LVFNL Round 1 Football Review


Machine motors past Newbridge in last

BRIDGEWATER’S new-look Mean Machine unleashed a six-goal burst in the last quarter to motor past Newbridge in Saturday’s start to the senior footy action in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL.

A much-hyped Bridgewater team which included Strathfieldsaye multiple premiership winner Lachlan Sharp and Sandhurst premiership winner Lee Coghlan was under enormous pressure from Newbridge.

Also back in action for Bridgewater was premiership winning coach and player Andy Collins.

Jointly coached by Sam Gale, playing, and Daniel Smith, non-playing, Newbridge took it right up to Bridgewater on its patch.

The Maroons led 31-18 at quarter-time and 57-41 by the main break.

Bridgewater hit back to win the third term 22-16, but Newbridge held a 10-point buffer going into the last.

From there it was the Mean Machine, coached by Rick Ladson and assisted by Lachlan Sharp which switched up a few gears.

Bridgewater scored 6.4 to 1.3 to complete a 103-82 victory.

Sharp finished with a match-high eight goals as Andy Collins booted three.

Newbridge’s attack was led by Chris Dixon, Jack Murray and Caleb Sanders on two each.

Best for Bridgewater were Boden Alexander, Lachlan Sharp, Jon Coghlan, Ben Derrick, Xavier Walsh and Jack Neylon.

Will Daly, Will Copland, Tyler Constable, Tyler McLeod, Matt McArthur and Jono Aujard were Newbridge’s best.

Bears Lagoon-Serpentine overturned an 11-point deficit at half-time to beat Pyramid Hill by 15 points.

Recruited from Sandhurst, Jake Wilkinson marked his coaching debut with the Bears at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

Last season’s runner-up, Pyramid Hill led 54-43 at half-time in the Bears’ den.

The BLS line-up closed within two points at a quarter to play.

Recruited from Benalla, former Fremantle Dockers forward Josh Mellington was superb as he kicked 10 goals as the Bears marked a 112-97 victory.

Another multiple goalkicker for the purple and gold was Farran Priest from Echuca United on four.

Pyramid Hill’s attack was led by Zach Alford, five; Damon Hemphill and Jesse Sheahan on two.

Although no longer coach, Justin Laird capped another outstanding match to be best afield for the Bears along with Josh Mellington and Charlie Gadsden.

Others to excel for BLS were Doolan Nihill, Ryan Prendergast and Ross Turner.

Best for the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill were Zach Alford, Damon Hemphill, Tom McGregor, Brad Ladson, Dylan Collis and Bailey George.

Maiden Gully YCW Eagles made a remarkable fightback in the last quarter to beat Calivil United by two goals.

Jointly coached by Shawn Filo, non-playing, and Angus Monfries, playing, Maiden Gully YCW was down 33-50 at a quarter to play in the Eagles’ nest at Marist College Bendigo Oval.

Docked 12 premiership points by the Loddon Valley FNL board for not fielding an under-18s team, Maiden Gully YCW was determined to play well.

The penalty is likely to be appealed by the Eagles.

On-field it was the Anthony Dennis-coached Calivil United which won the first term of Saturday’s match, 26-10.

By half-time the Eagles were within nine points.

Calivil United won the third, 21-13.

Led by the play of Declan Phyland, Thomas Pridgeon and Matthew Crooks it was the Eagles who scored 4.5 to nil in the last term to clinch a 62-50 victory.

Will Farrer led the attack on three goals.

Multiple goalkickers for the Demons were Ben Baker, Jordan Lea and Jack Maher on two.

Maiden Gully YCW’s best included Bryce Franzini, Ed Crisp and Josh Worsley.

Mitch Stephens, Sam Green, Sam Maher, Hamish McGregor, Jack Maher and Kane Shelton were best for Calivil United.

Reigning premier Marong marked a 147-point win against Mitiamo at Marong’s Malone Park.

Although gun forward Brandyn Grenfell has left the den for Nyah Nyah West United the Marong line-up showed it has plenty of goalscoring power.

In Saturday’s clash with the Superoos it was Matt Riordan, Ryley Taylor and Ryan Wellington who kicked three goals apiece in the Panthers tally of 22.23 (155).

Sole goalkicker in Mitiamo’s score of 1.1 (7) was Ryan Duncan.

It was an ominous start by the Linton Jacobs-coached Marong in pursuit of a premiership hat-trick.

Best for the Panthers were Shaun Knott, Ben Gregg, Ryley Taylor, Jonty Davis, Sam Dean and Noah McCaig.

Daniel Walters, Liam Shiell, Ryan Duncan, Jack Vinnicombe and Luke Lougoon worked hard for the Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo.

Inglewood had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 1937 per cent, 4 points; Bridgewater 125, 4; Bears Lagoon-Serpentine 115, 4; Maiden Gully YCW 124, 0 ***; Pyramid Hill 86, 0; Calivil United 80, 0; Newbridge 79, 0; Mitiamo 5, 0; Inglewood 0, 0.

*** Maiden Gully YCW Eagles docked 12 premiership points by LVFNL board for not fielding under-18s team. Eagles appeal pending.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

10 Josh Mellington, Bears Lagoon-Serpentine.

8 Lachlan Sharp, Bridgewater.

5 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

4 Farran Priest, Bears Lagoon-Serpentine.

3 Andy Collins, Bridgewater.

3 Matt Riordan, Marong.

3 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

3 Ryan Wellington, Marong.

In next Saturday’s second round, Newbridge faces Marong at Walker’s Doughnuts Riverside Oval in Newbridge from 2.15pm.

Pyramid Hill hosts Calivil United at Mitchell Park.

Inglewood plays its first match of the season against Bears Lagoon-Serpentine at Centre State Scaffolding in Inglewood.

The round will be completed with a night clash between Maiden Gully YCW Eagles and Bridgewater from 5pm at Marist College Oval in Maiden Gully.

Mitiamo has the bye.