HDFNL Round 13 Football Preview | Bulldogs aim to regain form on Huntly’s turf


STUNG by consecutive defeats, North Bendigo will be fired up for Saturday’s round 13 showdown with the Harlowe Huntly Hawks in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL’s senior footy action.

The Rob Bennett-coached Bulldogs make their way to Huntly’s Strauch Reserve wary of an opponent which tested Lockington Bamawm United last round.

Action kicks off at 2.30pm.

Although beaten by 27 points there was plenty for Huntly fans to like about the performance on the Cats’ ground at Lockington.

Three weeks ago North Bendigo was unbeaten and on top of the ladder.

An 11-point defeat for the Bulldogs to Mount Pleasant at Toolleen was followed by a six-goal loss at Lockington.

The Bulldogs had time to reflect on those performances as they had the bye last round.

Back in round four, North Bendigo beat Huntly by 99 points.

The Bulldogs cannot expect it to be another waltz to victory as the Hawks have improved dramatically since then.

Key players for Huntly include co-coaches Harry Whittle and Jayden Cordy, and Mitch Billings, Ryan Burt and Kyle Forster across half-back.

The Hawks also have Harry McCormick and John Harvey in on-ball roles, high-leaping ruckman Jackson Fry, and Brodie Fry and Lachy Wilson as the key targets near goal.

Huntly’s backline of Ben Hilson, Kurt Forder and Josh Hull will rely greatly on pressure from up the ground.

A key in North Bendigo’s run was its work around stoppages and quick movement from midfield into attack.

Against the Blues and Cats they were outplayed in those areas.

A powerful attack for North Bendigo includes Dylan Klemmn, Shane Harris and Cody Riddick.

Midfielder Nic Waterson sets up a lot of play, as do captain Aarryn Craig, Jake Hall, Ben Knight, Nathan Newlan and Manny Thalasinos.

Big test for a Dogs’ defence that includes Daniel Reid, Tim Devereaux, Matt Gray and Ryan Alford.

Just up the road from Huntly it will be White Hills against Elmore at Winslow Constructors Oval in Scott Street, White Hills.

In round four, White Hills held the Bloods to a score of 2.5 (17).

The Jack Fallon and Jake Pallpratt-coached White Hills is on the rebound from a 29-point loss to the ladder-leading Heathcote on the Saints’ turf at Barrack Reserve.

Key players for the Demons include Nic Warnock, full-forward Kaiden Antonowicz, Brady Childs, James Davies and Jake Allport.

Best for the Hillies at Heathcolte were Cohen Kekich, Nic Wallace, Matt Sawyer, Tom Brereton and Patrick Eefting.

Elmore will be keen to hit back from a 35-point loss at home to Leitchville-Gunbower.

The Mick Woolhouse-coached Bloods will look to Rhys Holmberg, Nic Kellow, Kyle Armstrong and Mitch Carson to the way.

Other players crucial to Elmore’s chances include ruckman Daniel Russell, Darcy and Zac Laffy, Jacob Styles, Mychael Baker and Dylan Oaff.

Leitchville Gunbower takes on Mount Pleasant at Gunbower.

Although the Shannon Keam-coached Bombers are unlikely to play finals they have plenty to play for.

The Blues beat the Bombers by 16 goals in round four, but the margin is likely to be much closer this time.

Best in LG’s win at Elmore were Jye Keath, Caleb and Zac Hislop and Billy Hawken.

Leitchville Gunbower will also look to Tom Brereton, Hoby Bussey, Mitch Candy, Chris Horman and Jobee Warde to win plenty of the ball.

A daunting task against a Mount Pleasant line-up which is second on the ladder.

Ben Weightman’s first goal of the match will be his 50th of the season.

Key defender William Wallace is in outstanding form, along with captain and ruckman Chris Down.

A talented line-up jointly coached by on-ball star Adam Baird and Ben Weightman includes Mitch Bennett, Jack Craig, Bryce Hinneberg, Zebb Murrell and Mitch Rovers.

Colbinabbin is back at M.J. Morgan Oval to take on Lockington Bamawm United.

A tough draw for the Jed Brain-coached Colbinabbin which played Mount Pleasant last round.

In round four LBU beat the Grasshoppers by just seven points.

In-form players for the green and gold include Connor Aldous, Ben Barton, Logan Fitzgerald and David Price.

Colbinabbin’s line-up includes Jai Carn, Laine Fitzerald, Jude Ryan and Stephen Tuohey.

The Stacy Fiske-coached LBU is on a four-game winning streak.

Fighting quality of the Cats was to the fore against Huntly last round.

Players to watch for LBU include captain Brodie Collins in midfield, ruckman Tyler Phillips, rover Charlie Hinks, Ben Holman, Baxter Anderson and Anthony McMahon.

Heathcote has the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Heathcote 146 per cent, 36 points; Mount Pleasant 177, 32; North Bendigo 129, 32; White Hills 132, 28; Lockington Bamawm United 123, 24; Leitchville Gunbower 78, 16; Colbinabbin 78, 10; Elmore 68, 10; Huntly 42, 4.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

49 Ben Weightman, Mount Pleasant.

45 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

36 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

35 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

29 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

28 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

27 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

26 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

23 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

20 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

19 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

18 Braden Padmore, Heathcote.

17 Billy Hawken, Leitchville Gunbower.

16 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbinabbin.

15 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

15 Victor Butler, Heathcote.

15 Lachlan Sverns, Leitchville Gunbower.

14 Adam Baird, Mount Pleasant.

14 Darcy Laffy, Elmore.

13 Jai Carn, Colbinabbin.

13 Brodie Collins, Lockington Bamawm United.

13 Riley McIvor, Lockington Bamawm United.

13 Tyler Phillips, Lockington Bamawm United.

12 Aarryn Craig, North Bendigo.

12 Liam Jacques, Heathcote.

12 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

12 Cody Riddick, North Bendigo.

11 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

11 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

11 Abe Sladden, Huntly.

11 Jacob Styles, Elmore.

11 Nic Warnock, White Hills.

10 Mitch Bennett, Mount Pleasant.

10 Kai Cavallaro, Heathcote.

10 Coby Dunlop, Mount Pleasant.

10 Bayden Fallon, White Hills.

10 Riley McNamara, Mount Pleasant.