LVFNL Round 11 Football Preview


Sharp-shooter charges toward century

BRIDGEWATER’S gun recruit and full-forward Lachlan Sharp could bring up the century mark in this Saturday’s round 11 action in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley senior footy season.

Sharp will start the day needing 14 goals to reach another ton as Bridgewater hosts Maiden Gully YCW Eagles.

A tally of 45 goals across his past three games has Sharp on track to reach another milestone in his brilliant career.

The league’s goalkicking race is led by Bears-Lagoon Serpentine’s Josh Mellington with 93.

A hamstring injury sustained in the Bears latest win at Pyramid Hill has put Mellington on the sidelines for a few weeks.

Second in the premiership race, Bridgewater was at its ruthless best in last Saturday’s win at Walker’s Doughnuts Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

The Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater has plenty of experience and skill with Jon and Lee Coghlan, Andy Collins, Josh Martyn, and Alex Pollock in action.

Other players to watch for the Mean Machine include Harry Conway, Jack Neylon, Zane Hoiles and Nic Naughton.

Massive challenge for the Shawn Filo and Angus Monfries-coached Maiden Gully YCW.

The Eagles will need big games from the likes of Josh Worsley, Bryce Franzini, Ed Crisp, Todd Delaney, Ryan Strauch and Haidyn Minnis.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine will tackle Inglewood at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

The Jake Wilkinson-coached Bears jumped to the third rung following a seven-point win at Pyramid Hill’s Mitchell Park.

In-form players for BLS include former coach Justin Laird, Tyler Miles, Doolan Nihill and Nathan Twigg.

The Bears squad includes Charlie Gadsden, Andy Gladman, Ryan Prendergast and Ross Turner.

Back in round two, Inglewood was held to a score of 40 points in a 58-point loss to the Bears at Centre State Scaffolding Oval.

The Fergus Payne-coached Blues will be determined to mark their fourth win of the season.

Inglewood’s team includes the skilful Liam Marciano, the in-form Will Allen (#1), Thomas Kennedy, Keelan Payne, Cody Stobaus, Gave Nevins and Mitch Conlan.

Calivil United will be back home at Calivil to play a Pyramid Hill line-up on the rebound from defeat.

Huge challenge for the Anthony Dennis-coached Calivil United.

A key for the Demons will be controlling play through midfield.

Calivil United will look to Sam Maher, Sam Green and Liam Stephens to lead the way.

In defence the Demons have Jordan Lea, Darcy Thompson, Kane Shelton and Rhys Lourie to take on Zach Alford, Jesse Sheahan, Jaydon Cowling and Seb Relouw.

Calivil United’s attack is led by Anthony Dennis, Ben Baker and Hamish McGregor.

The Demons will also look for a big game from the talented Justin Hynes.

A Pyramid Hill team coached by Nathan Fitzpatrick will be determined to lift its game.

Players to watch in the red, white and blue include Damon Hemphill, ruckman Lachlan Sidebottom, captain Steven Gunther, Bailey George and Brad Ladson.

The unbeaten Marong faces Newbridge at Marong’s Malone Park.

Competition for spots in Marong’s best 22 is really strong.

Although in the twilight of his career, Panthers’ forward Kain Robins still has a significant impact in every match.

A Marong attack that includes Kain Robins, Ryan Wellington, Jonty Davis and Noah McCaig will test the Maroons.

On-ball duels will be crucial.

Marong has Billy Stewart, Lachlan Lee and Corey Gregg up against Will Copland, Caleb Argus and Ben McKinley.

One of the recruits of the year, McKinley did play at Marong before he crossed to Dunolly and then to Newbridge.

The Sam Gale and Daniel Smith-coached Maroons will look to Andrew Padbury and Chris Dixon to capitalise on what may be limited scoring chances.

Newbridge’s line-up includes Tyler McLeod, captain Dylan Lloyd and Tyler Constable.

Mitiamo has the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 402 per cent, 36 points; Bridgewater 200, 28; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 162, 28; Pyramid Hill 280, 24; Newbridge 66, 12; Inglewood 58, 12; Calivil United 56, 12; Maiden  Gully YCW 33, 0; Mitiamo 31, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

93 Josh Mellington, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

86 Lachlan Sharp, Bridgewater.

37 Kain Robins, Marong.

33 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

28 Ryan Wellington, Marong.

26 Jesse Sheahan, Pyramid Hill.

20 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

20 Bailey Scott, Pyramid Hill.

19 Noah McCaig, Marong.

19 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

17 Mitch Conlan, Inglewood.

17 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

14 Anthony Dennis, Calivil United.

14 Matt Riordan, Marong.

13 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

12 Andy Collins, Bridgewater.

12 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

11 Steven Gunther, Pyramid Hill.

11 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

10 Todd Delaney, Maiden Gully YCW.

10 Will Farrer, Maiden Gully YCW.

10 Alex Lloyd, Mitiamo.

10 Andrew Padbury, Newbridge.

10 Daniel Polack, Inglewood.