HDFNL Round 7 Football Preview


Bulldogs come out snarling against Mounts

STILL snarling after its loss on Huntly’s turf, North Bendigo will be fired up for this Saturday’s round seven clash with Mount Pleasant in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL senior footy action.

The Bulldogs and Blues will play on North Bendigo’s ground at Bendigo Club Oval in Atkins Street from 2.15pm.

It’s a change in coaching set-up for North Bendigo as assistant coach Daniel Francis steps to the number one role because Rob Bennett is away.

At selection the Bulldogs recalled triple premiership player Jordan Ford, skilful wingman Nic Waterson, and the versatile Jake Hall.

Also in is talented youngster Bailey Cain.

Line-ups have changed markedly since these clubs last met when Mount Pleasant ended North Bendigo’s run in a first semi-final.

At Mount Pleasant, Cam Carter has returned to a club he has coached to back-to-back premierships.

The Bulldogs were four-nil before being outrun and outworked by the Harlowe Huntly Hawks at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

After consecutive defeats to start the season, Mount Pleasant has fought back to now be two-three and in fifth place.

The Bulldogs and Blues both have powerful forward lines.

North Bendigo is led by Dylan Klemm who has the athleticism and marking power to test the Mounts’ defence.

Other key targets in the Bulldogs’ attack include Jordan Ford, Cody Riddick and Hakeem Johnson.

At the other end of the ground, North Bendigo’s defence faces a huge task against Ben Bisset who has impressed with his ability to win many marking contests.

Whether he’s in the forward 50m arc or playing an on-ball role, Mitch Rovers has plenty of pace and skill.

Premiership-winning team-mates with Golden Square last season, Ryan Hartley and Jack Hickman will play key on-ball roles for the Bulldogs and Blues respectively.

Another important duel will be in the ruck where Aidan Brohm takes on Mounts’ captain Chris Down.

Players to watch for the Blues include Mitchell Bennett in defence, Daniel Frame, Fletcher White, Tyler McNamara and Zebb Murrel.

Talented youngster Bailey White has played well for the Blues, along with Will Bowles who marked his senior debut against Colbinabbin last round.

Another big match will be at Gunbower where Leitchville Gunbower tackles the ladder-leading Winslow White Hills Demons.

The Shannon Keam-coached Bombers played superb footy to win last Saturday’s clash on Heathcote’s turf at Pigeon Park by seven points.

Massive test for the LG defence against one of the league’s most potent forward lines.

Playing at half-back, Brady Hore was best in the Bombers win against the Saints.

The leadership of Hoby Bussey and Jye Keath has played a big part in LG’s run to be fourth on a three-two record.

Best in the Bombers’ latest win included Will Brereton, Fraser Buchanan, Mitchell Candy and Joel Donehue.

Young ruckman Jobee Warde is another key player for the red, yellow and black, along with rover Billy Hawken, and Caleb Hislop.

The many attacking options for White Hills were on show in a 185-45 result at home against Elmore last round.

Cohen Kekich led the way on six goals as co-coach Kaiden Antonowicz kicked five goals and James Davies added four.

The Demons’ attack to take on the Demons includes Mitch Dole, Jayden Sheean and Ben Taylor.

Others to watch for the red and black include Alex Davis, Jake Pallpratt and Tom Brereton in defence, ruckman Jack Lawton, and co-coach Jack Fallon.

It’s a crucial game for Colbinabbin and Lockington Bamawm United on Colbinabbin’s turf at M.J. Morgan Oval.

The Grasshoppers and Cats start this round on two-four and two-three records to be sixth and seventh on the ladder.

The winner has a chance to jump into the five.

Colbinabbin will be determined to hit back after a 12-goal loss on Mount Pleasant’s turf at Toolleen.

Key players for the Grasshoppers include captain Will Lowe, Jai Carn and Alex Carr across half-forward, Hugh McMurtrie and Jude Ryan in defence, and coach Jed Brain.

Lockington Bamawm United is back in action after a bye.

The Stacy Fiske-coached LBU won its round five clash with Mount Pleasant at Lockington by six goals.

Rover Jeremy Mundie was best afield for the Cats.

Key players for LBU include Charlie Hinks, Anthony McMahon and Thomas Leech in attack, Joseph Wolfe on a wing,  Taylor Butler and Elijah Bruns.

Elmore is on home turf against the Harlowe Huntly Hawks.

The Mick Woolhouse-coached Elmore will be desperate to claim the points.

Will not be easy against the Hawks whose confidence will have risen markedly after beating North Bendigo.

The play of ruck-rover Nathan Kay, forwards James Harney and Cobi Fitzpatrick, ruckman Daniel Russell, and centreman Luke Price will be important to the Bloods chances.

In defence it will be Rhys Holmberg, Jarrad Kyne and Joseph Harney who will turn up the pressure.

Been a great start to Hamish Morcom’s senior coaching career.

Morcom was best afield in the Hawks latest victory and had great support from Harry Whittle and Dale Lowry.

Lachy Wilson is a strong-marking target in attack and Huntly also has Abe Sladden, Jacob Greenwood and Flynn Campbell to finish off moves.

Huntly’s team bound for Elmore includes captain Steve Kairn, Brodie Fry, Harrison Campbell and Darby Walsh.

Heathcote has the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

White Hills 208 per cent, 20 points; North Bendigo 164, 16; Heathcote 149, 16; Leitchville Gunbower 83, 12; Mount Pleasant 122, 8; Colbinabbin 69.61, 8; Lockington Bamawm United 69.61, 8; Huntly 65, 8; Elmore 40, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

28 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

24 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

17 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

17 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

16 James Harney, Elmore.

15 Ben Bisset, Mount Pleasant.

15 Alex Carr, Colbinabbin.

15 James Davies, White Hills.

14 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

13 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

11 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

10 Zak Saad, Heathcote.

9 Jake Dean, North Bendigo.

9 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

9 Cooper Webber-Mirkin, Heathcote.

8 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

8 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

8 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

8 Clint Shields, Colbinabbin.

7 Sam Barnes, North Bendigo.

7 Fraser Buchanan, Leitchville Gunbower.

7 Mitch Dole, White Hills.

7 Christian Hatzis, Mount Pleasant.

7 Hamish Morcom, Huntly.