Haddow goes back-to-back in South Bendigo’s champion player award

TALENTED onballer Brody Haddow has achieved back-to-back victories in South Bendigo Football Netball Club’s senior footy best and fairest award.

Haddow again played a key role for the Bloods throughout the 2019 Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League season.

He joined many of South Bendigo’s greats as a dual winner of the club champion award.

Runner-up for the senior footy best and fairest was the skilful Tom Brereton who racked up plenty of possessions through midfield or from a half-back.

Gun ruckman Callum Crisp earned the most consistent award in a season where he represented the Bendigo FNL in its AFL Community Championships victory against AFL Outer East.

First-year coach at the Bloods, Nathan Horbury presented the coaches award to Cameron Taggert.

The Tom Harrington Memorial most improved award went to key defender Andrew Vanheumen.

Restricted to just nine senior matches because of injury, co-captain Zac Hare still had a major impact off-field and earned the best clubman award for the senior team.

It was back-to-back goalkicking wins for Kaiden Antonowicz on a season tally of 69 after a haul of 76 earned the Ron Best Medal the previous season.

Best and fairest for the reserves team was Nathan Newlan, who was runner-up for the Alan McDonald Medal in the league award.

Newlan played a key role in the Bloods’ charge to the grand final where they met Strathfieldsaye.

Josh McLeod was runner-up for the Bloods’ reserves team champion award as the classy Cohen Balnaves was most consistent.

Coach Jacob Smyth presented the coaches award to long-time Blood Brad Wright.

The under-18s best and fairest was won by Darcy Radford from Kyle Simpson.

The Osborne twins, Riley and Declan marked a fine season.

Riley was most consistent, and Declan earned the team’s best clubman award.

On the netball court, South Bendigo capped a brilliant season in which four of five teams contested finals.

Recipient of the league’s Rising Star award for A-grade, Chloe Langley was South Bendigo’s club champion.

A great run by the red and white included a long-awaited finals appearance in the top grade where South Bendigo faced Eaglehawk in the elimination final.

Joint runners-up for the A-grade best and fairest at the Bloods were Jamie-Lee Clohesy and Molly Johnston.

Director of netball coaching and A-grade coach, Janelle Hobbs presented the coaches award to Chloe Adams.

Best in the finals match against the Hawks was Stephanie Goode.

The name Bakes is revered at South Bendigo FNC.

In netball, Emily Bakes earned the A-reserve team champion award.

Runner-up was Amanda Walters who took out the Holborn Medal as the league’s best and fairest.

South Bendigo also reached the A-reserve finals where it was eliminated by Eaglehawk on the first weekend.

Coach of the A-reserve team, Liz Taylor presented the coaches award to Sarah Appleby.

Fourth at the end of the home and away series, the Mel Dillon-coached South Bendigo starred in the B-grade netball finals.

The Bloods beat Gisborne in the elimination final and then outplayed Golden Square in the first semi.

South’s run was stopped by Sandhurst in the preliminary final.

Best and fairest for B-grade was Paige Campbell from Zoe Johnston.

Coaches award was earned by Tegan Maddern, as Paige Campbell and Anabelle Conway were joint recipients of the Best in Finals award.

The B-reserve team marked a win-loss tally of 6-12 to be seventh.

Team champion was Matisse Appleby as Alex Crouch was runner-up.

Emma Tomlins presented the coaches award to Jessie Cliff.

In the under-17s, South Bendigo played great netball to reach the finals.

The Janelle Hobbs and Liz Taylor was beaten by Eaglehawk in the elimination final by two goals.

Best and fairest was Carissa Brook as Jeanette Sauni-Ross was runner-up.

The coaches award and Best in Finals trophy both went to Morgan McClellan.

Kasey Button was named most improved.

South Bendigo FNC awards for the 2019 season:

Senior footy:

Best and fairest: Brody Haddow. Runner-up: Tom Brereton. Most consistent: Callum Crisp.  Coaches award: Cameron Taggert. Tom Harrington Memorial, most improved: Andrew Vanheumen. Best clubman: Zac Hare. Goalkicking: Kaiden Antonowicz.

Reserves footy:

Best and fairest: Nathan Newlan. Runner-up: Josh McLeod. Most consistent: Cohen Balnaves. Coaches award: Brad Wright. Most improved: Mitchell Hore. Goalkicking: Adam  Williams.

Under-18s footy:

Best and fairest: Darcy Radford. Runner-up: Kyle Simpkins. Most consistent: Riley Osborne. Coaches award: Liam Jacobs. Most improved: Thomas St Clair. Best clubman: Declan Osborne. Goalkicking: Thomas St Clair.

A-grade netball:

Best and fairest: Chloe Langley. Runner-up: Jamie-Lee Clohesy and Molly Johnston. Coaches award: Chloe Adams. Best in Finals: Stephanie Goode.

A-reserve netball:

Best and fairest: Emily Bakes. Runner-up: Amanda Walters. Coaches award: Sarah Appleby. Best in Finals: Amanda Walters.

B-grade netball:

Best and fairest: Paige Campbell. Runner-up: Zoe Johnston. Coaches award: Tegan Maddern. Best in Finals: Paige Campbell and Anabelle Conway.

B-reserve netball:

Best and fairest: Matisse Appleby. Runner-up: Alex Crouch. Coaches award: Jessie Cliff.

Under-17 netball:

Best and fairest: Carissa Brook. Runner-up: Jeanette Sauni-Ross. Coaches award: Morgan McClellan. Most improved: Kasey Button. Best in Finals: Morgan McClellan.

The Andy and Marianne Barrett award was presented to Mel Dillon.