CVFLW Round 5 Review | Castlemaine dominates grand final rematch


CASTLEMAINE dominated the rematch of the 2022 grand finalists in Friday night’s start to the fifth round of Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition.

The Magpies led 15-1 at quarter-time of the match on Golden Square’s turf at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

In the second it was Castlemaine which did all the attacking as it scored 4.3 to nil to lead 41-1 by half-time.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached ladder leaders did not ease up the pressure in the second half.

Although it added just two more goals across quarters three and four, Castlemaine’s defensive play was superb as it held the Bulldogs to a behind.

At the final siren, Castlemaine led 8.10 (58) to 0.2 (2).

Magpies’ captain Eloise Gretgrix kicked three goals as Jemma Finning added two, and Ella Cochrane, Lily den Houting and Aisling Tupper were also on target.

Best for Castlemaine were Rachel Thomas, Aisling Tupper, Abbey Bertram, Jemma Finning, Lily den Houting and Emma Pedretti.

Claire Picone, Laura Stilo, Molly Forde, Jorja Van den Berg, Bree Heiden and Natasha Tile worked hard for the Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square.

The round was completed on Sunday when matches were played at Woorinen and at Bendigo’s Weeroona Oval.

Woorinen Tigers roared to a 63-point win at home against Eaglehawk.

The Tigers led 22-nil at quarter-time and 24-1 by the main break.

Woorinen’s pressure and run did not let up the second half as it scored 5.10 to a point in the second half to record a 64-1 victory.

Samantha Johnston led the Tigers’ attack on three goals as Donal Fellows added two.

Woorinen’s best were Jemma Meehan, Katelyn Hazlett, Madeleine Jeans, Leonie Schulz, Carlee Hazlett and Izabella Palmero.

It was a tough afternoon for the Geoff West and Molly Metcalf-coached Eaglehawk whose best were Grace Edlin, Eliza Long, Kelly Mensforth, Cass Coleman, Grace Murley and Taylah Petrusma.

Competing in the CVFL senior women’s competition for the first time, Woorinen now has a 2-2 record to be locked on eight premiership points with the fourth-placed Eaglehawk.

Bendigo Thunder struck back from defeat the previous round to score 18 goals against North Bendigo at Weeroona Oval.

North Bendigo had broken a long-running winless streak when it beat Strathfieldsaye by two points the previous round.

The Jie Thomson-coached Bulldogs started well to be down by just 11 points at quarter-time after Tanika Thomson was on target in the first term.

From there it was the Terry Burt-coached Thunder which seized control.

A seven-goal second term by Thunder was followed by tallies of four and five in the next two quarters on the way to a 122-6 result.

Brianna Burt and Serryn Eenjes kicked four goals each as Jaime Sawers added three.

Other goalkickers were Nikeah Anderson, two; Acacia Edwards, Tamara Kendall, Jessica Kennedy, Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke and Hannah Perry.

Best for Thunder were Nikki Heffer, Serryn Eenjes, Jessica Kennedy, Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Karleigh Whyte and Monique Jones.

Mikala Dillon, Aisha Mansfield, Mikaela Cole, Kira Gibbons and Angela Iles played well for North Bendigo.

Strathfieldsaye had the bye.

Standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition:

Castlemaine 1369 per cent, 20 points; Golden Square 66, 12; Bendigo Thunder 331, 8; Eaglehawk 166, 8; Woorinen 138, 8; North Bendigo 6, 4; Strathfieldsaye 6, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

22 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

8 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

6 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

6 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

6 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

Indigenous Round will be played next weekend.

Feature match is on Saturday when Eaglehawk plays Strathfieldsaye under lights at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park from 5.15pm.

On Sunday, Castlemaine is on home turf at Camp Reserve to play Bendigo Thunder from 1pm.

Woorinen Tigers mark another home game when they play North Bendigo from 1pm.

Golden Square has the bye.