HDFNL Round 7 Football Review | Bulldogs’ hot streak rolls on at White Hills


NORTH Bendigo’s hot streak rolled in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL’s senior footy action rolled on at White Hills in Saturday’s seventh round.

The Bulldogs were not only determined to build on their unbeaten run, but also to win in Ryan Alford’s 200th senior match as they took to the field at Winslow Constructors Oval in White Hills.

In the first term it was Dylan Klemm who capped off the Dogs’ attacks with three goals as the visitors led 34-19 at the first break.

North Bendigo’s pressure and run was to the fore in the second as it slammed on 5.3 to just three behinds in the second quarter.

The Rob Bennett-coached North Bendigo was intent on not allowing the Demons back into the contest.

The play of Jordan Ford in attack or defence, Nic Waterson on a wing, Brodie Thomson in the ruck, and captain Aarryn Craig inspired team-mates.

North Bendigo won the third, 4.4 to 2.3.

The Jack Fallon and Jake Pallpratt-coached Demons lifted to score 4.5 to 3.2 in the last term.

A triple premiership winner who has played many minutes across 200 games, Alford did go to full-forward late in the match.

Clearly one of the biggest cheers was when he marked within scoring distance.

Alford’s shot hit the post and resulted in one of the loudest cheers for a point in North Bendigo FNC’s history.

Klemm finished with a match-high four goals, while the athleticism and hard-running by Cody Riddick from half-forward resulted in three goals and several assists.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Bulldogs were captain Aarryn Craig, Hakeem Johnson and Nic Waterson with two.

A Bulldogs defence led by Layton Ross, Matt Gray and Tim Deveraux who kept the dangerous Kaiden Antonowicz to a goal was superb all match.

Nic Warnock was the sole multiple goalkicker for White Hills on two.

Best for White Hills were Nic Warnock, Bayden Fallon, captain Rhys Irwin, Jake Pallpratt at half-back, Brady Childs and Liam Bartels.

Heathcote’s great run continued as the Saints beat Lockington Bamawm United by 33 points.

Stung by consecutive defeats, LBU made a start on Heathcote’s turf at Barrack Reserve to lead 20-10 at quarter-time.

The Saints fought back to win the second, 4.3 to 1.2 and led 37-28 by the long break.

Heathcote’s workrate through midfield and at clearances was again a highlight.

The Saints scored 3.1 to 2.1 in the third and then finished strongly to win the last term, 32-14, to record an 88-55 victory.

Corey Grindlay again led Heathcote’s attack on four goals as Liam Birchip chipped in with three.

Other multiple goalkickers were Liam Jacques and Braden Padmore on two.

Fraser Monahan kicked two goals for LBU.

Best for the Andrew Saladino-coached Heathcote were Will Long, Braden Padmore, Liam Jacques, Ben Connelly, Codie Price and Victor Butler.

Ruckman Tyler Phillips, Jesse Collins, Brock Kennedy, Fraser Monahan, Max Johnson and Brodie Collins were best for the Stacy Fiske-coached Cats.

Eight goals by co-coach Ben Weightman were a key factor in Mount Pleasant’s win at Elmore.

The Blues were on the rebound from defeat to Heathcote and turned a seven point lead at quarter-time into a 29-point buffer by the main break after they scored 5.1 to 1.3 in the second.

On a day where Dylan Friedberger and Mick Woolhouse teamed up as co-coaches for the first time, Elmore did plenty of attacking in the third but scored 1.5 as the Blues added 4.3.

It was a closely-fought final quarter which Mounts won 28-26 to complete a 99-52 victory.

Mounts’ co-coach and on-baller Adam Baird from injury to kick two goals be among the best with Fletcher White and key defender William Wallace.

Multiple goalkickers for Elmore were Sam Lees, Sam McHale and Dylan Oaff, two.

Mount Pleasant’s best included Riley McNamara, Ben Weightman and Bailey White.

Bloods’ captain Dylan Gordon was best along with Lachlan Giffin, Zac Laffy, Mitchell Carson, Luke Price and Sam McHale.

Leitchville Gunbower dominated the first and final quarters of its home game against Huntly.

The Shannon Keam-coached Bombers scored 5.3 to 1.1 in the first before defences were on top across the next two quarters.

LG’s tally of 2.3 and 2.2 in terms two and three was almost match by Huntly’s return of 2.0 and 2.0.

The Bombers lifted their lead of 31 points at the start of the final term to 68 by the siren as they slammed on 9.8 to 1.1.

Assistant coach Chris Horman finished with seven goals in the 106-38 victory.

Zac Hislop kicked three goals as Billy Hawken and Tyler Jones added two each.

Huntly’s attack was led by Lachy Wilson, three.

Best in Leitchville Gunbower’s second win of the season were Clay McGregor, Caleb Hislop, Chris Horman, Jye Keath, Lachlan Martini and Lachlan Sverns.

Harrison Campbell, Steve Kairn, Ben Hilson, co-coach Harry Whittle, Harry McCormick and Mitch Billings were best for a Huntly team which is co-coached by Jayden Cordy.

Colbinabbin had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

North Bendigo 149 per cent, 24 points; Mount Pleasant 185, 20; Heathcote 155, 20; White Hills 106, 16; Lockington Bamawm United 99, 8; Colbinabbin 84, 8; Elmore 76, 8; Leitchville Gunbower 66, 8; Huntly 41, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

37 Ben Weightman, Mount Pleasant.

35 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

23 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

23 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

20 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

20 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

19 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

15 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

12 Darcy Laffy, Elmore.

12 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

11 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbinabbin.

11 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

11 Cody Riddick, North Bendigo.

10 Aarryn Craig, North Bendigo.

10 Riley McNamara, Mount Pleasant.

Highlight of next Saturday’s round eight action will be at North Bendigo’s Hibo Hotel in Atkins Street where the Bulldogs take on Heathcote from 2.30pm.

Lockington Bamawm United is back on home turf to play Elmore.

Huntly and White Hills clash at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

Colbinabbin tackles Leitchville Gunbower at M.J. Morgan Oval in Colbinabbin.

Mount Pleasant has the bye.