LVFNL round 13 Football Review | Shock results across the Loddon Valley


THERE were three shock results across Saturday’s 13th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL season.

A win for Marong was not surprising, but the margin was as the Panthers beat Pyramid Hill by 20 goals on the Bulldogs’ turf at Mitchell Park.

Top-five teams Inglewood and Bridgewater were outplayed by Mitiamo and Newbridge respectively.

In a clash between the league’s top two it was the unbeaten Marong which dominated from the first contest until the last at Pyramid Hill.

For a lot of the season the focus on the Marong line-up was on its formidable forward line.

In this round it was the Panthers defensive play which was incredible.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Marong scored 19 goals in this match, but more noteworthy was holding the Bulldogs to a tally of four behinds.

It was an amazing result as the only previous defeat for the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill was at Marong’s Malone Park in round four.

In the return match, Marong led 27-2 at quarter-time and then scored 6.3 to nil in the second.

A 63-point lead at the long break was 82 by the last.

Ryley Taylor went on to kick six goals as Brandyn Grenfell booted four and Nathan Devanny and Kain Robins chipped in with two in a 124-4 victory.

Best for Marong were Richard Tibbett, captain Corey Gregg, Michael Bradbury, Ryley Taylor, Nathan Devanny and Trent Fisher.

Dylan Morison, Seb Relouw, Zac Dingwall, Bryden Morison, Gavin James and Adrian Holland were the Bulldogs’ best.

Mitiamo marked a 67-point win against Inglewood at Dissy Machinery Oval.

It was a remarkable turnaround as Inglewood had won the round four match at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval by 123 points.

This time it was the Jon Varcoe-coached Superoos who turned a seven point lead at quarter-time into a 40-point buffer by the long break after they added 5.4 to a point in the second term.

Mitiamo won the next two quarters, 26-11 and 24-12 to complete a stunning 106-39 victory against the Darrell Billett-coached Blues.

Jay Reynolds marked a superb match by kicking nine goals for Mitiamo as Andrew Cussen added two.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Inglewood.

Mitiamo’s best were Jay Reynolds, Luke Lougoon, Ross Turner, Dylan Clohesy, Andrew Cussen and Doug Thomas.

Cody Wright, Bregon Cotchett, Thomas Kennedy, Jayden Leach, Fergus Payne and Deklen Gorrie were Inglewood’s best.

Newbridge dominated the first half of its home game against Bridgewater at Beck Legal Riverside Oval.

The Maroons led 10-1 at quarter-time and then scored 3.3 to 1.2 in the second.

Bridgewater hit back to win the third term, 25-14, but it was the Sam Gale and Daniel Smith-coached Newbridge which had all the answers in the final term.

The Maroons scored 4.2 to 3.1 in the last for a 70-53 victory.

Captain Angus Fortune led Newbridge’s attack on three goals as Chris Dixon added two.

Lachlan Cohen kicked two goals for Bridgewater.

Newbridge’s best were William Copland, Tyler McLeod, Caleb Argus, Dylan Lloyd, Caleb Sanders and Dylan Stevens.

Harry Donegan, Nic and James Naughton, Charlton Hindle, Oliver Muggleton and Lachlan Cohen were best for the Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine scored a 100-point win against Calivil United at Calivil.

The Bears led 35-13 at quarter-time and then scored six, seven and five goals across the next three.

At the final siren the Justin Laird-coached Bears led 23.15 (153) to 8.5 (53).

The attack was led by Laird and Kyal Zass on four goals apiece as Andy Gladman added three.

Other multiple goalkickers for BLS were James Bailey, Harry Gadsden, Nash Kemp and James Rippingale on two.

The Demons’ attack was led by Mitch Avard and Jake Lawry on two.

Best for the Bears were Aidan Brohm, Justin Laird, Charlie Gadsden, Louis Mott, Bailey Harrison and Harry Gadsden.

Cody Thompson, Mitch Avard, Lachlan Brook, Evan Ritchie, Tom Martin and Hamish Wall worked hard for the Anthony Dennis-coached Demons.

Maiden Gully YCW had the bye.

In next Saturday’s round 14 action, Newbridge takes on Mitiamo at Beck Legal Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

Bridgewater is on home turf to play Pyramid Hill.

Maiden Gully YCW tackles Inglewood at Marist College Bendigo.

Marong meets Calivil United at Marong’s Malone Park.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine has the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 613 per cent, 48 points; Pyramid Hill 161, 36; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 130, 36; Inglewood 100, 24; Bridgewater 92, 24; Mitiamo 54, 12; Newbridge 44, 12; Calivil United 56, 8; Maiden Gully YCW 47, 8.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

81 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

42 Kain Robins, Marong.

39 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

35 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

34 Matt Riordan, Marong.

30 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

29 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

27 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

26 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

24 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

22 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

20 Jack McCaig, Marong.

20 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

19 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

18 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

18 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

17 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

15 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

15 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.