Bulldogs win thriller against Colbinabbin in North Bendigo kennel

NORTH Bendigo marked another thrilling victory on home turf in Atkins Street as the Bulldogs took on Colbinabbin in Saturday’s 10th round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League’s senior footy action.

Scores were locked on 75-all as the final quarter began at Hibo Hotel Oval.

It was an emotional afternoon for North Bendigo coach Robert Bennett, his mother Denise, and younger sister Skye, just days after the passing after father and husband, Colin who had an association with the club of almost 50 years.

The Bulldogs were not only determined to “win for Col and the Bennett family”, but also to keep in touch with the league’s top three of LBU, Colbinabbin and Mount Pleasant.

Greatest margin at a quarter-time break was two in favour of Colbo at half-time.

It was a Sean Moyle goal in the final minute which clinched a 91-86 victory for North Bendigo.

Key forward Dylan Klemm and young gun Cody Riddick, who brought up his 50th goal for the season in the under-18s clash earlier in the day, led the Bulldogs’ attack on three apiece.

The Grasshoppers’ leading goalkicker was James Brain on three.

Best afield honours went to North Bendigo key defender Shane Harris as ruckman Jeremy Lambden played another superb game.

The Bulldogs also welcomed back the experienced Jordan Ford and Aarryn Craig who were among the best with Moyle and Klemm.

Best for the Julian Bull-coached Colbinabbin were Todd Clarke, Hadleigh Sirett, Logan Fitzgerald, Lachlan Ezard and Jed Brain.


A thriller was also played at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve between the Hawks and Heathcote.

The Andrew Saladino-coached Saints led 35-17 at half-time, but Huntly fired up to win the third term, 20-9, and was within seven points going into the final term.

Led by the play of the classy Codie Price, Mitch McLean and William Direen it was Heathcote which took the premiership points in a 58-52 result.

Jackson Conforti led the Saints’ attack on two goals.

Huntly’s leading goalkicker was Tori Ferguson with two.

The Saints’ best included Jackson Jones, Henry McCarthy and Joe Langford.

Best for the Stacy Fiske-coached Huntly were Jake Maher, Harrison Campbell, Tyler Miles, Jay McDonald, Jayden Cordy and Matthew Rule.


Lockington Bamawm United dominated its clash with White Hills at Lockington.

The Cats led 43-17 at half-time and then added 9.8 in the final hour as strong defence held the Demons to three points.

Thomas Leech kicked four goals as Lachlan Atherton, Jesse Collins and Anthony McMahon added two majors apiece in the 105-20 victory.

The Demons’ goalkickers were Rhys Irwin and Nico McKinley.

Best for the Brodie Collins-coached Cats were Thomas Leech, Charlie Hinks, Lachlan Atherton, Tyler Phillips, Jacob Gardiner and Joseph Wolfe.

On a tough afternoon for White Hills, James Davis, Nic Wallace, Patrick Eefting, Doolan Nihill, Ben Bacon and Bayden Fallon were best.


Mount Pleasant won a high-scoring contest with Elmore at Toolleen.

Mitchell Bennett booted six goals for the Blues as Dean Tydell and Ben Weightman added three apiece.

The Blues led 67-45 at half-time and Elmore kept the pressure on to be within 28 points at three quarter-time.

Weightman, ruckman Chris Down, and Bennett played starring roles as Mounts kicked away to win 21.13 (139) to 12.14 (86).

Elmore’s attack was led by Kyle Armstrong and Darcy Laffy on three apiece.

Best for the Darren Walsh and Adam Baird-coached Blues included Jesse Tuohey, Bryce Hinneberg and Sam Greene.

Kyle Armstrong, Regan Williams, Zac Laffy, Matthew Nettlefold, Hayden Trewick and Tannar Cerrone played well for the Elmore team which is jointly coached by Dylan Friedberger and Dylan Gordon.

Leitchville-Gunbower had the bye.


Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 200 per cent, 32 points; Colbinabbin 184, 32; Mount Pleasant 169, 28; North Bendigo 127, 24; Heathcote 102, 20; White Hills 78, 16; Elmore 65, 8; Leitchville-Gunbower 38, 4; Huntly 57, 0.

In next Saturday’s round 11 action, Leitchville-Gunbower takes on Huntly at Leitchville.

Elmore and North Bendigo clash at Elmore Recreation Reserve.

White Hills tackles Mount Pleasant in the Demons’ den at Scott Street.

Heathcote plays Lockington Bamwm United at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

Colbinabbin has the bye.


Leading goalkickers:

44 Ben Weightman, MP.

35 James Brain, Colbo.

27 Darcy Laffy, Elm.

26 Jed Brain, Colbo.; Dylan Klemm, NB.

24 Ben Fulford, LBU.

21 Anthony McMahon, LBU.

20 Matt Gray, NB.

17 Liam Bartels, WH; Jack Brooks, H’cote; Kai Cavallaro, H’cote; Braden Padmore, H’cote; Rhys Woodland, LBU.

15 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbo.

14 Adam Baird, MP; Jackson Conforti, H’cote; Thomas Leech, LBU; Luke Moore, Colbo.; Clint Shields, Colbo.; Stephen Tuohey, Colbo.

13 Mitchell Bennett, MP; Cohen Kekich, WH; Dean Tydell, MP.

12 Blake Azzopardi, LG; Bayden Fallon, WH; Billy Hawken, LG; Tyler Phillips, LBU.


Written by Nathan Dole.