CVFLW Round 6 Preview | Woorinen hosts feast of footy as part of Indigenous Round


IT WILL be an action-packed day of footy at Woorinen this Sunday as the Tigers are on home turf in the sixth round of Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition.

As part of Indigenous Round across the league, Woorinen will take on North Bendigo in the main game from 2.15pm.

The build-up to the senior women’s match begins with the under-15 girls’ game at 9am.

A free Footy4Fun clinic for 5-12 year old girls will be run from 11am.

At 12.45pm, Woorinen takes on White Hills in a Bendigo Junior Football League under-18 girls match.

A newcomer to the CVFL senior women’s league, Woorinen has a 2-2 record and in fifth place in the premiership race.

The Tigers played brilliant football on home turf at Sunday to score a 64-1 win against Eaglehawk.

Best for the yellow and black were Jemma Meehan, Katelyn Hazlett, Madeleine Jeans and Leonie Schulz.

The Woorinen team to take on North Bendigo includes co-captains Casy Unger and Tenay Fellows, Donal Fellows, Carlee Hazlett and Freda Wosomo.

The Jie Thomson-coached North Bendigo is on the rebound from a 122-6 loss to Bendigo Thunder at Weeroona Oval.

Best for the red, white and blue in round five were Mikala Dillon, Aisha Mansfield, Mikaela Cole and Kira Gibbons.

Indigenous Round kicks off at 5.15pm on Saturday when Eaglehawk plays Strathfieldsaye at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

The Hawks were held to a point at Woorinen last round.

Key players for an Eaglehawk team coached by Geoff West and Molly Metcalf include Cass Coleman, Grace Edlin, Eliza Long and Kelly Mensforth.

The Two Blues also have Chloe Green, Grace and Olivia Murley, Jasmine Burzacott and Rhiann and Sienna Hobbs.

Strathfieldsaye is back in action after a bye.

In round four the Tim McCormick-coached Storm put in a great effort against North Bendigo at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye.

A top contest ended in a 23-21 win for North Bendigo.

Storm’s best in that match were Tayla Lindrea, Bree Frilay, Emily Bickley and Amelia Martin.

On Sunday, Castlemaine is on home turf at Camp Reserve to play Bendigo Thunder from 1pm.

Unbeaten in pursuit of back-to-back premierships, Castlemaine has a 5-0 record and is on top of the ladder.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine dominated last Friday night’s match at Golden Square’s Fur Life Oval to mark a 58-2 victory.

In-form players for the Magpies include Abbey Bertram, Jemma Finning, Rachel Thomas and Aisling Tupper.

Castlemaine’s team for Sunday includes gun forward Eloise Gretgrix, Emma Pedretti, Taylah Sartori, Beppina Marshall and Lily den Houting.

The third-placed Bendigo Thunder has a win-loss tally of 2-2 following the 122-6 result against North Bendigo.

Best for Thunder in that match were Nikki Heffer, Serryn Eenjes, Jessica Kennedy and Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke.

Workrate at clearances will be a key to the chances of a Thunder team coached by Terry Burt, with Hannah Perry as assistant, of breaking Castlemaine’s winning streak.

Golden Square has the bye.

Standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy league:

Castlemaine 1369 per cent, 20 points; Golden Square 66, 12; Bendigo Thunder 331, 8; Eaglehawk 165, 8; Woorinen 139, 8; North Bendigo 6, 4; Strathfieldsaye 6, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

22 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

8 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Jasmine Burzacott, Castlemaine.

6 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

6 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

6 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

5 Nikeah Anderson, Bendigo Thunder.

5 Brianna Burt, Bendigo Thunder.

5 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

4 Abbey Bertram, Castlemaine.

4 Serryn Eenjes, Bendigo Thunder.

4 Donal Fellows, Woorinen.

4 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

4 Ainsley Taft, Castlemaine.