HDFNL Football Wrap Up | Round 12

Klemm kicks nine majors as Bulldogs beat White Hills

NINE goals by key forward Dylan Klemm were among the highs of North Bendigo’s win against White Hills in Saturday’s 12th round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League senior footy action.

Stung by a two-goal loss at White Hills in round three, the Robert Bennett-coached Bulldogs were determined not to be beaten at home on Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

The Bulldogs made a flying start to score the opening three goals of the contest, but the Jack Fallon-coached Demons lifted its play at stoppages and through midfield to lead 33-32 at quarter-time.

In the second it was North Bendigo’s forwards in Dylan Klemm, Jordan Ford and Hakeem Johnson who took control.

The Bulldogs scored 7.3 to 2.6 to open up a 26-point buffer by the main break.

Ruckman Jeremy Lambden continued his great form at centre ball-ups and stoppages from which the Bulldogs’ on-ballers capitalised.

Klemm’s athleticism, leap, marking ability and accurate kicking were on show as the Bulldogs kicked away to win 134-87.

It was back-to-back hauls of six goals by Johnson who has had a dramatic impact in the forward 50m, while the versatile Ford was in great touch.

White Hills veteran and former coach Matt Sawyer took several contested marks on his way to a team-high four goals as Jack Fallon added two.

Best for the Bulldogs were Jeremy Lambden, Dylan Klemm, Jordan Ford, Shane Harris in defence, Hakeem Johnson, and Nic Waterson from a wing.

Nicholas Wallace, captain Rhys Irwin, Jack Fallon, Patrick Eefting, Matt Sawyer and Ben Bacon were best for the Demons.


An eight-goal blitz in the second term put Mount Pleasant well in control of its clash with Heathcote at Toolleen.

The Blues led 33-7 at quarter-time and then slammed on 8.5 to 1.1 in the second to lead 86-14 at half-time.

Ben Weightman passed the 50-goal mark as he kicked a match-high seven goals for Mounts in the 138-43 victory.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Blues were Mitchell Bennett, Jesse Tuohey and Dean Tydell, three; and Zane Keighran, two.

Jack Brooks kicked two goals for the Saints.

Best for the Darren Walsh and Adam Baird-coached Blues were Jesse Tuohey, ruckman Chris Down, Ben Weightman, Jack Hamilton, Zebb Murrell and Billy Mahony.

Shaun Harrison, Jackson Jones, Connor Hamilton, Rhys Bolton, Mitchell McLean and Joe Langford played well for the Andrew Saladino-coached Saints.


Lockington Bamawm United’s forwards dominated in the home game against Leitchville-Gunbower.

Thomas Leech kicked six goals as captain Jarod Bacon added five and Anthony McMahon chipped in with four in a 140-49 victory.

Leading goalkicker for Leitchville-Gunbower was Billy Hawken on three.

Best for the Brodie Collins-coached Cats were Harley Cobb, Thomas Leech, Nathan Bacon, Tyler Phillips, Baxter Anderson and Cooper Mitchell.

Blake Azzopardi, Billy Hawken, Leyton Shenfield, Jobee Warde, Hoby Bussey and Nathan McLellan worked hard for the Tim Bannan-coached Bombers.

It was a rest for Colbinabbin and Elmore who had played in the season opener on April 2.

That match played under lights at M.J. Morgan Reserve in Colbinabbin ended in a 150-61 win for the Grasshoppers against the Bloods.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:


Lockington Bamawm United 222 per cent, 40 points; Mount Pleasant 174, 36; Colbinabbin 187, 34; North Bendigo 143, 30; Heathcote 81, 20; White Hills 76, 16; Elmore 60, 8; Huntly 63, 4; Leitchville-Gunbower 40, 4.


Leading goalkickers:

54 Ben Weightman, MP.

35 James Brain, Colbo.; Dylan Klemm, NB.

27 Darcy Laffy, Elm.

26 Jed Brain, Colbo.; Anthony McMahon, LBU.

24 Ben Fulford, LBU.

23 Matt Gray, NB; Thomas Leech, LBU.

21 Liam Bartels, WH; Mitchell Bennett, MP.

19 Jack Brooks, H’cote; Rhys Woodland, LBU.

18 Jarod Bacon, LBU; Kai Cavallaro, H’cote.

17 Billy Hawken, LG; Braden Padmore, H’cote.

16 Dean Tydell, MP.

15 Jackson Conforti, H’cote; Laine Fitzgerald, Colbo.; Jordan Ford, NB.


The 13th round could be lucky or unlucky for some.

White Hills tackles Colbinabbin in the Demons’ den at Scott Street.

Heathcote plays North Bendigo on the Saints’ turf at Barrack Reserve.

Leitchville-Gunbower meets Mount Pleasant at Gunbower Recreation Reserve.

Huntly clashes with Lockington Bamawm United at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

Elmore has the bye.


Written by Nathan Dole.