HDFNL Round 9 Football Review


Elmore marks first victory of 150th season

ELMORE’S senior footy team snapped its winless streak in Saturday’s ninth round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL season.

In the club’s 150th year there was plenty to celebrate as the Bloods marked a 19-point win at home against Lockington Bamawm United.

An Elmore line-up coached by gun on-baller Nathan Kay faced a two-goal deficit at half-time.

In quarter three it was the Bloods who upped the pressure and slammed on 4.6 to a goal.

Inspired by the play of key forward James Harney, Jake Dick-O’Flaherty and Kynan Sharpe it was Elmore which added 5.2 to 4.1 in a high-scoring final quarter.

At the siren the Bloods players and fans celebrated a 102-83 victory to cap off the hard work put in by coach Kay, and by director of coaching, Mick Woolhouse.

An eight goal haul by James Harney earned best on ground honours, while Jack Smith booted two goals for the red and white.

Lockington Bamawm United’s attack was led by Thomas Leech, three; Jayden Howe, Anthony McMahon and Tyler Phillips, two.

Best for Elmore included Jack Smith, Kyle Armstrong and Luke Price.

Tyler Phillips, Jacob Gardiner, Matt Hore, Joseph Wolfe, Bowden Stone and Taylor Butler were best for the Stacy Fiske-coached Cats.

Leitchville-Gunbower won a crucial contest with Mount Pleasant at Gunbower.

The Shannon Keam-coached LG marked its first hit-out at Gunbower this season.

The Bombers made a flying start as they scored 4.3 and kept Mounts scoreless in the opening term.

By half-time the LG line-up led 48-6.

Caleb Hislop went on to kick three goals as Fraser Buchanan, Billy Hawken and Lachlan Sverns added two in an 82-32 victory for Leitchville Gunbower.

The in-form Jaxson Nihill booted two goals for the Blues.

Best for the Bombers were Jye Keath, Caleb Hislop, James Brereton, Brad Green, Brady Hore and Mitchell Candy.

Mount Pleasant’s best were Reardon McIvor, Zac Featherby, Zebb Murrell, Jack Hickman, Jaxson Nihill and Sam Greene.

At the halfway mark of the season a Mount Pleasant team jointly coached by Ben Bisset and Jack Hickman, and with Cam Carter as director of coaching, is in fifth place on a three-five record.

Eight goals to nil in the second quarter set up North Bendigo’s win against Colbinabbin at Bendigo Club Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

The Rob Bennett-coached Bulldogs were under pressure in the first term as they scored 3.4 and the Grasshoppers kept pace on 3.2.

Next term was all red, white and blue as North Bendigo slammed on 8.3.

The Jed Brain-coached Colbinabbin hit back to win the third term, 3.3 to 3.2.

Dylan Klemm’s hot form rolled on as he kicked five goals for the Bulldogs, as did Sam Barnes in a 125-62 victory.

Other multiple goalkickers for North Bendigo were Jake Dean, four, and Jordan Ford, three.

Colbinabbin’s attack was led by Alex Carr, three; Jed Brain and Charles Ryan, two.

Best for the Bulldogs were Will Gilmore, Riley Paetow, Dylan Klemm, Aidan Brohm, Sam Barnes and Jake Dean.

The Grasshoppers’ best were Charles Ryan, Geordie McMurtrie, Julian Bull, Toby Howlett, Alex Carr and Nick Knight.

Heathcote charged clear of the Harlowe Huntly Hawks in the final quarter of their clash at Pigeon Park in Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

Desperate to bounce back from consecutive defeats, Heathcote was under the pump as Huntly was within a goal when Darcy Walsh was on target at the 21-minute mark of the third quarter.

Goals by Tom Johnson in his second senior game and another by Kai Cavallaro on the run gave Heathcote a three-goal buffer going into the last.

The Andrew Saladino-coached Heathcote did plenty of attacking in the final quarter as brilliant forward Corey Grindlay was to the fore.

Grindlay made a spectacular leap near the goalsquare.

Although he spilt the mark he won the footy at ground level and then snapped his fifth goal of the match.

A goal by Daniel Butler in his second senior match was followed by consecutive goals by Grindlay as the Saints led 95-56.

After being caught high, James Pringle calmly slotted the first goal of his senior career.

The Saints run and link from half-back to attack was back as they ran out 108-56 winners.

Grindlay led the way on seven goals as Liam Birch and Jackson Conforti chipped in with two each.

The Saints had seven goalkickers in a score of 7.14.

Best for Heathcote were ruckman James Orr, Callum Birch, Corey Grindlay, Mitch McLean, Liam Jacques and Liam Birch.

Dale Lowry, Brodie Fry, Brodie Butt, Josh Hull, Jarrod Spry and Darcy Walsh were best for the Hamish Morcom-coached Hawks.

The ladder-leading Winslow White Hills Demons had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

White Hills 229 per cent, 28 points; North Bendigo 167, 28; Heathcote 126, 20; Leitchville Gunbower 96, 20; Mount Pleasant 123, 12; Colbinabbin 77, 12; Huntly 64, 12; Lockington Bamawm United 64, 8; Elmore 49, 4.

The Heathcote DFNL takes a break for the King’s Birthday holiday weekend.

Action resumes on June 15.

A highlight of round 10 will be Leitchville Gunbower against North Bendigo at Leitchville.

Heathcote tackles Colbinabbin at Pigeon Park in Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

Winslow White Hills Demons will be on home turf at Winslow Constructors Oval in Scott Street to play Lockington Bamawm United.

Harlowe Huntly Hawks face  Mount Pleasant in the Hawks’ nest at Strauch Reserve.

Elmore has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

36 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

33 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

31 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

30 James Harney, Elmore.

22 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

22 Alex Carr, Colbinabbin.

20 Ben Bisset, Mount Pleasant.

19 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

18 Jake Dean, North Bendigo.

17 James Davies, White Hills.

14 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

13 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

13 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

13 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

12 Sam Barnes, North Bendigo.

12 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

11 Fraser Buchanan, Leitchville Gunbower.

11 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

10 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

10 Mitch Dole, White Hills.

10 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

10 Jaxson Nihill, Mount Pleasant.

10 Zak Saad, Heathcote.

10 Cooper Webber-Mirkin, Heathcote.

9 Jack Hickman, Mount Pleasant.

8 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

8 Billy Hawken, Leitchville Gunbowre.

8 Caleb Hislop, Leitchville Gunbower.

8 Nathan Kay, Elmore.

8 Jake Miller, White Hills.

8 Hamish Morcom, Huntly.

8 Charles Ryan, Colbinabbin.

8 Clint Shields, Colbinabbin.