HDFNL Football | Reserves Grand Final WRAP UP

Mount Pleasant reaches top in reserves competition

MOUNT Pleasant hit the highest peak as it won the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League’s reserves football premiership on Saturday.

The grand final was fought out by the Blues and White Hills who had achieved records of 14-2 and 15-1 in the run to the finals.

Beaten just once in the home and away series, White Hills started favourite in the grand final after a 10-point win against Mounts in the second semi-final.

The Demons had beaten Mounts by 37 points in the previous two contests.

Toughened by a finals campaign which included wins against Heathcote in the qualifying and preliminary finals, and loss to White Hills in the second semi, Mount Pleasant kept the heat on the Demons all match.

White Hills led 28-27 at half-time and was first to goal in the third term through Joe Gardy.

The Blues struck back as Mitch Bennett took a strong mark near the goal line and made no mistake from the tight angle.

A running goal by Matt Fitzgerald put Mounts in front, 40-36.

The Demons regained the lead, but the experienced James Walsh put the Blues back in front.

An Oli Chivers major restored the lead for White Hills.

The Demons were up 50-47 at three quarter-time.


After being freed in a marking contest, Jack Mackenzie kicked his second goal of the contest for Mounts to lead 54-50.

When Bennett  goaled after a free the Blues had gained a 10-point buffer.

White Hills kept attacking and was rewarded with a snapshot goal on the run by Daniel Trull.

A few minutes later the siren sounded with Mount Pleasant in front, 64-58.

After being hurt when he fell heavily in a marking contest, Mitch Bennett played on to boot three goals and be among the Blues’ best and earned the VCFL medal for best on ground.

Other goalkickers for the Blues were Jack Mackenzie, two; Jack Craig, Matt Fitzgerald, Shane Piper and James Walsh.

Nic Wharton led the White Hills attack on three goals as Joe Gardy chipped in with two and Dean Bowles, Oli Chivers, Daniel Trull were on target.

Best for the Mount Pleasant team jointly coached by Taig Griffin and Luke Marchesi were Jackson Hufer, James Walsh, Mitch Bennett, Taig Griffin, Jacob Hopley and Oliver Bish.

Mitch Curtis, Nic Wharton, Jarrod Prentice, Hamish Richards, Liam Monaghan and Will Richardson played well for the Jacob Begg-coached White Hills team.


Written by Nathan Dole.