Gun forwards fire across Pride Round

GUN forwards Britney Mueck and Shelby Knoll were in hot form for Bendigo Thunder and Castlemaine respectively in the weekend’s Pride Round for the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football league.

There were high scores marked in matches played at Bendigo’s Weeroona Oval, Kyneton Showgrounds, Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park, and Golden Square’s Fur Life Oval.

Among the many highlights of the season’s 10th round was the clash between Kyneton and Castlemaine at Kyneton Showgrounds on Saturday night.

A brilliant run by Castlemaine in its first season in the CVFL kept rolling.

The Tiahna Cochrane-coached Magpies led 34-0 at quarter-time and had gained a 51-point lead by half-time.

The in-form Shelby Knoll booted five goals and led an attack which capitalised on Castlemaine’s skill and workrate through midfield.

Eloise Gretgrix kicked three goals and the classy Meg Ginnivan added two in a 96-7 victory.

Tigers’ vice-captain Shannon Prendergast goaled for the yellow and black.

Castlemaine’s best were Tia Davidge, Michelle Barkla, Meg Ginnivan, Shelby Knoll, Eloise Gretgrix and Lily McMahon.

Belinda Hateley, Teagan Ainslie, Heidi Erasmus, Madeline Stott and Lucille Mitchell played well for the Phil Hawkes-coached Kyneton.


A tally of 13 goals by Thunder star Britney Mueck lifted her season record to 41 to be equal leader with Shelby Knoll in the goalkicking race.

Thunder marked a 201-nil win against Kerang at Weeroona Oval on Sunday.

Georgia Gordon kicked five goals as captain Phoebe Cuttriss and Shelby Faulkner added three in Thunder’s victory.

Best afield honours went to Britney Mueck as Jessica Kennedy, Megan Williamson, Phoebe Cuttriss, Shelby Faulkner and Jessica Gould played well for the Jac Louttit-coached Thunder.

Kendal Ash, Yasmin Harrington, K. Hogan, Jessica Searle, Sarah Ride and Casy Unger worked hard for the Stephen Arthur-coached Kerang.

Eaglehawk scored 20.15 and kept Strathfieldsaye scoreless in Sunday’s match on the Borough’s turf at Canterbury Park.

The Hawks scored 7.1 in the first quarter and then added three majors in the second, six in the third and four in the last.

Samatha Heron starred for the Two Blues by kicking seven goals as Paige Scott, five; and Courtney Smith, three, also did well in the Hawks’ attack.

Best for the Geoff West-coached Eaglehawk were Samatha Heron, Jasmine Burzacott, Paige Scott, Kristal Lugosi, Courtney Coffey and Olivia Basile.

Molly Pianta, Jessica Jackson, Britt Tangey and Melissa Freestone played well for the Jake Donegan-coached Strathfieldsaye.


The round kicked off Friday night under lights at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

The all-Bulldogs clash between Golden Square and North Bendigo was dominated by the home team.

Emily Collins and Keely Hare kicked five goals apiece as Charlotte Beavan and Bree Heiden added three each in a 27.18 (180) to 0.0 (0) victory for the blue and gold.

Best for the Todd Deary-coached Golden Square were Charlotte Beavan, Gemma Free, Emily Collins, Jorja Van den Berg, Natasha Tile and Keely Hare.

Samantha Bice, Maddie Jelbart, Leonie Schulz, Cassandra Coughlan and Ashlyne McInnes worked hard for the Ricky Crotty-coached North Bendigo.


Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 881 per cent, 32 points; Golden Square 862, 28; Bendigo Thunder 468, 20; Kyneton 123, 20; Eaglehawk 265, 16; Strathfieldsaye 24, 8; Kerang 4, 4; North Bendigo 1, 0.

Round 11 will be played next Sunday from 2.30pm.

North Bendigo takes on Eaglehawk at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

Kyneton and Kerang clash at Kyneton Showgrounds.

Strathfieldsaye plays Bendigo Thunder at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Castlemaine and Golden Square have the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

41 Shelby Knoll, Cm; Britney Mueck, BT.

18 Keely Hare, GS.

17 Meg Ginnivan, Cm.

14 Emily Collins, GS; Georgia Gordon, BT; Samantha Heron, Eh.

13 Shannon Prendergast, Kyn.

11 Jasmine Burzacott, Eh.

The CVFL pratice match series resumes this Saturday when Mount Alexander Falcons face Golden Square from 2.30pm at Harcourt Recreation Reserve.


Written by Nathan Dole.