CVFLW Semi-Finals Preview | Women’s footy semi-finals on Eaglehawk’s turf


SEMI-FINALS in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition will be played this Sunday at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

Action at the Simpson’s Road venue starts at 11.30am when Eaglehawk tackles Golden Square in the first semi-final.

This season’s meetings between the Hawks and Bulldogs stand at two-nil in favour of Eaglehawk.

The Geoff West and Molly Metcalf-coached Hawks kicked off the season with a 77-point win against Golden Square at Canterbury Park in round one.

Next contest in the eighth round was much closer as the Hawks took the points in a 59-34 result on the Bulldogs’ turf at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

The Hawks have won eight of 12 matches, which included last Sunday’s triumph against Bendigo Thunder.

A 22-point win by the Hawks meant Golden Square grabbed fourth placing following a 20-goal at home against North Bendigo.

Key targets in the Eaglehawk attack include Sienna and Rhian Hobbs, Grace Edlin and Kelly Mensforth.

Players to watch for the Two Blues include Grace Murley, Eliza Long and Lexie Moss in defence; rover Freyja Pearce, and captain Alex Summerfield.

A 6-6 record was enough for Golden Square to clinch a finals berth as it finished a win clear of Bendigo Thunder.

It’s now a new season for the blue and gold.

Paynton Jolliffe has kicked 27 goals for Golden Square and will test the Hawks’ defence all match.

The Bulldogs have Bree Heiden and Olivia Hogg teaming up across the half-forward line.

Best in last Sunday’s victory included Marnie Gudge at half-forward, Katie Walker in the centre, and captain Liz Watkins.

The Nathan Manuel-coached team includes Rebecca Berry, Brooke Hards, Keely Hare, Tanya Walsh and Maddy White.

Game two on Sunday will be the second semi-final between Castlemaine and Woorinen from 1.30pm.

Massive task for the Woorinen Tigers in their first CVFL senior women’s footy final.

An unbeaten run by Castlemaine includes a 50-point triumph at Woorinen in round four.

The Magpies won 107-14 against the Tigers in the Super Sunday match to mark the 10th round at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine has dominated many matches in its pursuit of back-to-back premierships.

Win on Sunday and the Magpies are through to the grand final.

Castlemaine also had the bye last round.

A powerful attack is led by Eloise Gretgrix, 47 goals in 10 matches.

The Magpies also have Abbey Bertram, Tiffany Bradley and Tiahna Cochrane to cap off attacking moves.

Players to watch for the Pies include Ella Cochrane, Emily Cooper, Lily den Houting, Jemma Finning, Meg Ginnivan and Emma Pedretti.

A strong Castlemaine defence includes Beppina Marshall, Sheryl Rose and Taylah Sartori.

Been a superb effort by Woorinen to achieve a 9-3 record.

Only defeats for the Tigers have been to Castlemaine, and at Golden Square.

Donal Fellows has dominated in Woorinen’s attack in recent weeks and now has a season tally of 34 goals.

The Tigers also have Natasha Kelly, Remi Maher and Madeleine Jeans as threats in the forward 50m arc.

A talented line-up to make the long trek south includes Carlee and Katelyn Hazlett, Jemma Meehan, Izabella Palermo, Leonie Schulz, Tiana Shepherd, Casy Unger, Kerri-Ann Zeunert.

Most recent hit-out for Woorinen at Eaglehawk was on August 6 when it beat the Borough by three goals.

Best for the Tigers in that match were Freda Wosomo and Sophie Peacock.

Final standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 985 per cent, 48 points; Woorinen 301, 36; Eaglehawk 268, 32; Golden Square 93, 24; Bendigo Thunder 139, 20; North Bendigo 7, 8; Strathfieldsaye 3, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

47 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

34 Donal Fellows, Woorinen.

34 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

27 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

18 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

18 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

17 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

15 Isabella Ayre, Bendigo Thunder.

14 Kelly Mensforth, Eaglehawk.

14 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

13 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Abbey Bertram, Castlemaine.

12 Molly Pianta, Eaglehawk.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

11 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

11 Remi Maher, Woorinen.

9 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.

9 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

9 Ainsley Taft, Castlemaine.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

8 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

8 Lily den Houting, Castlemaine.

8 Carlee Hazlett, Woorinen.

8 Leonie Schulz, Woorinen.

7 Nikeah Anderson, Bendigo Thunder.

7 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

7 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

7 Gabrielle Drage, Golden Square.

7 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Eve Sheehan, Castlemaine.

6 Jo Allan, Castlemaine.

6 Shasta Martion, Bendigo Thunder.

6 Freyja Pearce, Eaglehawk.

6 Drew Ryan, Eaglehawk.

6 Liz Watkins, Golden Square.

6 Maddy White, Golden Square.