GRFNL Football | Preliminary Final WRAP UP

Moulamein makes way into grand final

MOULAMEIN overcame a 16-point deficit at half-time to beat Quambatook in Saturday’s senior footy preliminary final in the Golden Rivers Football Netball League.

With a grand final berth up for grabs, Moulamein led 27-15 at quarter-time of the match at Wandella.

The Saints from Quambatook struck back to dominate the second term.

A tally of 5.2 to 0.4 put the Saints up 47-31 at the long break.

Moulamein scored 3.5 in the crucial third quarter and kept Quambatook to a point to lead 54-48 at a quarter to play.

It was the Swans who won the final term, 21-20, and the contest, 75-68.

Goalkickers for Moulamein were Josh Flight, two; Daniel Aarsman, Bean Duggan-Hulands, Will Gibson, Lachie Martin, Michael Morson, Rodney Reeves, Luke Shannon and Cody Storm.

Quambatook’s attack was led by Jordan Lampi, three; Nick Mason and Brad Organ, two; Nick Birthisel, Gregor Knight and Tristan Ramadge.

Best for Moulamein were Will Gibson, Cody Storm, Josh Flight, Ely Miller, Luke Shannon and Matthew Moroney.

Brad Organ, Tobie Cameron, Jordan Lampi, Dylan Pascoe, Ashley Davis and Michael Bradbury played well for Quambatook.

A finals campaign for Moulamein which began with a 44-point win against Wandella in the first semi and then victory against Quambatook in the preliminary final rolls into a third match.

It will be Nullawil and Moulamein who will chase premiership glory next Saturday on Nullawil’s turf.


The Bombers from Wandella marked a 95-74 victory against Nullawil in the reserves preliminary final.

After a flying start, Wandella led 27-2 at quarter-time, but Nullawil hit back to score 6.6 to 2.2 in the second term.

It was the Bombers who controlled most of the third quarter to score 4.3 to 1.2, and then won the final term, 27-22.

Jack Danckert kicked six goals for Wandella as Michael Rowe booted three, Troy Banfield and Ian Charles added two each, and Ethan Walker the other.

Goalkickers for Nullawil were Royce Free and Heath Pollington, three; Matt and Reece Poyner, two.

Best for the Bombers were Ian and Andrew Charles, Jack Danckert, Jordan Robertson, Ethan Walker and Jamie Wilson.

Matt Hayward, Jeremy Vearing, Royce Free, Matt Poyner, Sol Kelly and Blair Hogan played well for Nullawil.

It will be a grand final showdown between Murrabit and Wandella.


Fans were treated to a thrilling finish to the under-17 ½ preliminary final between Macorna and Ultima.

The Ultima line-up led 21-13 at quarter-time before both teams scored 2.2 in the second term.

Macorna Tigers won the third, 13-7, but Ultima’s tally of 2.0 to 1.3 in the last was enough to clinch a 54-49 victory.

Best for Ultima were Jack Miller, Quinn Grey, Ed Kuchel, Sam Miller, Darcy Farrell and Kodyn Melbourne.

Will Robinson, Hunter Anset, Xavier Wishart, Lachlan Farrell, Riley Hutton and Ryan Dee played well for Macorna.

Ultima’s attack was led by Quinn Grey and Sam Miller on two each as Rory Bell, Darcy Farrell, Wesly Gray and Billy O’Toole were also on target.

Goalkickers for Macorna were Hunter Anset and Deakin Smith, two; Ethan Glass, Riley Hutton and Rawley Nicholson.

Hay will take on Ultima in the premiership decider.


In the under-14 ½ preliminary final, Murrabit won every quarter on its way to a 43-25 victory against Macorna.

The Murrabit line-up led 21-7 at half-time and then scored 2.2 to 2.0 in the third term.

In the last Murrabit added 1.2 to a goal for an 18-point victory.

Darcy Strange led the Murrabit attack on three goals as Parker Bray, Kye McKerrow and Evan McNeil added one each.

Goalkickers for the Macorna Tigers were Cooper Carmichael, Will Longstaff, Will Meharry and Broden Wishart.

Murrabit’s best were Darcy Strange, Lachlan Maher, Charlie Toohey, Kye McKerrow, Riley Carse and Angus McDonald.

Will Longstaff, Broden Wishart, Cooper Carmichael, Jack Warren, Jacoby Tonkin and Will Meharry played well for the Tigers.

There will be six clubs in this season’s footy grand finals.


Schedule for Saturday’s grand finals at Nullawil:

Under-14 ½ at 8.55am: Wandella v Murrabit.

Under-17 ½ at 10.10am: Hay v Ultima.

Reserves at 12.15pm: Murrabit v Wandella.

Seniors at 2.30pm: Nullawil v Moulamein.


Written by Nathan Dole.

Photo Courtesy – Wandella FNC Facebook