GRFNL Netball | Grand Final WRAP UP

Murrabit captures A-grade netball crown

MURRABIT earned the title as A-grade netball premiers in the ’22 Golden Rivers Football Netball League season.

The Blues took on Nullawil in Saturday’s grand final at Nullawil Recreation Reserve.

An evenly-fought opening quarter ended with Nullawil in front, 12-10.

Murrabit dominated most of the second term to lead 21-17 at the main break.

The Maroons fought back to win the third quarter, 10-8, but it was Murrabit which finished the contest and season strongly as it added 12 goals and held the Blues to just eight in the last for a 41-35 victory.

Best on court honours went to Murrabit’s Chloe Adams.

The Nullawil team capitalised on home-court advantage to claim a 42-24 win against Murabit in the B-grade grand final.

The Maroons led 9-4 at quarter-time and 21-12 by the main break.

Nullawil’s work from defence and through mid-court was capped by the goalers as they added 11 goals in the third term to hold a 14-goal buffer going into the final term.

The Maroons won the last, 10-6.

Best on court honours went to Nullawil’s Sophie Mathiske.

It was a closely-fought match between Murrabit and Nullwail to decide the B-reserve champions.


Scores were locked on nine-all at quarter-time and 17-all by half-time.

Nullawil won the third term by a goal and then added 12 goals and held Murrabit to eight in the last to compete a 38-33 victory.

Regan Kelly from Nullawil earned the best on court award.

Ultima won three of four quarters in a 36-27 victory against Macorna to be 17-and-under premiers.

The Kangaroos led 8-4 at quarter-time and 18-14 by half-time.

Ultima’s lead was up to seven going into the final term which it won 8-6.

Nullawil marked an impressive 63-19 victory against Ultima to be 14-and-under premiers.

The Nullawil line-up led 16-8 at quarter-time and 34-12 by half-time.

The Maroons added 14 goals and held the Kangaroos to three in the third term.

In a brilliant finish to the season, Nullawil scored 15 goals in the last quarter.

The grand final win capped an unbeaten run by the Marooons.


Written by Nathan Dole.