LVFNL Round 12 Football Review


Pyramid Hill ends Marong’s unbeaten run

PYRAMID Hill ended Marong’s incredible winning streak in Saturday’s 12th round of the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL senior footy action.

Down the road at Inglewood it was the time for Bridgewater star Lachlan Sharp to be in the spotlight as he kicked his 100th goal.

A first-year player with the Mean Machine, Sharp had twice passed the century mark in a brilliant career with Strathfieldsaye Storm in the Bendigo FNL.

In a rematch of last season’s Loddon Valley grand finalists it was Pyramid Hill which fought on for a 71-66 victory on home turf at Mitchell Park against the Panthers.

When the clubs met earlier in the season the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Bulldogs went close as they finished within eight points at East West Oval in Marong’s Malone Park.

This time the red, white and blue withstood a spirited final quarter fightback to claim the four premiership points and gain a huge lift in confidence approaching another finals campaign.

A closely-fought first half ended with the Bulldogs in front, 40-34.

Five straight goals in the third as it held the Panthers to a tally of 1.3 gave the home team a 27-point buffer going into the final term.

Desperate to bring up a 43rd consecutive win, Marong fought back brilliantly.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Panthers scored three goals and held the Dogs to a point.

At the final siren the Bulldogs were up 71-66.

Bailey George led Pyramid Hill’s attack on three goals as Harding medallist Dylan Collis and Jesse Sheahan kicked two goals.

Playing the 451st senior match of a remarkable career, Kain Robins kicked a match-high five goals for Marong as Ben Gregg chipped in with two.

Best for Pyramid Hill were Tom McGregor, Bailey George, Ben Knight, Damon Hemphill, Bryden and Dylan Morison.

The Panthers’ best were Brodie Hartland, Lachlan Frankel, Ben Gregg, Kain Robins, Corey Gregg and Nathan Devanny.

Inglewood faced a huge task against Bridgewater.

Although the Blues were on home turf at Inglewood’s Centre State Scaffolding it was the visitors who dominated most of the contest.

Lachlan Sharp went into the match needing nine goals to reach the century mark.

He achieved the feat in the final quarter as the Mean Machine motored to a 155-53 victory.

A great sign for the Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater was the spread of goalkickers led by Sharp, nine; Harry Conway and captain Josh Martyn, four; Michael Brooks and Jack Neylon, two.

Inglewood’s attack was led by Will Allen (wearing number 58), and Deklen Gorrie on two.

Best for Bridgewater were Joseph Mayes, Jack Neylon, Lachlan Sharp, Lee Coghlan, Darcy Wood and Boden Alexander.

Mitch Conlan, Luke Matheson, Sam Gorrie, Cody Stobaus, Lachlan Ford and Deklen Gorrie worked hard for the Fergus Payne-coached Blues.

A third-quarter blitz of eight goals set up Maiden Gully YCW Eagles win against Mitiamo at Marist College Oval in Maiden Gully.

The Eagles led 18-14 at quarter-time and 42-23 by the main break.

Play opened right up in the third stanza as Maiden Gully YCW slammed on 8.2 as the Superoos scored three goals.

At a quarter to play the Eagles led 92-41.

A high-scoring final term went the way of Maiden Gully YCW, 33-27, to complete a 125-68 victory.

It was a third win of the season for the Shawn Filo and Angus Monfries-coached Eagles.

The club was docked 12 premiership points before the season started for not fielding an under-18s team.

Leaders of the Eagles’ attack in Saturday’s triumph were Declan Phyland, three; Ed Crisp, Xavier Emmerson, Josiah Farrer, Ryan Strauch and Dylan Turner on two.

Mason Hocking kicked three goals for Mitiamo as Liam Shiell added two.

The 211 games of AFL experience Angus Monfries brings from stints with Essendon and Port Adelaide is a huge plus for Maiden Gully YCW.

Monfries was best afield in Saturday’s win as Jack McHutchison, Ed Crisp, Thomas Pridgeon, Josiah Farrer and captain Josh Worsley played key roles in the Eagles’ victory.

Best for the Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo were Zach Morrison, captain Luke Lougoon, Zak Myers, Josh Diss, Oscar and Mason Hocking.

Newbridge could not halt Bears-Lagoon Serpentine charging to a 101-point win.

Although Newbridge had home ground advantage at Walker’s Doughnuts Riverside Oval it was the BLS line-up which dominated most of the contest.

The Bears charged to a 37-8 lead by quarter-time and then added another six goals in the second.

By the main break the team in purple and gold led by 58 points.

Quarter three was the most even of the match as the Jake Wilkinson-coached Bears scored five goals straight and Newbridge replied with 3.3.

The Bears finished with plenty of run as they added 6.1 in the last and held the Maroons to a tally of three behinds.

With gun forward Josh Mellington sidelined by a hamstring injury it was Farran Priest who stepped up to kicked 13 goals for the Bears.

Other multiple goalkickers were Andy Gladman and Ross Turner on three each.

The Newbridge attack was led by Thomas Hobson with three.

Best for the third-placed Bears were Farran Priest, Doolan Nihill, James Bailey, Charlie Gadsden, Ross Turner and Jeremy Hancock.

Thomas Hobson, Kobe Friswell, Ricky Cathie, Lachie Costelow, Brandon Etherington and Tyler McLeod were best for the Sam Gale and Daniel Smith-coached Newbridge.

Calivil United had the bye.

Loddon Valley senior footy ladder:

Marong 333 per cent, 40 points; Bridgewater 207, 36; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 178, 36; Pyramid Hill 256, 32; Newbridge 60, 12; Calivil United 54, 12; Inglewood 53, 12; Maiden Gully YCW 43, 0; Mitiamo 33, 0.

In next Saturday’s 13th round it will be Bridgewater at home against Pyramid Hill in the match of the day.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine faces a Marong line-up on the rebound from defeat when they clash at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

Newbridge takes on Inglewood at Walker’s Doughnuts Riverside Oval.

Mitiamo and Calivil United clash at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval.

Maiden Gully YCW has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

100 Lachlan Sharp, Bridgewater.

93 Josh Mellington, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

43 Kain Robins, Marong.

37 Jesse Sheahan, Pyramid Hill.

36 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

30 Ryan Wellington, Marong.

23 Noah McCaig, Marong.

22 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

21 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

20 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

20 Farran Priest, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

20 Bailey Scott, Pyramid Hill.

19 Mitch Conlan, Inglewood.

17 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

14 Anthony Dennis, Calivil United.

14 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

14 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

14 Matt Riordan, Marong.

13 Andy Collins, Bridgewater.

13 Harry Conway, Bridgewater.

12 Jack McCaig, Marong.

12 Jack Neylon, Bridgewater.

12 Andrew Padbury, Newbridge.

12 Declan Phyland, Maiden Gully YCW.

11 Steven Gunther, Pyramid Hill.

11 Damon Hemphill, Pyramid Hill.

11 Lachlan Lee, Marong.

11 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

10 Todd Delaney, Maiden Gully YCW.

10 Will Farrer, Maiden Gully YCW.

10 Alex Lloyd, Mitiamo.

10 Liam Marciano, Inglewood.

10 Daniel Polack, Inglewood.