LVFNL Round 14 Football Preview | Newbridge faces test against in-form Mitiamo at Riverside


AFTER stunning upsets last round, Newbridge and Mitiamo meet in this Saturday’s 14th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL season.

Both teams are locked on 12 premiership points as they take to Beck Legal Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

It’s the third time this season Newbridge will chase back-to-back wins.

Previous two attempts ended in defeat.

Mitiamo is eyeing a hat-trick of victories after a 34-point win against Maiden Gully YCW was followed by last Saturday’s 11-goal triumph on Inglewood’s Dissy Machinery Oval.

Newbridge also rocked a top-five team as the Maroons beat Bridgewater, 70-53 at home.

When Mitiamo faced Newbridge at John Forbes Oval in round five it was the Maroons who claimed a 31-point victory.

Best for Newbridge in its latest win were Will Copland, Tyler McLeod and Caleb Argus.

The Maroons’ squad led by coach Sam Gale and non-playing coach Daniel Smith to tackle the Superoos includes co-captains Will Daly and Angus Fortune, Chris Dixon, Aidan Moore, Caleb Sanders and Dylan Stevens.

A key to Newbridge’s chances will be the match-up in defence against Jay Reynolds.

A nine-goal haul earned Reynolds best-on-ground honours against Inglewood.

The Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo also has captain Luke Lougoon, Ross Turner and Dylan Clohesy in great form.

Add the skill of Brayden Baines, Andrew Cussen, Kobe Galvin and Doug Thomas and Mitiamo will test Newbridge all match.

Stung by a big defeat at home, Pyramid Hill makes its way to Bridgewater.

The Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill will be desperate to bounce back after scoring just four behinds in a 20-goal loss to Marong last Saturday.

A 9-2 run by the Bulldogs includes the round five win against Bridgewater by 46 points.

Key players for Pyramid Hill include Bryden and Dylan Morison, ruckman Adrian Holland, Gavin James and Seb Relouw.

The Bulldogs also have Zach Alford, Bailey George, Billy Micevski and Declan Slingo.

Fifth in the premiership race, Bridgewater will be fired up to beat a top-four opponent.

The Rick Ladson-coached Mean Machine was outpointed at Newbridge last round.

Key players in the red and white include Harry Donegan, Charlton Hindle, James and Nic Naughton.

Bridgewater also has the sprinting prowess of Oliver Muggleton who was runner-up in last summer’s Bendigo Gift, and Darcy Wood has had a superb season.

After the bye, Maiden Gully YCW is back in action at Marist College Bendigo to take on Inglewood.

The Blues beat the Eagles by 49 points at Inglewood in round five.

Latest hit-out for Maiden Gully YCW ended in a 34-point loss at Mitiamo.

Best for the Eagles in that contest were coach Jay McDonald, Hamish McCartney, Nathan Murley, Tyler Miles, Brandon Dimech and assistant coach Damian Wust.

The Darrell Billett-coached Inglewood will be determined to bounce back from a big loss to Mitiamo.

A 6-6 record has put the Blues in fourth place.

Key players for Inglewood include Bregon Cotchett, Thomas Kennedy and Cody Wright.

The Blues will also look for big games from the likes of Daniel and Sam Polack, Jack Nevins, Fergus and Keelan Payne, and Jaspa Wendels.

Unbeaten reigning premier Marong is back home at Malone Park to face Calivil United.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Panthers have become more ruthless as the season has rolled on.

Last Saturday the Panthers held Pyramid Hill to just four points.

It was the fourth time this season Marong has held an opponent to a single digit score.

The run includes holding Calivil United to a score of 0.2 in round five.

Marong’s line-up to tackle the Demons includes captain Corey Gregg, Richard Tibbett, gun forwards Brandyn Grenfell and Kain Robins, ruckman Michael Bradbury, Jimmy Gadsden and Matt Willock.

Another massive task for the Anthony Dennis-coached Calivil United.

Best for the Demons in last week’s clash with Bears-Lagoon Serpentine were Mitch Avard, Lachlan Brook, Evan Ritchie and Cody Thompson.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine has the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 613 per cent, 48 points; Pyramid Hill 161, 36; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 130, 36; Inglewood 100, 24; Bridgewater 92, 24; Mitiamo 54, 12; Newbridge 44, 12; Calivil United 56, 8; Maiden Gully YCW 47, 8.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

81 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

42 Kain Robins, Marong.

39 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

35 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

34 Matt Riordan, Marong.

30 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

29 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

27 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

26 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

24 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

22 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

20 Jack McCaig, Marong.

20 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

19 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

19 Will Perryman, Pyramid Hill.

18 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

18 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

17 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

15 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

15 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.