HDFNL Round 13 Football Review | Bombers beat Blues at Gunbower


THE Leitchville Gunbower players and fans celebrated one of the club’s best victories in several Bendigo Bank Heathcote District FNL senior footy seasons on Saturday.

The Shannon Keam-coached Bombers withstood a spirited final quarter fightback by Mount Pleasant to claim a dramatic two-point victory at Gunbower.

Scores were locked on 42-all at half-time before the LG line-up scored 4.2 to 1.2 in the third term.

In the last it was Mounts which upped its intensity and play to score 4.5.

A tally of 2.1 by the Bombers was enough to clinch an 81-79 victory.

The Leitchville Gunbower attack was led by Chris Horman, three; James and Tom Brereton, Mitchell Candy and Lachlan Sverns, two.

Co-coach of Mount Pleasant, Ben Weightman kicked six goals as Nick Butler and Mason Wakefield added two each.

Best for the Bombers were Mitchell Candy, Jye Keath, Zac Hislop, Hoby Bussey, Nathan McLellan and Jobee Warde.

Ben Weightman, co-coach Adam Baird, Chris Down, Nick Butler, Zach Charles and Zebb Murrell were Mount Pleasant’s best.

Lockington Bamawm United overcame a seven-point deficit at three quarter-time to mark a 13-point win on Colbinabbin’s turf at M.J. Morgan Oval.

The Stacy Fiske-coached LBU led 36-23 at half-time.

In the third it was Colbinabbin which dominated play to score 4.1 to a tally of five behinds.

The Cats struck back to add 5.2 to 2.0 in the last for a 73-60 result.

Brodie Collins, Josh Griggs, Anthony McMahon and Tyler Phillips kicked two goals apiece for LBU.

Colbinabbin’s attack was led by Jai Carn, three; and Luke Moore, two.

Best for the Cats were captain Brodie Collins, Thomas Eade, Tyler Phillips, Jacob Gardiner, Stan Brentnall and Josh Griggs.

Ben Barton, Luke Moore, Jude Ryan, Connor Aldous, coach Jed Brain and Aidan Basile were Colbinabbin’s best.

After consecutive defeats, North Bendigo struck back to record a 17-goal win against the Harlowe Huntly Hawks at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

The Bulldogs slammed on 6.3 to 1.1 in the first quarter.

Term two was evenly contested as North Bendigo scored three straight goals and the Hawks added 1.5.

The Bulldogs’ accuracy was superb as it capped the dominance of the midfield and on-ballers to score 7.1 to 1.2 in the third quarter.

It was 42-14 in favour of North Bendigo in the last to complete a 142-40 victory and claim the Golden City Cup on a day both clubs marked their legacy from the Golden City Football League era.

Seven goals by Cody Riddick earned the Keith Robertson Medal as best afield.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Bulldogs were Dylan Klemm, five; captain Aaryn Craig, Lachlan Furness and Jake Hall, two.

Huntly’s attack was led by Lachy Wilson on two.

Best for the Bulldogs were Cody Riddick, Ryan Alford, Nic Waterson, Dylan Klemm, Aarryn Craig and Ben Knight.

Steve Kairn, Mitch Billings, Kyle Forster, John Harvey, and co-coaches Jayden Cordy and Harry Whittle were Huntly’s best.

On the netball court, Huntly won the A-grade netball match.

The Dianne Simpson Medal for North Bendigo’s best player was presented to Georgia Kinder.

A 12-goal haul by the classy Kaiden Antonowicz highlighted a big win by White Hills against Elmore at Winslow Constructors Oval in Scott Street, White Hills.

The Demons led 52-34 at the end of a hard-fought first half.

White Hills scored 6.5 to 3.3 in the third term and won the last, 43-13.

At the final siren the Jack Fallon and Jake Pallpratt-coached Demons led 136 to 68.

Other multiple goalkickers for White Hills were Liam Bartels, James Davies, Patrick Eefting and Cohen Kekich on two.

Elmore’s attack was led by Nathan Kay, Darcy Laffy and Sam Lees on two.

Kaiden Antonowicz, Brady Childs, Patrick Eefting, Jack Fallon, James Davies and Ben Taylor were best for the Demons.

Nathan Kay, Sam Lees, Nick Kellow, Rhys Holmberg, Zac Laffy and Kyle Armstrong played well for the Mick Woolhouse-coached Bloods.

Heathcote had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Heathcote 146 per cent, 36 points; North Bendigo 140, 36; Mount Pleasant 168, 32; White Hills 138, 32; Lockington Bamawm United 123, 28; Leitchville Gunbower 80, 20; Colbinabbin 79, 10; Elmore 66, 10; Huntly 41, 4.

Round 14 will be played next Saturday from 2.30pm.

Mount Pleasant and White Hills meet in the battle of the Blues and Demons at Toolleen.

Lockington Bamawm United takes on Leitchville Gunbower at Lockington’s Nichol Trading Oval.

North Bendigo tackles Colbinabbin at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

Elmore and Heathcote clash at Elmore Recreation Reserve.

Huntly has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

55 Ben Weightman, Mount Pleasant.

48 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

45 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

37 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

34 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

31 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

27 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

26 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

25 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

21 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

20 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

19 Cody Riddick, North Bendigo.

18 Braden Padmore, Heathcote.

17 Billy Hawken, Leitchville Gunbower.

17 Lachlan Sverns, Leitchville Gunbower.

16 Jai Carn, Colbinabbin.

16 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbinabbin.

16 Darcy Laffy, Elmore.

15 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

15 Victor Butler, Heathcote.

15 Brodie Collins, Lockington Bamawm United.

15 Tyler Phillips, Lockington Bamawm United.

14 Adam Baird, Mount Pleasant.

14 Aarryn Craig, North Bendigo.

13 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

13 Riley McIvor, Lockington Bamawm United.

12 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

12 Liam Jacques, Heathcote.

12 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

12 Abe Sladden, Huntly.

12 Jacob Styles, Elmore.

11 Nic Warnock, White Hills.

10 Mitch Bennett, Mount Pleasant.

10 Kai Cavallaro, Heathcote.

10 James Davies, White Hills.

10 Coby Dunlop, Mount Pleasant.

10 Bayden Fallon, White Hills.

10 Riley McNamara, Mount Pleasant.