HDFNL Netball | Grand Final WRAP UP

Elmore nets long-awaited A-grade netball premiership

THE A-GRADE netball premiership cup was in the hands of Elmore for the first time in 54 years at the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League’s grand final day on Saturday.

Elmore took on White Hills in the clash at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve to cap a superb netball season.

The season record stood at two-one in favour of the Demons.

After a round five loss at home to Elmore, White Hills broke the Bloods unbeaten streak which had hit 23 games across the shortened 2021 season and into the ’22 campaign in the 14th round.

White Hills had also won the second semi-final against Elmore by five goals on the Gunbower court.

But on grand final day it was the Allira Holmes and Gabe Richards-coached Elmore which took charge after an evenly-fought first half.

Richards starred at goalshooter all season, and Holmes was back on court after being injured for the previous two finals.

The Bloods also had captain Andrea Wilson  return to the centre.

The versatile Tahnee Cannan switched back to goal defence and played a dominant role as her rebounding and intercepting ability earned best on court honours in a 55-47 win for the red and white.

Elmore fans were rapt with the performance of every player, but some of the loudest applause was for Cayde Hayes, Abbey Hromenko and Kelsey Niven who had made their way to the top grade through the club’s juniors.


It was a memorable day for Elmore as A-reserve also won the premiership and the club was runner-up in the B-grade and 13-and-under competitions.

For the Lauren Bowles-coached White Hills it was another great effort to reach the grand final after being A-grade champions in 2018 and ’19.

In the A-reserve grand final, Elmore scored a 42-32 win against Colbinabbin.

Abbey Hay earned best on court honours for the Millie Haines and Hollie Hildebrandt-coached Elmore team.

Colbinabbin was coached by Mardi Ryan and Jamison Lowe.

The Grasshoppers from Colbinabbin marked a 48-45 win against Elmore in the B-grade decider.

Matilda McIntyre was best on court for Colbinabbin which was coached by Emma Milne and Amber Pain.

The Elmore team was coached by Hayley Langdon and Ali Hayes.


Huntly capped a grand final victory on its court in B-reserve.

The Kylie and Shelby Webster-coached Hawks won 36-22 against Mount Pleasant as Maddi Kennedy was best on court.

Mount Pleasant was coached by Jess Dooly.


It was a one-goal thriller in the 17-under grand final between Lockington Bamawm United and Mount Pleasant.

The Rachel Major-coached LBU fought on for a 38-37 win against the Blues.

Best on court went to Imogen Ash from the Carly Dorrington-coached Mount Pleasant team.


Premiers in the 15-under competition were Mount Pleasant.

The Jo Jacobs-coached Blues won 44-41 against Lockington Bamawm United.

Best on court honours went to Tarli Nihill from Mount Pleasant.

The young stars from LBU were coached by Narelle Bacon and Laura Byrnes-Smith.


Leitchville-Gunbower won the 13-under grand final against Elmore.

Coached by Wendy Hooper and Karlee Gilmour, Leitchville-Gunbower marked a 24-18 victory as Milla Ryan was best on court.

Madison Keating and Kira Niven were joint coaches of Elmore’s line-up.


Written by Nathan Dole.