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Both teams added just a point each in the second and third terms.

In the last it was the Tim McCormick-coached Storm which scored two goals to put the heat on the Bulldogs.

North Bendigo fought on superbly to claim a 23-21 victory.

Goalkickers for North Bendigo were Kira Gibbons, Maddison Hargreaves-Hale and Kayla-Brea McIntosh.

Storm’s attack was led by Chelsea Reeves on three goals.

Best for the Bulldogs were Penny Lane, Quetta Holloway-Jinks, Mikaela Cole, Maddison Hargreaves-Hale, Aisha Mansfield and Tanika Thomson.

Strathfieldsaye’s best were Taylah Lindrea, Bree Frilay, Emily Bickley, Amelia Martin, Regeena Torney and Hannah Cue.

It was the Bulldogs’ first win since last seasons’ 15th round when it beat Kerang, 69-1 at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

Round four kicked off Friday night when Bendigo Thunder played Golden Square under lights at Epsom-Huntly Recreation Reserve.

The Bulldogs led 13-7 at quarter-time before both teams added a point each in the second.

Defences were well on top in the third.

Square added a point and Thunder added two.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Bulldogs led 14-10 at a quarter to play and scored 1.2 to nil in the last to complete a 22-10 victory.

Paynton Jolliffe kicked a match-high two goals for the blue and gold as Claire Picone added the other.

Goalkicker for Thunder was Brianna Burt.

Best for Golden Square were captain Liz Watkins, Rebecca Berry, Claire Picone, Brooke Hards, Hayley Braden and Keely Hare.

Marguerita Murphy, Monique Jones, Nikki Heffer, Hannah Perry, Brianna Burt and Serryn Eenjes played well for the Terry Burt-coached Thunder.

The round was completed on Sunday when Woorinen played its first home game and third match in its debut season in the CVFL senior women’s footy league.

The Tigers were up against reigning premier in Castlemaine.

Woorinen made a great start to score 1.3 to 2.0 in the opening term.

In the second it was the Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine which took control.

The Magpies added 3.1 to nil for a 22-point buffer by the main break.

Woorinen worked hard to score two more goals in the second half, but a strong Castlemaine line-up had the answers on its way to a 73-23 result.

The Magpies’ attack was led by Charlotte Beavan and co-captain Eloise Gretgrix, three goals; and co-captain Emily Cooper, two.

Woorinen’s goalkickers were Donal Fellows, two; and Freda Wosomo.

Best for the Magpies were Abbey Bertram, Aisling Tupper, Jemma Finning, Eillish Cumming, Rachel Thomas and Charlotte Beavan.

Leonie Schulz, Jemma Meehan, Freda Wosomo, Carlee Hazlett and Tenay Fellows played well for the yellow and black.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 1295 per cent, 16 points; Golden Square 95, 12; Eaglehawk 324, 8; Bendigo Thunder 197, 4; Woorinen 85, 4; North Bendigo 6.9, 4; Strathfieldsaye 6.6, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

16 Elloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

11 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

8 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

6 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

It’s a bye for CVFL teams next week.

The season resumes on Friday, May 26 when Golden Square and Castlemaine kick off round five at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street, Golden Square at 7.15pm.

Matches on Sunday, May 28 will be Bendigo Thunder against North Bendigo at Weeroona Oval from 1pm, and Woorinen back on the Tigers’ turf at Woorinen to play Eaglehawk at 1pm.

Strathfieldsaye has the bye.