HDFNL Football | Round 17 WRAP UP

LBU Cats lock in top spot as Mounts seal double chance

TOP spot was secured by Lockington Bamawm United as Mount Pleasant stitched up third and the double chance for finals in Saturday’s 17th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League.

The LBU Cats tackled Colbinabbin in the top of the table clash at Lockington.

It was Colbinabbin which led 26-18 at half-time before the Cats unleashed a six-goal burst in the third quarter to gain a 26-point lead.

The play of Fraser Monahan, Charlie Hinks and Harley Cobb was a highlight as LBU kicked on to win 91-47.

LBU’s ability to have multiple goalkickers was to the fore as Jarod Bacon, Nathan Bacon, Lachlan Collins and Anthony McMahon all kicked two goals.

Colbinabbin’s only multiple goalkicker was Sam Ryan on two.

Best for the Brodie Collins-coached Cats included Nathan Bacon, Riley McIvor and Joss Howlett.

Ruckman  Hadleigh Sirett, Todd Clarke, Laine Fitzgerald, David Price, Sam Ryan and William Lowe were best for the Julian Bull-coached Grasshoppers.


After an evenly-fought three quarters, Mount Pleasant scored 3.4 to just four points in the final term to record a 90-62 win against North Bendigo at Toolleen.

Third place was on the line for the Robert Bennett-coached Bulldogs who needed to defeat the Blues and then rely on Colbinabbin beating Mount Pleasant in the 18th round.

North Bendigo was right in the game until three quarter-time when a Blues’ line-up led by Sam Greene, Jesse Tuohey, ruckman Chris Down took charge.

Ben Weightman kicked a match-high four goals for Mounts as Luke Marchesi and Dean Tydell added two each.

The Bulldogs’ attack was led by Jordan Ford and Dylan Klemm on three.

Best for the Darren Walsh and Adam Baird-coached Mount Pleasant included Daniel Whiting, Bryce Hinneberg and Riley McNamara.

Wingman Nic Waterson, key defender Shane Harris, Marcus Rogers, Ryan Alford, Bailey Wingrave and Storm Giri were North Bendigo’s best.


Huntly dominated the second half as it scored a 92-62 win against Elmore in the Hawks’ nest at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

The Bloods led 39-36 at half-time, but it was Huntly which slammed on 5.4 to just two points in the vital third term.

Flynn Campbell led the Hawks’ attack on four goals as Jayden Cordy and Luke Gray added two each.

Elmore vice-captain Darcy Laffy kicked a match-high six goals as co-coach Dylan Gordon chipped in with two majors.

Jaydon Cowling earned best on ground honours for Huntly as Tyler Miles, Mitch Christensen, Mitch Billings, Flynn Campbell and Jayden Cordy were best for the Stacy Fiske-coached brown and gold.

Best for Elmore is co-coached by Dylan Friedberger were Nic Palmer, Nic Kellow, Dylan Gordon, Rhys Holmberg, Kyle Armstrong and Darcy Laffy.


White Hills overcame a slow start to record a 57-point win at Gunbower against Leitchville-Gunbower.

It was the Bombers who led 17-14 at quarter-time before White Hills scored 5.2 to 1.1 in the second term.

Liam Bartels and James Davies led the Demons’ attack on five and four goals.

The Bombers had five goalkickers.

Bayden Fallon, captain Rhys Irwin, Tom Conlan, Cohen Kekich, Liam Bartels and James Davies were best for the Jack Fallon-coached White Hills.

Nathan McLellan, Sam Lewis, Austin Windridge, Leyton Shenfield, Blake Azzopardi and Bailey Taylor worked hard for the Tim Bannan-coached Bombers.

Heathcote had the bye.


Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 204 per cent, 56 points; Colbinabbin 160, 50; Mount Pleasant 173, 48; North Bendigo 136, 42; White Hills 84, 28; Heathcote 85, 24; Elmore 65, 12; Huntly 62, 8; Leitchville Gunbower 43, 4.


Leading goalkickers:

63 Ben Weightman, MP.

52 Dylan Klemm, NB.

48 Darcy Laffy, Elm.

41 James Brain, Colbo.

40 Liam Bartels, WH.

36 Anthony McMahon, LBU.

35 Jed Brain, Colbo.; Braden Padmore, H’cote.

31 Thomas Leech, LBU.

28 Matt Gray, NB.

26 Jarod Bacon, LBU; Jordan Ford, NB.

24 Kai Cavallaro, H’cote; Ben Fulford, LBU.

23 Billy Hawken, LG.

22 Mitchell Bennett, MP; Jack Brooks, H’cote; Hakeem Johnson, NB; Rhys Woodland, LBU.

21 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbo.

20 Dean Tydell, MP.


In the 18th and final round of the home and away series, Colbinabbin tackles Mount Pleasant on the Grasshoppers’ turf at Colbinabbin’s M.J. Morgan Reserve.

Elmore is at home to face Lockington Bamawm United.

Heathcote and Leitchville-Gunbower clash on the Saints’ ground at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

White Hills and Huntly clash in the Demons’ den at Scott Street.

North Bendigo has the bye.


Written by Nathan Dole.