CVFLW Round 5 Preview | Spotlight shines on grand final rematch


GOLDEN Square’s lights will be shining this Friday night when round five in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition kicks off.

The spotlight is on the Bulldogs as they take on the unbeaten Castlemaine in the rematch of the 2022 grand finalists from 7.15pm at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

Both line-ups have changed markedly since last September, but memory of grand final defeat will spur Golden Square’s players.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square has achieved a 3-1 record to be second in this year’s premiership race.

The Bulldogs and Magpies were well represented as Central Victoria won the Worksafe AFL inter-league challenge in Mooroopna last Sunday.

Golden Square’s stars in the CV team coached by Rick Ladson were captain Liz Watkins, Keely Hare, Bree Heiden, Olivia Hogg, Paynton Jolliffe and Natasha Tile.

In round four, Golden Square scored a two-goal win against Bendigo Thunder under lights at Epsom-Huntly Reserve.

Best for the blue and gold in that contest included Rebecca Berry, Marnie Gudge, Brooke Hards and Clare Picone.

A major threat to Square’s chances against Castlemaine will be the in-form Aisling Tupper.

In midfield or attack, Tupper has played a crucial role in the Magpies soaring to top spot and staying there.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine has pace and skill on every line.

The play of Charlotte Beavan, Abbey Bertram, Eillish Cumming and Lily Den Houting earned inter-league selection.

Latest hit-out for Castlemaine was at Woorinen where the Magpies beat the Tigers by 50 points.

Best for the Pies in that contest included Jemma Finning and Rachel Thomas.

On Sunday, Bendigo Thunder takes on North Bendigo at Weeroona Oval in Napier Street from 1pm.

Thunder is on the rebound from a two-goal loss to Golden Square.

The Jie Thomson-coached North Bendigo ended its winless run as it scored a 23-21 victory on Strathfieldsaye’s turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane in round four.

An outstanding match by Kira Gibbons from North Bendigo earned the High Street X-ray Player of the Round award.

Also among the best for North Bendigo in that match were Mikaela Cole, Maddison Hargreaves-Hale and Aisha Mansfield.

The consistency of Maddie Jelbart for the Bulldogs earned selection in the CV representative team and clubmate Kira Gibbons was an emergency.

Being up against Thunder will be a huge challenge for North Bendigo.

Key players for a Thunder team coached by Terry Burt and Hannah Perry include Nikki Heffer, Monique Jones and Marguerita Murphy.

Gun forward Britney Mueck played for CVFL in the inter-league challenge at Mooroopna, along with Thunder clubmates Acacia Edwards, Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Jessica Kennedy and Hannah Perry.

Woorinen is back in Tigers’ territory to play Eaglehawk on Sunday from 1pm at Woorinen Recreation Reserve.

In its first year in the CVFL senior women’s competition, Woorinen has a 1-2 record.

The Tigers stunned Bendigo Thunder in round two, but the past two rounds have taken on top teams Golden Square and Castlemaine.

Woorinen was at home against Castlemaine in round four, but could not stop the Magpies soaring to a 50-point victory.

Best for the yellow and black in that match were Leonie Schulz, Jemma Meehan and Freda Wosomo.

Woorinen also has Carlee and Katelyn Hazlett who starred in defence for the CVFL line-up last Sunday.

Another key player for the Tigers is Natasha Kelly.

Eaglehawk is back in action after the fourth-round bye.

Jointly coached by Geoff West and Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk has a 2-1 record and is third in the premiership race.

The Hawks were represented by Eliza Long, Molly Metcalf, Freyja Pearce and Molly Pianta in this year’s successful inter-league campaign.

Eaglehawk dominated its most recent game at North Bendigo as Tayla Petrusma, Cass Coleman, Keely Fullerton and Pearl Sullivan were best.

Strathfieldsaye has the bye.

Next match for the Tim McCormick-coached Storm is on June 3 in the Indigenous Round match against Eaglehawk from 5.15pm at Canterbury Park.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 1295 per cent, 16 points; Golden Square 95, 12; Eaglehawk 324, 8; Bendigo Thunder 197, 4; Woorinen 85, 4; North Bendigo 6.9, 4; Strathfieldsaye 6.6, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

19 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

11 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

8 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

6 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.