CVFLW Round 7 Review | Hawks dominate showdown with Thunder


EAGLEHAWK dominated Friday night’s clash with Bendigo Thunder to kick off the seventh round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy season.

The Hawks were on home turf at Canterbury Park for a match which would play a key part in deciding the top-two hopes of the Borough and finals prospects of Thunder.

Eaglehawk led 14-1 at quarter-time and then scored four goals in the second.

Jessica Kennedy goaled for Thunder in term two.

Defences were on top for most of the third term as the Borough led 52-10 at a quarter to play.

In the last the Hawks line-up which is coached by Geoff West and Molly Metcalf went on a goalkicking blitz.

Eaglehawk scored 6.5 to a point in the final term to complete a 93-11 victory.

Grace Edlin kicked a match-high five goals for the Two Blues.

Other multiple goalkickers were Kelly Mensforth, three; and Lexie Moss, two.

Eaglehawk’s best were Lexie Moss, Kelly Mensforth, Molly Metcalf, Drew Ryan, Grace Edlin and Mia Bolitho-Williams.

Assistant coach Hannah Perry was best for the Terry Burt-coached Thunder, along with Nikki Heffer, Jessica Kennedy, Karleigh Whyte, Acacia Edwards and Monique Jones.

Golden Square marked a five-goal win on North Bendigo’s ground at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

The blue and gold led 17-1 at quarter-time and then scored 1.2 to nil in the second.

The Nathan Manuel-coached dominated most of the play in the third term as it added 1.5.

After two scoreless terms, the Jie Thomson-coached North Bendigo hit back to win the final quarter, 10-6 in which Jaydene Burzacott goaled for the red, white and blue.

At the final siren Golden Square led 42-11.

The talented Paynton Jolliffe kicked three goals for Golden Square as Keely Hare and Maddy White were also on target.

Best for Golden Square were Molly Forde, Maddy White, Claire Picone, Tanya Walsh, Faith Reid and Keely Hare.

Tallulah Duffy, Maddison Hargreaves-Hale, Quetta Holloway-Jinks, Aisha Mansfield and Kira Gibbons were North Bendigo’s best.

Woorinen dominated on Strathfieldsaye Storm’s turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

The Tigers marked the long trek south by scoring 5.4 in the first term and 6.4 in the second.

Woorinen’s pressure, run and strong defence did not let up as the yellow and black added 3.5 in the third and 6.2 in the last for a 135-nil victory.

The Tigers’ attack was led by Natasha Kelly, five; Leonie Schulz, four; and Tenay Fellows, Sophie Peacock and Freda Wosomo, three.

Woorinen’s best were Carlee Hazlett, Maddy Price, Leonie Schulz, Sophie Peacock, Tiana Shepherd and Katelyn Hazlett.

Best for the Tim McCormick-coached Strathfieldsaye were Jessica Jackson, Tracey Anderson, Caitlin Shaw, Bree Frilay, Dani Jeffery and Melissa Freestone.

Castlemaine had the bye.

Standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition:

Castlemaine 873 per cent, 24 points; Woorinen 357, 16; Eaglehawk 288, 16; Golden Square 84, 16; Bendigo Thunder 139, 8; North Bendigo 6, 4; Strathfieldsaye 4, 0.

Round eight kicks off with two Friday night matches on June 23.

Castlemaine hosts North Bendigo at Camp Reserve from 7.15pm.

It’s fourth against third as Golden Square takes on Eaglehawk at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street from 7.15pm.

The round will be completed on Sunday when Bendigo Thunder plays Strathfieldsaye from 1pm at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo’s Napier Street.

Woorinen has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

25 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

14 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

12 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

11 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

9 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Kelly Mensforth, Eaglehawk.

7 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

7 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

6 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

6 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

6 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

5 Nikeah Anderson, Bendigo Thunder.

5 Brianna Burt, Bendigo Thunder.

5 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

5 Leonie Schulz, Woorinen.