HDFNL Round 14 Football Preview | Demons turn up heat on Mount Pleasant at Toolleen


THE Demons from White Hills will put the heat on Mount Pleasant in Saturday’s 14th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL season.

It’s a crucial contest at Toolleen as the Blues and Demons are locked on 32 points and occupy the third and fourth rungs on the ladder.

When they met in round five Mount Pleasant dominated in a 103-52 win at White Hills.

The Adam Baird and Ben Weightman-coached Mounts were stung in a two-point loss to Leitchville Gunbower at Gunbower last round.

Weightman kicked six goals against the Bombers and looms as a huge threat to the Demons.

The Blues had captain and ruckman Chris Down, Nick Butler, Zach Charles and Zebb Murrell among the best last week.

Mounts will again be without key defender William Wallace.

There will be plenty of pressure on a defence as it tries to limit the influence Demons’ gun Kaiden Antonowicz has.

Other key players for White Hills include co-coaches Jack Fallon and Jake Pallpratt, Nic Warnock, Brady Childs, James Davies and Cohen Kekich.

Lockington Bamawm United faces a danger game against Leitchville Gunbower at Lockington’s Nichol Trading Oval.

The LBU Cats only have to think back to round five when the Bombers beat them by 25 points at Leitchville.

After a slow start to the season, LBU is now 7-4 and in contention for a top-three finish.

The Stacy Fiske-coached Cats had to work hard to beat Colbinabbin by 13 points last round.

Best in LBU’s latest win were captain Brodie Collins, Thomas Eade, Tyler Phillips, Jacob Gardiner, Stan Brentnall and Josh Griggs.

Other players to watch for the Cats include Jesse Collins, Jai Milligan, Jeremy Mundie and Anthony McMahon.

The Leitchville Gunbower Bombers have another upset in their sights.

Best in last week’s win against the Blues were ruck-rover Mitchell Candy, co-captains Jye Keath and Hoby Bussey, Zac Hislop and Nathan McLellan.

The Shannon Keam-coached team also has Jobee Warde in the ruck, Zac and Caleb Hislop, Tom Brereton, and Chris Horman and Lachlan Sverns in attack.

North Bendigo is back at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street to take on Colbinabbin.

It’s a big day for the Bulldogs as captain and triple premiership player Aarryn Craig marks his 250th match for the club.

Craig was named in the centre, but can be just as damaging closer to goal.

The Bulldogs will be wary of an opponent it beat by three points in round five and took it right up to LBU last Saturday.

Bulldogs’ forwards Cody Riddick and Dylan Klemm kicked seven and five goals in the win at Huntly and will test the Colbo defence.

North Bendigo had wingman Nic Waterson, rover Ben Knight, and back pocket Ryan Alford star against the Hawks.

The Bulldogs have named Jordan Ford who has missed several games because of injury.

Colbinabbin’s attack against LBU was led by Jai Carn and Luke Moore.

Players to watch in the green and gold include Ben Barton at centre half-back, rover Jude Ryan, Connor Aldous and Aidan Basile on the half-back flanks.

Colbinabbin also has coach Jed Brain, David Price, Laine and Logan Fitzgerald capable of winning many contests.

Elmore is at home to play the ladder-leading Heathcote.

In round five the Andrew Saladino-coached Saints dominated the second half to record a 37-point win at Barrack Reserve.

The Saints had the bye last round as Elmore was beaten by 68 points at White Hills.

Key players for the Mick Woolhouse-coached Elmore include Rhys Holmberg, Nathan Kay and Sam Lees.

The Bloods also have ruckman Daniel Russell, Nic Kellow in the centre, Darcy Laffy and Jacob Styles in attack.

Heathcote will again be without full-forward Corey Grindlay as he recovers from a finger injury.

An attack that includes Braden Padmore, Liam Birch, Jordan and Kai Cavallaro will test the Bloods.

Other players to watch for the Saints are captain Codie Price dashing off the half-back line, Jesse Davies in midfield, Will Direen at full-back, and ruck-rover Liam Jacques.

Huntly has the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Heathcote 146 per cent, 36 points; North Bendigo 140, 36; Mount Pleasant 168, 32; White Hills 138, 32; Lockington Bamawm United 123, 28; Leitchville Gunbower 80, 20; Colbinabbin 79, 10; Elmore 66, 10; Huntly 41, 4.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

55 Ben Weightman, Mount Pleasant.

48 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

45 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

37 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

34 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

31 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

27 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

26 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

25 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

21 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

20 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

19 Cody Riddick, North Bendigo.

18 Braden Padmore, Heathcote.

17 Billy Hawken, Leitchville Gunbower.

17 Lachlan Sverns, Leitchville Gunbower.

16 Jai Carn, Colbinabbin.

16 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbinabbin.

16 Darcy Laffy, Elmore.

15 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

15 Victor Butler, Heathcote.

15 Brodie Collins, Lockington Bamawm United.

15 Tyler Phillips, Lockington Bamawm United.

14 Adam Baird, Mount Pleasant.

14 Aarryn Craig, North Bendigo.

13 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

13 Riley McIvor, Lockington Bamawm United.

12 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

12 Liam Jacques, Heathcote.

12 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

12 Abe Sladden, Huntly.

12 Jacob Styles, Elmore.

11 Nic Warnock, White Hills.

10 Mitch Bennett, Mount Pleasant.

10 Kai Cavallaro, Heathcote.

10 James Davies, White Hills.

10 Coby Dunlop, Mount Pleasant.

10 Bayden Fallon, White Hills.

10 Riley McNamara, Mount Pleasant.