LVFNL Football | Round 18 PREVIEW

Great rivals clash at Bridgewater’s ground

BRIDGEWATER and Mitiamo warm up for another finals campaign when they clash in Saturday’s 18th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football Netball League season.

Two of the league’s greatest rivals will be desperate for victory on Bridgewater’s turf.

Although a win and 12 per cent behind the Superoos, Bridgewater will be fired up to beat Mitiamo for the second time this season.

In round nine the Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater won 102-79 at John Forbes Oval in Mitiamo as Josh Martyn kicked six goals and Andy Collins, Lachlan Allison and Harry Donegan were best.

The Mitiamo attack was led by Jay Reynolds, four; and Carl Nicholson, three, as Ross Turner and Daniel Mowat played well.

In round 17, Bridgewater beat Maiden Gully YCW Eagles by 20 points as Callum Prest, Emile Pavlich, Cameron Ross and Darcy Wood were among the best.

Other players to watch for the Mean Machine are Lloyd Needs, Harry Symons, Nic Naughton and Alex Pollock.

The Marcus McKern-coached Mitiamo had the bye after an 88-point win against Maiden Gully YCW in the 16th round.

Best for the Superoos in that match were Carl Nicholson, Daniel Mowat and Lee Dale.

The play of Jay Reynolds, Ryan Wellington, Jarryd Wiegard, Brayden Baines and Tom Grant will be important in Mitiamo beating the Machine this time.


Bears Lagoon Serpentine and Maiden Gully YCW Eagles do battle at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

In round nine the Justin Laird-coached Bears won by a goal at Marist College Bendigo.

Andy Gladman and Laird kicked three and two goals for the Bears as Charlie and Harry Gadsden, and Kalem Paxton played well.

The Bears won a great battle with Inglewood last round as half-back flanker Josh Walsh, Darcy Poulter, James Bailey, Josh Taig and Miggy Podosky were among the best.

Key players for the Wayne Mitrovic-coached Eagles include Matt Gilmore and Brayden Aitken in attack, Steve Turner in defence, Nathan Murley, Damian Wust, Jessi Lampi and Corey Walsh.


Pyramid Hill is on home turf at Mitchell Park to play Inglewood.

The Bulldogs won on Inglewood’s ground at Dissy Machinery Oval by 101 points in round nine as Seb Relouw, Brad Ladson, Steven Gunther and Braidy Dickens were in top form.

The Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill showed no mercy in a 169-point win at Newbridge last round as Dylan Collis and Bailey George kicked six and five goals.

A formidable Bulldogs line-up includes Gavin James, Billy Micevski, Ryley Dickens and Adrian Holland.

The Darrell Billett-coached Blues will be aiming to be competitive for longer.

The Blues were 3-1 after four rounds.

It’s been a tough second half for Inglewood, but the play of Charlie Ingham, Thomas Alexander, Bregon Cotchett, Charlie McGaw, Nathan Angelino, Alex Lowe and Jasper McClelland gives the club plenty of confidence heading into next season.


Calivil United and Newbridge will be desperate to cap their campaign with a victory at Calivil.

In round nine it was the Luke Freeman-coached Newbridge which won by 33 points on home turf at Holloway Air Riverside Oval.

Ryan Burt kicked six goals to be best afield as Thomas Hobson, Caleb Sanders, Harding medallist Harry Whittle, Logan Dixon and Mitch Hocking all played well.

Other players to watch for the Maroons include tough on-baller Caleb Argus, Will Daly, Austin Fithall, Tyler McLeod, and Chris Dixon in attack.

The Demons defence will not be under siege as it was last Saturday at Marong.

Best for the Jack Daley-coached Demons against the ladder-leading Panthers were Alex Daniels, Jake Lawry, Lachlan Brook, Evan Ritchie, Blair Richards and Lachlan McAllister.

Calivil United also has Ben Daley, Jordan Lea, Phil Ryan and Blayne Ryan-Storey capable of winning many contests.


Marong has a bye and then another rest before it kicks off its finals campaign in the August 27 second semi-final.


Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 351 per cent, 60 points; Pyramid Hill 273, 56; Mitiamo 125, 40; Bridgewater 113, 36; Bears Lagoon Serpentine 73, 28; Maiden Gully YCW 62, 16; Newbridge 47, 16; Inglewood 56, 12; Calivil United 54, 8.


Leading goalkickers:

143 Brandyn Grenfell, Mar.

54 Bailey George, PH.

52 Josh Martyn, B’water.

37 Kain Robins, Mar.

36 Jason Butty, MGYCW.

35 Andy Collins, B’water; Andy Gladman, BLS.

33 Chris Dixon, New.

32 Jay Reynolds, Miti.

31 Braidy Dickens, PH; Ryley Taylor, Mar.

29 Jacob Greenwood, CU.

28 Steven Gunther, PH.

25 Ryan Wellington, Miti.

24 Nathan Devanny, Mar.; Justin Laird, BLS.

23 Mitch Cheesman, PH; Charlie McGaw, I’wood.

20 Seb Relouw, PH.


Written by Nathan Dole.