LVFNL Round 11 Football Review | First quarter blitz sets up Bears win at Newbridge


A BRILLIANT first quarter put Bears-Lagoon Serpentine in control of Saturday’s senior footy clash at Newbridge in the 11th round of the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL season.

The Bears scored 7.2 to 2.0 in the opening term at Beck Legal Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

After eight away matches to start the season because of refurbishment following flooding, Newbridge was keen to mark back-to-back wins at Riverside.

It was not to be as the Justin Laird-coached BLS turned a 38-point lead at half-time into a 70-point margin by the last change after it scored 6.3 to 1.1 in the third term.

Andy Gladman went on to kick a match-high four goals for the Bears as Aidam Brohm, Callum Draper and Nash Kemp added two each in the 108-33 victory.

There were no multiple goalkickers for a Newbridge team coached by Sam Gale and Daniel Smith.

Best for the Bears were Aidan Brohm, Orion Downing, Andy Gladman, Nash Kemp, Louis Mott and Beau Roy-Clements.

Newbridge’s best were captain Angus Fortune, David Romer, Tyler McLeod, Caleb Sanders, Dylan Lloyd and Austin Fithall.

Bridgewater won a low-scoring contest with Maiden Gully YCW at Marist College Bendigo in Maiden Gully.

The Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater led 14-7 at quarter-time and then scored 3.5 to just two behinds in the second.

The Mean Machine won the third, 10-6, but Maiden Gully YCW fought on to win the last term, 20-13.

At the final siren Bridgewater was up 60-35.

Talented youngster Darcy Wood kicked three goals for Bridgewater.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Maiden Gully YCW.

Best for the Mean Machine were Jack Symons, Darcy Wood, Tyler Estrada, Zane Hoiles, Charlton Hindle and Brayden Stepien.

Damian Wust, Tyler Miles, Nathan Murley, Will Noden, Brandon Dimech and Lachie Sobina played well for the Jay McDonald-coached Eagles.

Pyramid Hill marked a 12-goal win on its turf at Mitchell Park against Calivil United.

The Anthony Dennis-coached Calivil United played well to lead 16-11 at quarter-time.

In the second it was the Bulldogs who dominated play to score 6.6 to 2.1.

The Demons worked hard to win the third term, 10-9, but in the last it was the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Bulldogs who clicked up a few gears to score 8.2 to a point to complete a 112-40 victory.

Will Perryman led Pyramid Hill’s attack on four goals as Bryden Morison and Jesse Sheahan chipped in with three each and Bailey George added two.

Will Cole kicked two goals for the Demons.

Best for Pyramid Hill were Bryden Morison, Jesse Sheahan, Zac Dingwall, Declan Slingo, Dylan Morison and Gavin James.

Evan Ritchie, Jack Maher, Jake Lawry, Brae Mensforth, Cody Thompson and Will Cole played well for the Demons.

Marong hit the 25-goal mark in its clash on Inglewood’s ground at Dissy Machinery Oval.

As it has done so often this season, Marong dominated the first quarter to score 6.5 to a goal.

The Panthers added 5.1 in the second as Inglewood went to half-time having scored five straight goals.

In the third term the Linton Jacobs-coached Marong added 6.3 to 1.2.

Gun forwards Brandyn Grenfell and Kain Robins were in superb touch as they went on to kick eight and six goals in a  161-42 victory for the Panthers.

Ryley Taylor also kicked four goals.

Inglewood’s attack was led by Charlie McGaw on two goals.

Best for Marong were Jonty Davis, Lachlan Lee, Kyle Manley, Will Gadsden, Ben Gregg and Ryley Taylor.

Sam and Daniel Polack, Thomas Kennedy, Cody Wright, Darth Mackay and Gabe Nevins worked hard for the Darrell Billett-coached Blues.

Mitiamo had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 611 per cent, 40 points; Pyramid Hill 211, 32; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 124, 32; Bridgewater 96, 24; Inglewood 104, 20; Calivil United 59, 8; Maiden Gully YCW 46, 8; Newbridge 43, 8; Mitiamo 42, 4.

In next Saturday’s 11th round, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine plays Pyramid Hill from 2.15pm at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

Newbridge is at home to take on Marong at Beck Legal Riverside Oval.

Bridgewater hosts Inglewood at Bridgewater Recreation Reserve.

Mitiamo plays Maiden Gully YCW at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval.

Calivil United has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

67 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

40 Kain Robins, Marong.

39 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

30 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

26 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

25 Matt Riordan, Marong.

24 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

22 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

21 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

18 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

18 Will Perryman, Pyramid Hill.

17 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

17 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

17 Jack McCaig, Marong.

17 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

17 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

14 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

14 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

13 Dylan Collis, Pyramid Hill.

13 Daniel Polack, Inglewood.

12 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

12 Mitch Dingwall, Pyramid Hill.

11 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

11 Callum Draper, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

11 Darcy Poulter, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

10 Brayden Baines, Mitiamo.

10 Bregon Cotchett, Inglewood.

10 Brandon Dimech, Maiden Gully YCW.

10 Harry Gadsden, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

10 Sam Gale, Newbridge.

10 Charlie Ingham, Inglewood.

10 Jake Lawry, Calivil United.

10 Nic Naughton, Bridgewater.