HDFNL Round 8 Football Review


White Hills thrashes Saints in Demons den

THE Winslow White Hills Demons thrashed the Heathcote Saints in Saturday’s eighth round of senior footy action in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL.

It shaped as being a terrific contest between first and third.

White Hills charged to a 28-8 lead by quarter-time.

In the second the Demons’ turned up the heat at contests.

The Demons continually pumped the ball into the forward 50m arc and was rewarded with a score of 6.3.

White Hills held the Saints to a tally of 1.4 in the second.

By half-time a Demons line-up jointly coached by Jack Fallon and Kaiden Antonowicz led 67-18.

Across the final hour White Hills scored 9.5 as the Andrew Saladino-coached Saints added 2.4.

Antonowicz capped a superb match with six goals in a 126-34 victory for the red and black.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Demons were Liam Bartels and Callum Crisp on three each.

For the first time in many matches Heathcote did not have a multiple goalkicker.

Best for the ladder-leading White Hills were Cameron Taggert, Ben Taylor, Tom Brereton, Kaiden Antonowicz, Jack Lawton and Ben Bacon.

Bill Direen, Mitch McLean, Connor Hamilton, James Orr, Corey Grindlay and Liam Jacques worked hard for the Saints.

Leitchville Gunbower outpointed the Harlowe Huntly Hawks at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

Was a danger game for the Shannon Keam-coached Bombers as Huntly had marked home wins against Lockington Bamawm United and North Bendigo.

A hard-fought opening half was won by Leitchville Gunbower, 46-31.

The Bombers dominated most of the final hour.

As LG scored 6.6 the Hawks added just four behinds.

Caleb Hislop, Austin Windridge and Jye Keath were best in an 88-35 win by the Bombers in the Hawks’ nest.

The LG attack was led by Chris Horman, four; Caleb Hislop, three; Tom Brereton and Fraser Buchanan, two.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Huntly.

Best for the Bombers included Will Brereton, Brad Green and Joel Donehue.

Huntly’s best were Flynn Campbell, coach Hamish Morcom, Jarrod Spry, Ben Daley, Nathan Grace and Abe Sladden.

The Bulldogs from North Bendigo marked a 61-point victory against the Lockington Bamawm United Cats at Lockington’s Nichol Trading Oval.

Key forward Dylan Klemm was in superb touch as he kicked seven goals to be best on ground in a 118-57 victory.

The Bulldogs had Jake Dean boot four goals and Ryan Hartley chip in with two.

The Cats’ attack was led by Jack Butler, Brodie Collins and Thomas Leech on two each.

Best for the Rob Bennett-coached North Bendigo were Dylan Klemm, Ryan Hartley, Jake Dean, Cody Riddick, Tyson Findlay and Matt Gray.

Tyler Phillips, Brodie Collins, Jacob Gardiner, Bowden Stone, Lachlan Holthuisen and Joseph Wolfe were best for the Stacy Fiske-coached LBU.

After scores were on 16-all at quarter-time, Mount Pleasant dominated the next three terms in its clash with Elmore at Toolleen.

The Cam Carter-coached Blues scored 7.3 to 2.0 in the second.

Quarter three was to be one of Mount Pleasant’s best of the season as it slammed on 8.6 and kept the Bloods scoreless.

Mounts won the last, 37-12, to record a 152-40 victory.

Jaxson Nihill led the Blues’ attack on five goals as Mitch Rovers, four; Ben Bisset and Fletcher White, three, capitalised on their team-mates play.

Other multiple goalkickers for Mounts were Jack Hickman, Riley McNamara and Bailey White on two.

Bloods’ vice-captain James Harney kicked three goals.

Mount Pleasant captain and ruckman Chris Down was best afield as Jack Hickman, Bailey White, Jaxson Nihill, Mitch Bennett and Mitch Rovers won many contests.

Best for the Mick Woolhouse-coached Elmore were Joseph Harney, Kynan Sharpe, James Harney, Nathan Kay, Geanlo San Diego and Sam Lees.

Colbinabbin had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

White Hills 229 per cent, 28 points; North Bendigo 163, 24; Heathcote 119, 16; Leitchville Gunbower 86, 16; Mount Pleasant 138, 12; Colbinabbin 83, 12; Huntly 66, 12; Lockington Bamawm United 62, 8; Elmore 42, 0.

The league hits the halfway mark of the home-and-away series next Saturday.

A big match will be Leitchville Gunbower against Mount Pleasant at Gunbower from 2.15pm.

North Bendigo and Colbinabbin clash in the Bulldogs’ kennel at Bendigo Club Oval in Atkins Street.

Elmore is on home turf against Lockington Bamawm United.

Heathcote takes on Huntly on the Saints’ ground at Pigeon Park in Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

The Winslow White Hills Demons have the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

33 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

29 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

26 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

22 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

22 James Harney, Elmore.

20 Ben Bisset, Mount Pleasant.

19 Alex Carr, Colbinabbin.

17 James Davies, White Hills.

17 Anthony McMahon, Lockington  Bamawm United.

14 Jake Dean, North Bendigo.

14 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

13 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

12 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

12 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

10 Mitch Dole, White Hills.

10 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

10 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

10 Zak Saad, Heathcote.

9 Fraser Buchanan, Leitchville Gunbower.

9 Cooper Webber-Mirkin, Heathcote.

8 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

8 Jack Hickman, Mount Pleasant.

8 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

8 Jake Miller, White Hills.

8 Hamish Morcom, Huntly.

8 Jaxson Nihill, Mount Pleasant.

8 Clint Shields, Colbinabbin.

7 Sam Barnes, North Bendigo.

7 Ryan Hartley, North Bendigo.

7 Christian Hatzis, Mount Pleasant.

7 Nathan Kay, Elmore.

7 Cody Riddick, North Bendigo.

7 Ben Taylor, White Hills.

6 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

6 Tom Brereton, Leitchville Gunbower.

6 Callum Crisp, White Hills.

6 Chris Down, Mount Pleasant.

6 Jack Fallon, White Hills.

6 Billy Hawken, Leitchville Gunbower.

6 Liam Jacques, Heathcote.

6 Jeremy Mundie, Lockington Bamawm United.

6 Braden Padmore, Heathcote.

6 Charles Ryan, Colbinabbin.

6 Stuart Taylor, Lockington Bamawm United.