HDFNL Round 10 Football Review | Mounts break North Bendigo’s unbeaten run


MOUNT Pleasant ended North Bendigo’s unbeaten run in Saturday’s 10th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL season.

On the rebound from defeat at Lockington the previous round, Mount Pleasant was determined to take the points at Toolleen to stay in touch with the top three.

In a high-scoring opening quarter, North Bendigo key forward Dylan Klemm kicked three goals and Pat Bogers added another.

Mount Pleasant co-coaches Adam Baird and Ben Weightman were on target, but it was the Dog who led 26-16 at the first break.

The Bulldogs went further ahead when midfielder Lachlan Furness kicked a goal in his first senior game for the club.

From there it was Mounts which started to dominate the centre breaks and clearances as Mitch Rovers and Adam Baird were to the fore, along with top ruckman Chris Down.

A goal by Caelan Smith was followed by consecutive goals by the classy Weightman as the Blues led 34-32 in the 10th minute.

A classy left-foot snap by Rovers made it 44-33 in favour of Mounts by half-time.

North Bendigo hit back strongly in the third, especially through the play of captain Aarryn Craig who had been switched to an on-ball role.

Brilliant roving by Storm Giri was capped by a goal and when Jack Francis was on target it was the Dogs who were back in front, 46-44.

Giri was on target again as a North Bendigo line-up being coached by Daniel Francis started to win more of the clearances.

An Adam Baird goal made it 53-all at three quarter-time.

First goal of the last was off the boot of Rovers before the Dogs replied quickly when Manny Thalasinos won the centre break and kicked to Klemm for his fourth major.

The run and carry by the Blues was a key factor in the wet conditions.

Coby Dunlop capped excellent teamwork and when Zebb Murrell was on target on the run from an acute angle in the pocket opposite the social rooms the Blues had clinched a 72-61 victory.

Weightman had another great duel with Tim Deveraux and finished with a team-high three goals for the Blues as Baird and Rovers were on two each.

Klemm’s hot form continued with a match-high four goals for the red, white and blue.

Best for Mount Pleasant were Adam Baird, Ben Weightman, Fletcher White, Mitch Rovers, Jack Craig and Zach Charles.

Talented midfielder Nic Waterson was best for the Bulldogs along with Dylan Klemm, Cody Riddick, Tim Devereaux, Aarryn Craig and Manny Thalasinos.

Huntly broke its winless run as it outscored Elmore across the last three quarters at Elmore.

The Bloods led 13-1 at quarter-time, but it was a Huntly line-up jointly coached by Harry Whittle and Jayden Cordy which slammed on 5.6 to a goal in the second.

Huntly won a closely-fought third term, 19-17, and then added 3.1 to 1.6 in the last to complete a hard-earned and much-anticipated 75-48 victory for the brown and gold.

Key forward Lachy Wilson kicked five goals for the Hawks as Koby Gibson, Abe Sladden and Harry Whittle added two each.

Elmore’s attack was led by Kyle Armstrong and Mitch Carson with two each.

Best for Huntly were Harry Whittle, captain Steve Kairn, Harry McCormick, Jackson Fry, Kyle Forster and Lachy Wilson.

Rhys Holmberg, Daniel Russell, Mitch Carson, Zac Laffy, Jack Trewick and Zack Holmberg were best for the Dylan Friedberger and Mick Woolhouse-coached Elmore.

White Hills withstood a spirited challenge from Leitchville Gunbower to mark a 91-67 victory in the Demons’ den at Winslow Constructors Oval in Scott Street, White Hills.

The Shannon Keam-coached Bombers led 25-21 at quarter-time, but it was the Demons who lifted to score 5.7 to 2.2 in the second.

A 19-point lead at the long break grew to 31 by the last change after the Demons added 3.8 to 2.2 in the third quarter.

The LG line-up won the last term, 14-7, but it was White Hills which claimed the premiership points.

Liam Bartels capped a great match by kicking six goals for White Hills as the classy Kaiden Antonowicz added three.

The Bombers’ attack was led by Billy Hawken, Chris Horman and Lachlan Sverns on two each.

Best for White Hills were Liam Bartels, Ben Taylor, Patrick Crawford, co-coach Jack Fallon, Thomas Brereton and Kaiden Antonowicz.

Caleb Hislop, Xavier Colvin, Zachary Hislop, Austin Windridge, Hoby Bussey and Jye Keath were Leitchville Gunbower’s best.

Heathcote turned a 13-point deficit at half-time into a 13-point win against Colbinabbin at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

It was the Jed Brain-coached Colbinabbin which took it right up to the second-placed Saints from the first contest.

The Grasshoppers led 18-17 at quarter-time and then scored 4.2 to 2.2 in the second.

After the break it was the Andrew Saladino-coached Saints who started to win more centre breaks and stoppages.

The play of captain Codie Price at half-back and by gun on-ballers Liam Jacques and Braden Padmore was crucial in Heathcote turning the contest around.

A 3.2 to 1.1 third quarter by the Saints meant it was 51-all going into the final term.

Heathcote scored 2.3 to 0.2 to complete a 66-53 victory.

Liam Birch and Jackson Conforti kicked two goal for the Saints.

Heathcote’s gun forward Corey Grindlay sustained a finger injury. He played out the game, but kicked just one goal.

Jai Carn led Colbinabbin’s attack on two goals.

Heathcote’s best were Codie Price, Liam Jacques, Braden Padmore, Will Direen, Liam Birch and Billy Price.

Jude Ryan, Luke Moore, Logan Fitzgerald, Jasper McArdle, Sam Coughlin and Ben Barton played well for Colbinabbin.

Lockington Bamawm United had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

North Bendigo 138 per cent, 32 points; Heathcote 149, 28; White Hills 140, 28; Mount Pleasant 168, 24; Lockington Bamawm United 116, 16; Leitchville Gunbower 71, 12; Colbinabbin 79, 8; Elmore 65, 8; Huntly 42, 4.

In next Saturday’s play, Lockington Bamawm United takes on North Bendigo at Lockington.

Leitchville Gunbower and Heathcote clash at Gunbower.

Colbinabbin and Elmore meet at Colbinabbin’s M.J. Morgan Reserve.

Huntly tackles Mount Pleasant at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

White Hills has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

45 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

41 Ben Weightman, Mount Pleasant.

36 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

29 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

28 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

26 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

24 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

24 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

18 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

18 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

15 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

13 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

13 Jai Carn, Colbinabbin.

12 Aarryn Craig, North Bendigo.

12 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

12 Darcy Laffy, Elmore.

12 Braden Padmore, Heathcote.

12 Cody Riddick, North Bendigo.

11 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

11 Tyler Phillips, Lockington Bamawm United.

10 Adam Baird, Mount Pleasant.

10 Bayden Fallon, White Hills.

10 Liam Jacques, Heathcote.

10 Riley McIvor, Mount Pleasant.

10 Riley McNamara, Mount Pleasant.

10 Abe Sladden, Huntly.

10 Nic Warnock, White Hills.