HDFNL Round 13 Football Review


Colbinabbin clinches dramatic win against White Hills

COLBINABBIN clinched a dramatic two-point win against White Hills in Saturday’s 13th round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL senior footy action.

A third goal of the match by Charles Ryan and his 12th of the season was clearly his best.

Ryan coolly slotted the match-winning goal from near the 50m arc in the final seconds of the contest at Colbinabbin’s M.J. Morgan Oval.

The Jed Brain-coached Colbinabbin raced to a 20-2 lead by quarter-time.

The Winslow White Hills Demons fired up to win the second term, 27-13, and drew within four points at the main break.

A tally of 3.4 as it kept the hosts to 2.4 meant the Demons led 51-49 going into the final term.

Three straight goals by the green and gold as White Hills scored 2.2 meant Colbinabbin won the match, 67-65.

Charles Ryan kicked a match-high three goals as Colbinabbin team-mates Clint Shields and Alex Van Ruiswyk added two each.

The Demons’ attack was led by Callum Crisp and Jack Lawton with two each.

Best for Colbinabbin were midfielders Jude Ryan, Nathan Basile and Logan Fitzgerald.

Captain Will Lowe, Charles Ryan and Connor Aldous also starred in Colbinabbin’s sixth win of the season.

Jack Lawton, Ben Taylor, James Davies, Alex Davis, Jake Dickens and Callum Crisp were best for the Jack Fallon and Kaiden Antonowicz-coached Demons.

Victory put the Grasshoppers on the fifth rung where they will be in a fierce battle with long-time rivals Heathcote and Mount Pleasant to qualify for the finals series.

A dominant second and third quarter put North Bendigo in control of its clash with Heathcote at Bendigo Club Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

The Bulldogs were under pressure early as the Saints scored 3.3 in the opening term.

A two-point buffer for North Bendigo at the first break became 21 by half-time after it scored 3.3 and held the visitors to a tally of two behinds in the second term.

The Rob Bennett-coached Bulldogs broke the game open in the third.

Inspired by the play of Will Gilmore in defence, ruck-rover Ryan Hartley and wingman Cody Riddick the Dogs slammed on eight goals as the Saints scored 3.4.

An evenly-fought final term went North’s way, 22-21, as it claimed a 116-66 victory.

Among the highs for the Bulldogs’ fans was the spectacular leap and mark by Cody Riddick.

A list of 11 goalkickers for North Bendigo was led by Bailey Cain, Tyson Findlay and Dylan Klemm, three; and Storm Giri, two.

Saints’ star forward Corey Grindlay spent plenty of time on a wing, but kicked two goals in the final quarter.

Leading goalkicker for Heathcote was Cooper Webber-Mirkin on three.

The Bulldogs’ best included Nic Waterson, captain Aarryn Craig and Bailey Cain.

Saints’ ruckman James Orr continued his great form as Rhys Bolton, Braden Padmore, Lachlan Freeman-Taber, Cooper Webber-Mirkin and Joseph Beedle all played well.

Lockington Bamawm United broke a six-game losing streak as it marked an 82-61 win at home against the Harlowe Huntly Hawks.

The Stacy Fiske-coached LBU led 16-8 at quarter-time and then won the second, 25-21.

Quarter three was when the Cats charged clear.

Five straight goals as Huntly added 2.1 meant LBU led 71-42 at the start of the final term.

The Hamish Morcom-coached Hawks finished strongly to win the last, 19-11, but it was the Cats who achieved their third victory of the season.

Thomas Leech and Jack Reiter kicked four goals for the Cats.

Huntly’s attack was led by Lachy Wilson, three, and Jacob Greenwood, two.

Best for LBU were captain Joseph Wolfe, Elijah Bruns, Jack Reiter, Matt Hore, Brodie Collins and Mitch Laursen.

Steve Kairn, Flynn Campbell, Darby Walsh, Jarrod Spry, Harrison Campbell and Brodie Fry were Huntly’s best.

Although it won by six goals on Elmore’s ground, Leitchville Gunbower coach Shannon Keam said there was plenty for the Bombers to work on.

The LG team led 21-18 at quarter-time, but it was the Nathan Kay-coached Elmore which fired up to win the second term, 13-8.

Elmore’s two-point lead at half-time became a 21-point deficit a quarter later after Leitchville Gunbower scored four goals to a behind.

The Bombers did plenty of attacking in the last, but were let down by wayward kicking.

As LG added 3.9, Elmore scored two goals.

An 80-44 win strengthened Leitchville Gunbower’s grip on the third rung.

Blake Dye kicked three goals for the Bombers as Billy Hawken and Caleb Hislop added two.

Bloods’ co-captain Rhys Holmberg booted three majors as James Harney finished on two.

Best for the Bombers were Brad Green, Clay McGregor, Lachlan Sverns, Blake Dye, Max Hagan and Caleb Hislop.

Rhys Holmberg, Joseph Harney, Nathan Kay, Jake Dick-O’Flaherty, James Harney and Matt Gilmour were Elmore’s best.

Highlight of next Saturday’s 14th round will be the clash between top teams Winslow White Hills Demons and North Bendigo at Winslow Constructors Oval in Scott Street.

The Harlowe Huntly Hawks will be on home turf at Strauch Reserve to face Colbinabbin.

Mount Pleasant and Lockington Bamawm United meet on the Blues’ turf at Toolleen.

Heathcote is back home at Pigeon Park in Barrack Reserve to tackle Elmore.

Leitchville Gunbower has the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

White Hills 190 per cent, 40 points; North Bendigo 180, 40; Leitchville Gunbower 101, 32; Heathcote 109, 24; Colbinabbin 91, 24; Mount Pleasant 119, 20; Lockington Bamawm United 69, 12; Huntly 65, 12; Elmore 46, 4.

Leading goalkickers:

45 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

45 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

42 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

37 James Harney, Elmore.

29 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

28 Alex Carr, Colbinabbin.

24 Ben Bisset, Mount Pleasant.

24 Jake Dean, North Bendigo.

23 James Davies, White Hills.

23 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

21 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

21 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

20 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

19 Sam Barnes, North Bendigo.

19 Clint Shields, Colbinabbin.

18 Mitch Bennett, Mount Pleasant.

17 Fraser Buchanan, Leitchville Gunbower.

16 Mitch Dole, White Hills.

16 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

15 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

14 Billy Hawken, Leitchville Gunbower.

14 Caleb Hislop, Leitchville Gunbower.

14 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

14 Cooper Webber-Mirkin, Heathcote.

13 Jack Reiter, Lockington Bamawm United.

12 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

12 Jack Hickman, Mount Pleasant.

12 Nathan Kay, Elmore.

12 Jaxson Nihill, Mount Pleasant.

12 Charles Ryan, Colbinabbin.

12 Ben Taylor, White Hills.

11 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

11 Jordan Wilson, Colbinabbin.

10 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

10 Zak Saad, Heathcote.