LVFNL Football | 1st Semi Final WRAP UP

Machine’s run keeps rolling after first semi victory against Mitiamo

AN EIGHT-GOAL haul by Andy Collins lifted Bridgewater’s senior footy team to a big victory against Mitiamo in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football Netball League’s first semi-final on Sunday.

After a high-scoring first half at Calivil Recretation Reserve it was Bridgewater which led 63-40.

Accuracy by both teams was a highlight in scores of 10.3 and 6.3.

The Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater clicked to another gear as it won the crucial third quarter, 44-27.

Collins and Josh Martyn capitalised on the Machine’s on-ball and midfield work to end up with eight and five goals respectively in the 126-77 victory.

Other goalkickers for Bridgewater were Harry Donegan, two; Jacob Ellings, Lloyd Needs, Alex Pollock, Callum Prest and Cameron Ross.

Mitiamo’s attack was led by Ryan Wellington, three, and Harry McCormick, two.

Other goalkickers for the Superoos were Ashley Benbow, Tom Grant, Michael I’Anson, Lucas Matthews, Doug Thomas, and  captain Jarryd Wiegard.

Bridgewater’s best were Andy Collins, Michael Brooks, Jack Symons, Emile Pavlich, Harry Donegan and Nic Hall.

Ross Turner, Lee Dale, Doug Thomas, Jarryd Wiegard, Lachlan Twigg and Kyle Patten played well for the Marcus McKern-coached Mitiamo.


It’s season over for Mitiamo as Bridgewater goes on to next Saturday’s preliminary final showdown with Pyramid Hill at Holloway Air Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

In the reserves competition, Bridgewater beat Newbridge in the first semi-final.

After being down 2-20 at quarter-time, Bridgewater hit back to make it 22-all by half-time.

The Machine scored 2.2 to a goal in the third term.

Newbridge won the final quarter, 13-8, but Bridgewater stayed in the premiership race after a 44-41 victory.

Goalkickers for Bridgewater were Jeremy Campbell, Matt Collins, Sam Harrison, Declan Maher, Austin O’Connor-Stubbs, and Hamish Terry.

Jirah Dawkins, Luke Hoskin, Hugh McGillivray, Aidan Moore and Josh O’Neill were on Newbridge’s goalkicking list.

Best for Bridgewater were Sam Dewar, Tynan Hywood, Jay Bowen, Jack McKinley, Ben Derrick and Jackson Wild.

Keelan Bertuch, Hugh McGillivray, Liam Lonergan, Jirah Dawkins, Matt Harris and Jack Teasdale were Newbridge’s best.

The Mean Machine will face Pyramid Hill in the preliminary final.


Schedule for Saturday’s preliminary finals at Holloway Air Riverside Oval in Newbridge:

Under-18s at 10.40am: Bridgewater v Inglewood.

Reserves at 12.30pm: Pyramid Hill v Bridgewater.

Seniors at 2.15pm: Pyramid Hill v Bridgewater.


Written by Nathan Dole.