LVFNL Round 10 Football Preview


Dogs aim to tame Bears at Pyramid Hill

THE showdown between Pyramid Hill and Bears-Lagoon Serpentine highlights this Saturday’s round 10 action in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL senior footy season.

It’s second against fourth at Pyramid Hill’s Mitchell Park from 2.15pm.

When these clubs met in the season opener it was the Jake Wilkinson-coached Bears who stunned last season’s runner-up with a 15-point win at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

Gun recruit Josh Mellington kicked 10 goals and has added another 77 in what’s been a brilliant first year as a Bear.

Mellington again looms as a major threat to Pyramid Hill’s quest for victory.

A key will be limiting the chances the Bears create.

Bulldogs’ coach Nathan Fitzpatrick will have spent plenty of time working on ways to combat Mellington, but it’s not just all about one player.

A talented Bears line-up includes Justin Laird, Ross Turner, captain Charlie Gadsden, Darcy Hawker, Doolan Nihill, Miggy Podosky and Nathan Twigg.

Pyramid Hill goes into this clash following a 167-point win on Maiden Gully YCW’s turf last round.

Tom McGregor, Damon Hemphill, Brad Ladson and Bailey George starred for the Bulldogs.

There’s plenty of goalkicking power in the Pyramid Hill line-up through Zach Alford, Bailey Scott and Jesse Sheahan.

The Bulldogs have the experience and running power of Jaydon Cowling, Gavin James, Ben Knight and Jack Timmins to test the Bears all match.

It’s heritage day as Calivil United hosts Maiden Gully YCW at Calivil Recreation Reserve.

The match which honours Calivil United’s links to Northern United is traditionally played at Raywood, but the ground is not available.

There’s more than four premiership points to be won.

The Demons and Eagles will play for the George Thompson Shield to honour the long-time trainer in Northern United’s remarkable run through the Golden City and then Bendigo FL.

Best afield will be presented with the Kevin Demeo Medal.

The Anthony Dennis-coached Calivil United will be wary of an opponent which triumphed by two goals in the first round.

Key roles for the Demons will be played by ruck-rover Mitchell Stephens, ruckman Justin Hynes, co-captains Sam Green and Sam Maher in attack, Jordan Lea and Rhys Lourie in defence.

The Shawn Filo and Angus Monfries-coached Eagles won two of the opening three games of the season.

It’s been a lean run since then.

Captain Josh Worsley, Angus Monfries, Thomas Birch, Ed Crisp, Thomas Pridgeon, Todd Delaney, Ryan Strauch and Matthew Crooks will be desperate to break the winless run.

Newbridge and Bridgewater clash at Walker’s Doughnuts Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

It’s been a great effort by the Sam Gale and Daniel Smith-coached Newbridge to climb to the fifth rung.

Massive challenge this round, especially in curbing the influence of Bridgewater gun forward forward and assistant coach Lachlan Sharp.

A tally of 13 goals in last Saturday’s win at Calivil has put Sharp’s season record at 74.

Newbridge captain Dylan Lloyd was named at full-back.

A Maroons’ defence that includes Matt McArthur, Jack Teasdale and Brandon Butler is up against the class and experience of Josh Martyn, Harry Conway and Andy Collins.

Highlight of Newbridge’s recent run is the play of midfielder Ben McKinley.

The duel between McKinley and Jack Neylon in the centre will be a highlight.

In attack Newbridge has Chris Dixon, Sam Gale, Andrew Padbury and Tyler McLeod to take on Lachlan Cohen, Ben Derrick, Joseph Mayes and Harry McKinley.

Mitiamo takes on Marong at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval.

The Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo will work to limit the Panthers’ attacking moves.

It’s a task few teams have done this season.

Key players for Mitiamo include ruckman Nathan Twigg, rover Jack Vinnicombe, centreman Zac Morrison, Eli Spiers and Jayden Matthews in defence, Ryan Duncan and Brayden Baines in attack.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Marong have been ruthless across what is a 40-game winning streak.

A formidable attack for the Panthers is led by Kain Robins, Ryan Taylor and Ryan Wellington.

There’s many scoring chances created through the play of Nathan Devanny, Lachlan Lee, Jack McCaig, Corey Gregg and Jonty Davis.

At half-back there is Shaun Knott and Richard Tibbett who take many intercept marks and then quickly launch counter-attacks.

Inglewood has the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 356 per cent, 32 points; Pyramid Hill 314, 24; Bridgewater 192, 24; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 167, 24; Newbridge 72, 12; Inglewood 58, 12; Calivil United 52, 8; Mitiamo 36, 0; Maiden Gully YCW 31, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

87 Josh Mellington, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

74 Lachlan Sharp, Bridgewater.

32 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

27 Kain Robins, Marong.

24 Jesse Sheahan, Pyramid Hill.

22 Ryan Wellington, Marong.

19 Bailey Scott, Pyramid Hill.

19 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

18 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

17 Mitch Conlan, Inglewood.

15 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

15 Noah McCaig, Marong.

14 Anthony Dennis, Calivil United.

11 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

11 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

11 Matt Riordan, Marong.

10 Andy Collins, Bridgewater.

10 Will Farrer, Maiden Gully YCW.

10 Steven Gunther, Pyramid Hill.

10 Alex Lloyd, Mitiamo.

10 Daniel Polack, Inglewood.