LVFNL Round 12 Football Review | Bulldogs mark crucial win at Serpentine


PYRAMID Hill gained a psychological edge on Bears-Lagoon Serpentine, but only just in Saturday’s 12th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL season.

In what may be a prelude to a qualifying final it was the second-placed Pyramid Hill gainst the third-placed BLS at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

The Justin Laird-coached Bears made a great start to lead 20-9 at quarter-time.

In the second it was the Bulldogs who lifted their play to score 6.1 to 4.0.

By half-time the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill led 46-44.

Seven goals to three in the third term put the Dogs in control of the match.

The Bears fought back brilliantly to score 4.4 to 1.3 in the last.

A great match ended in 15.10 (100) to 14.10 (94) victory for Pyramid Hill.

Zach Alford was superb in the Dogs’ attack as he kicked five goals.

Other multiple goalkickers were Bailey George, three; and Mitch Dingwall, two.

The Bears’ attack was led by James Rippingale, four; James Bailey, three; Harry Gadsden and Andy Gladman, two.

Best for Pyramid Hill were Bryden Morison, Zac Dingwall, Zach Alford, Adrian Holland, Jesse Sheahan and Gavin James.

Harry Gadsden, James Rippingale, Charlie Gadsden, Aidan Brohm, Justin Laird and Ryan Prendergast were best for the Bears.

In what was a likely prelude to an elimination final, Bridgewater was at home to take on Inglewood.

The Darrell Billett-coached Inglewood led 24-10 at quarter-time and 41-32 by the main break.

The Blues began the final quarter with a lead of 14 points and then scored 3.6 to 2.1 in the last to complete a 73-48 victory against the Mean Machine.

Bowen Cauchi, Traiton Kendal and Keelan Payne all kicked two goals for Inglewood.

Lachlan Cohen kicked two majors for Bridgewater.

The Mean Machine was without captain and star forward Josh Martyn for this match.

Best for the Blues were Thomas Kennedy, Sam Polack, Fergus Payne, Daniel Polack, Jaspa Wendels and Callum March.

Ben Derrick, Nic Naughton, Lachlan Cohen, Brayden Stepien, Jack Symons and James Naughton played well for the Rick Ladson-coached Mean Machine.

Inglewood and Bridgewater are now locked on identical win-loss tallies of 6-5, but the Blue are 13 per cent clear of the Mean Machine.

Mitiamo marked its second win of the season and in the process moved off the bottom of the ladder.

The Jon Varcoe-coached Superoos were on home turf at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval to take on Maiden Gully YCW Eagles.

Mitiamo led 17-6 at quarter-time, but it was the Jay McDonald-coached Eagles who dominated the second term to add 4.3 to 1.3 to lead by seven points at the main break.

Led by the play of captain Luke Lougoon, experienced on-baller Doug Thomas and Daniel Walters, Mitiamo unleashed one of its best terms of the season.

The Superoos scored 5.4 to a goal in the third.

A 21-point lead going into the final term became 34 at the final siren as Mitiamo added 4.2 to 2.1 for an 86-52 victory.

Doug Thomas and Daniel Walters kicked three goals apiece for the Superoos.

The Eagles’ attack was led by Joey Doolan and Tyler Miles on two each.

Mitiamo’s best included Eli Spiers, Zac Morrison and Dylan Clohesy.

Best for Maiden Gully YCW were Jay McDonald, Hamish McCartney, Nathan Murley, Tyler Miles, Brandon Dimech and assistant coach Damian Wust.

Marong put in another ruthless performance on Newbridge’s turf at Beck Legal Riverside Oval.

The Panthers scored 10.5 to nil in the first term and then 5.4 to 1.1 in the second.

Despite a 92-point lead at the long break the Panthers’ intensity and run did not drop away as they scored 9.2 in the third quarter as Newbridge added two goals.

Gun forward Brandyn Grenfell went on to kick 10 goals and Matt Riordan was also superb with eight as Marong marked a 28.15 (183) to 7.3 (45) victory.

The league’s record-holder of 154 goals in last year’s run to premiership glory, Grenfell has now moved to 77 this season.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Linton Jacobs-coached Panthers were Ryley Taylor, three; Kyle Manley and Jack McCaig, two.

The Newbridge attack was led by Chris Dixon and Kynan Gard on two.

Best for Marong were Matt Willox, Matt Riordan, Brandyn Grenfell, Jack McCaig, Nathan Devanny and Jimmy Gadsden.

Tyler McLeod, Caleb Argus, Caleb Sanders, William Copland, Will Daly and Jack Langtree were best for a Newbridge team coached by Sam Gale and Daniel Smith.

Calivil United had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 581 per cent, 44 points; Pyramid Hill 195, 36; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 120, 32; Inglewood 106, 24; Bridgewater 93, 24; Calivil United 59, 8; Maiden Gully YCW 47.9, 8; Mitiamo 47.4, 8; Newbridge 40, 8.

Top teams Marong and Pyramid Hill meet in next Saturday’s 13th round at Pyramid Hill’s Mitchell Park.

In round four it was Marong which beat the Bulldogs by seven goals at Malone Park.

In other matches next Saturday, Newbridge is at home to face Bridgewater in the battle of the bridges at Beck Legal Riverside Oval.

Inglewood tackles Mitiamo at Inglewood’s Dissy Machinery Oval.

Calivil United hosts Bears Lagoon-Serpentine at Calivil Recreation Reserve.

The Bears clawed their way to a 106-99 victory at home against the Demons in the fourth round.

Maiden Gully YCW has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

77 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

40 Kain Robins, Marong.

39 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

34 Matt Riordan, Marong.

30 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

29 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

26 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

24 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

23 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

22 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

19 Jack McCaig, Marong.

19 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

19 Will Perryman, Pyramid Hill.

18 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

17 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

17 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

17 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

15 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

14 Mitch Dingwall, Pyramid Hill.

14 Daniel Polack, Inglewood.

13 Dylan Collis, Pyramid Hill.

13 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

13 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

12 Harry Gadsden, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

11 Brayden Baines, Mitiamo.

11 Bregon Cotchett, Inglewood.

11 Brandon Dimech, Maiden Gully YCW.

11 Callum Draper, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

11 Nic Naughton, Bridgewater.

11 Darcy Poulter, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

10 Sam Gale, Newbridge.

10 Charlie Ingham, Inglewood.

10 Jake Lawry, Calivil United.

10 Caleb Sanders, Newbridge.