CVFLW Round 8 Review | Hawks soar to victory on Square’s turf


EAGLEHAWK soared to a 25-point victory on Golden Square’s turf in Friday night’s start to the eighth round in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy season.

The Hawks and Bulldogs met at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

After a brilliant opening term, Eaglehawk led 20-7.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square struck back to win the second term, 13-7.

In the third quarter it was the Two Blues who did plenty of attacking to score 4.2 to 1.1.

A closely-fought final term went the way of the blue and gold, 7-6, but it was Eaglehawk which celebrated a 59-34 victory.

Sienna Hobbs was in superb form as she kicked six goals in a best afield performance for Eaglehawk.

Molly Pianta kicked two goals for the Geoff West-coached Borough as Grace Edlin added another.

Golden Square’s attack was led by Paynton Jolliffe on two as Jemma Rainbow, Laura Stilo and Maddy White added one each.

Best for Eaglehawk were Sienna Hobbs, Ellie Bailey, Pearl Sullivan, assistant coach Molly Metcalf, Freyja Pearce, and Eileen Mitchell.

Golden Square’s best were Kendra Ahearn, Marnie Gudge, Bree Heiden, Caitie Williamson, Katie Walker and Olivia Hogg.

The other match on Friday night was at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve where the reigning premiers played North Bendigo.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine led 21-0 at quarter-time and 39-0 by the long break.

North Bendigo worked hard, but the Magpies’ precise teamwork was outstanding as they scored 4.2 in the third.

Castlemaine went on to claim a 10.15 (75) to nil victory.

Goalkickers for the Magpies were Tiffany Bradley, three; Tiahna Cochrane, two; Abbey Bertram, Ella Cochrance, Jemma Finning, Meg Ginnivan and Ainsley Taft.

Best for Castlemaine were Tiahna and Ella Cochrane, Eillish Cumming, Abbey Bertram, Meg Ginnivan and Jemma Finning.

Mikaela Cole, Matilda Henley-Johnstone, Maddie Jelbart, Quetta Holloway-Jinks and Paige Panczel played well for the Jie Thomson-coached North Bendigo.

The round was completed on Sunday where Bendigo Thunder played Strathfieldsaye at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo’s Napier Street.

It was a big day for Thunder vice-captain Jaime Sawers in her 250th match.

A Thunder team coached by Terry Burt, and assisted by Hannah Perry, was in ruthless form.

Thunder scored 7.5 in the first quarter and added 3.3 in the second.

Led by the brilliance of Jessica Kennedy, Isabella Ayre and Brianna Burt, Thunder scored 8.5 in the third term and 7.6 in the last to complete a 169-nil victory.

Thunder’s attack was led by Isabella Ayre, nine; Jessica Kennedy, four; Oakley Turner, three; Miaya Pearce and Jaime Sawers, two.

Best for Bendigo Thunder were Jessica Kennedy, Isabella Ayre, Brianna Burt, Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Oakley Turner and Maiya Pearce.

Caitlin Shaw, Katrina Alford, Melissa Freestone, Jessica Jackson, Tracey Anderson and Dani Jeffery played well for the Tim McCormick-coached Strathfieldsaye Storm.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 976 per cent, 28 points; Eaglehawk 266, 20; Woorinen 357, 16; Golden Square 77, 16; Bendigo Thunder 215, 12; North Bendigo 5, 4; Strathfieldsaye 3, 0.

There is no play next weekend.

League action resumes on Friday, July 7 when Eaglehawk takes on Castlemaine in the Pink Round match between second and first under the Canterbury Park lights in Eaglehawk from 7.15pm.

On the same night, Strathfieldsaye meets Golden Square under the lights at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane from 7.15pm.

Pink Round will be completed on Sunday, July 9 when Woorinen hosts Bendigo Thunder at Woorinen Recreation Reserve from 1pm.

North Bendigo has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

25 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

15 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

14 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

13 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

13 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

10 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

9 Isabella Ayre, Bendigo Thunder.

9 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

7 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

7 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

7 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Kelly Mensforth, Eaglehawk.

7 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

7 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Nikeah Anderson, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

6 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.