CVFLW Round 8 Preview | League runs Friday night double


NIGHT matches on Friday at Castlemaine and Golden Square kick off the eighth round in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy season.

Locked on 16 points, Golden Square and Eaglehawk will play at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street from 7.15pm.

It’s fourth against third as both teams vie to pass Woorinen, which has the bye, and grab the second rung on the ladder.

Eaglehawk dominated the previous meeting with Square to win 90-13 on the Borough’s turf at Canterbury Park.

In last weekend’s action, the Geoff West-coached Hawks beat Bendigo Thunder by 77 points.

Eaglehawk assistant coach Molly Metcalf earned the High Street X-ray Player of the Week award.

Players to watch for the Two Blues include Grace Edlin, Mia Bolitho-Williams, Kelly Mensforth and Lexie Moss.

Golden Square’s best in its latest win were Molly Forde, Maddy White and Claire Picone.

The unbeaten Castlemaine is on home turf at Camp Reserve to take on North Bendigo from 7.15pm.

Refreshed by the bye, the Jordan Cochrane-coached Magpies will be keen to play well.

Castlemaine’s run at back-to-back premierships began with a 235-point victory on North Bendigo’s ground at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street in round one.

Magpies’ captain Eloise Gretgrix dominated at full-forward in that match and looms as a huge threat to the red, white and blue once again.

Other key players for the Pies include Ella and Tiahna Cochrane, Jemma Finning, Lily den Houting and Emily Cooper.

The Jie Thomson-coached North Bendigo worked hard for an 11-42 result at home against Golden Square last round.

Best for the red, white and blue in that match were Tallulah Duffy, Maddison Hargreaves-Hale, Quetta Holloway-Jinks, Aisha Mansfield and Kira Gibbons.

The round will be completed on Sunday when Bendigo Thunder plays Strathfieldsaye from 1pm at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo’s Napier Street.

Last time these clubs met, Thunder won by 124 points.

The Terry Burt-coached Thunder will be determined to hit back after last week’s loss at Eaglehawk.

Key players for Thunder include co-captains Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke and Hannah Perry, Jessica Kennedy, Jaime Sawers, Louise Bibby and Shelby Faulkner.

It’s been a tough run for the Tim McCormick-coached Strathfieldsaye which was kept scoreless by the Woorinen Tigers last round.

Storm’s best against the Tigers were Jessica Jackson, Tracey Anderson, Caitlin Shaw and Bree Frilay.

Woorinen has the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 873 per cent, 24 points; Woorinen 357, 16; Eaglehawk 288, 16; Golden Square 84, 16; Bendigo Thunder 139, 8; North Bendigo 6, 4; Strathfieldsaye 4, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

25 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

14 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

12 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

11 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

9 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Kelly Mensforth, Eaglehawk.

7 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

6 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

6 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

6 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.