HDFNL Round 2 Football Review ~ Determined Dogs overrun Cats in final quarter


SEVEN goals in the final term capped a 10-point victory for North Bendigo against Lockington Bamawm United in Saturday’s second round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League.

The Dogs were down by 28 points in the last term of the match on their turf at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

Inspired by the play of gun recruit Jake Hall from Strathfieldsaye, Jeremy Lambden in the ruck, and Nic Waterson from a wing, North Bendigo scored 7.3 to 3.2 across the last 25 minutes to complete a memorable 115-105 victory.

The Dogs had led 38-31 at quarter-time, but a new-look LBU which included Stacy Fiske as coach won the next two terms, 27-18 and 27-14.

Premiership-winning stars such as Jesse and Brodie Collins, Riley McIvor and Tyler Phillips all played key roles in the Cats gaining a big break.

A determined Bulldogs line-up which had beaten last season’s runner-up in Mount Pleasant the previous week worked incredibly incredibly hard to overrun the reigning champs.

Dylan Klemm kicked a match-high five goals for North Bendigo as Jordan Ford added four.

Bulldogs’ coach Rob Bennett was rapt another nine players added a goal.

The Cats’ attack was led by Brodie Collins and Anthony McMahon on three each.

Best for the Bulldogs included Jordan Ford, Shane Harris and Tim Devereaux.

Key forward Max Johnson and Jacob Gardiner were among LBU’s best.

Colbinabbin had to work hard under the lights at Elmore to beat the Bloods by seven points.

It was 13-all at quarter-time and 34-all at half-time of the contest.

The Bloods won the third term, 8-3, but it was the Jed Brain-coached Colbinabbin which finished strongly.

The Grasshoppers added 3.4 to 1.4 in the last to complete a 59-52 victory.

The classy Laine Fitzgerald kicked four goals for the green and gold.

Multiple goalkickers for Elmore were Darcy Laffy and Dylan Oaff on two.

Colbinabbin’s best were ruckman Jasper McArdle, Laine and Logan Fitzgerald, Clint Shields, Jude Ryan and Toby Howlett.

Sam McHale, Dylan Gordon, Zack Holmberg, Zac Laffy, Daniel Russell and Brodie Marriott played well for the Bloods.

Heathcote’s great run kept rolling as the Saints took on Leitchville Gunbower at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

The Saints led 32-20 at quarter-time and then slammed on 7.2 as the Bombers were held to just three points in the second.

The pressure and run by the Andrew Saladino-coached Saints was high as they scored 10.7 to 2.5 in the final hour for a 143-40 victory.

Highly-rated recruited Corey Grindlay kicked eight goals as Kai Cavallaro added three and Jesse Davies and Thomas Pain chipped in with two each.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Leitchville Gunbower.

Best for Heathcote were Liam Jacques, Corey Grindlay, Braden Padmore, Kai Cavallaro, William Direen and Henry McCarthy.

Ruckman Jobee Warde, Jye Keath, Clay McGregor, Bailey Taylor, James Barratt and Zeb Ellwood played well for the Shannon Keam-coached Bombers.

It was a goalscoring spree for Mount Pleasant against Huntly on the Blues’ turf at Toolleen.

Classy forwards Ben Weightman and Mitch Rovers were in superb form as they booted eight and six goals respectively.

The Adam Baird-coached Blues scored 10.6 to 2.1 in the opening term.

It was goal-for-goal in the second as Mounts added 8.8, but the Harry Whittle and Jayden Cordy-coached Hawks were up to the task as they scored 6.1.

A 10-goal return by Mounts in the third was followed by four in the last to complete a 32.25 (217) to 12.3 (75) victory.

Although it was the Rovers and Weightman show for a lot of the contest, Jack Hetherington also played well to kick four majors and Riley McNamara added three.

A list of the Hawks’ goalkickers was not supplied.

Best for Mount Pleasant were Ben Weightman, Mitch Rovers, Riley McNamara, Jack Hetherington, Chris Down and Nick Butler.

Tori Ferguson, Steve Kairn, Lachy Wilson, Ryan Burt, Abe Sladden and Harrison Campbell were Huntly’s best.

White Hills had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Heathcote 261 per cent, 8 points; North Bendigo 109, 8; White Hills 242, 4; Mount Pleasant 194, 4; Elmore 132, 4; Colbinabbin 79, 4; Lockington Bamawm United 91, 0; Huntly 38, 0; Leitchville Gunbower 32, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

10 Corey Grindlay, H’cote; Ben Weightman, MP.

7 Mitch Rovers, MP.

6 Laine Fitzgerald, C; Dylan Klemm, NB.

5 Riley McNamara, MP.

4 Kai Cavallaro, H’cote; Aarryn Craig, NB; Jordan Ford, NB; Jack Hetherington, MP.

It’s the Demons against the Saints in next Saturday’s third round as White Hills hosts Heathcote at the Scott Street ground from 6.15pm.

All other senior matches will start at 2.30pm.

Colbinabbin and Mount Pleasant clash on the Grasshoppers’ ground at Colbinabbin’s M.J. Morgan Reserve.

Huntly is on home turf at Strauch Reserve to take on Lockington Bamawm United.

Leitchville Gunbower faces Elmore at Leitchville.

North Bendigo has the bye.