LVFNL Round 18 Football Preview | Marong reflects on Annette Grant’s outstanding contribution


MARONG Football Netball Club will honour the late Annette Grant when it plays Mitiamo in Saturday’s Memorial Round at East West Oval in Marong’s Malone Park.

A long-time member of Marong FNC, Annette coached and played 151 games of netball and was a dual premiership player with the Panthers.

A club champion, Annette also raised five children and spent more than 10 years as valued member of the netball committee.

Annette latest took on the tasks as secretary and treasurer of the club.

Marong and Mitiamo FNC have teamed up for the past few seasons to host Annette Grant Memorial Round and to raise funds and promote awareness of Pancreatic cancer.

On the football field, Marong is a win away from a perfect 16-nil run to the finals series.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Panthers will start hot favourites against Mitiamo.

A goal for Mitiamo will be for the margin to be less than 100 points.

That’s a feat no rival has achieved against Marong in the second half of the season.

A formidable Marong line-up includes century goalkicker Brandyn Grenfell, along with Kain Robins, Matt Riordan  and Ryley Taylor.

Jacob Ede kicked five to be the Panthers’ leading goalkicker in last Saturday’s win against Bridgewater.

Players to watch for Marong include Matt Grant, ruckman Michael Bradbury, Jack and Noah McCaig, and Richard Tibbett.

Huge challenge for Mitiamo which was on the end of a 30-goal drubbing from Marong at John Forbes Oval in round nine.

The Superoos are on the rebound from a 62-point loss to Bears-Lagoon Serpentine in a contest where Andrew Cussen kicked three goals and Brayden Baines added two.

Mitiamo’s workrate at centre clearances and stoppages will be crucial.

The Superoos will be determined to not allow Marong an easy run to its forward 50m arc and to hit targets with ease.

Key players for Mitiamo include captain Luke Lougoon, Dylan Clohesy, Zac Morrison, Ross Turner, and Jay Reynolds.

Newbridge will complete its season at Beck Legal Riverside Oval by taking on Pyramid Hill.

Big test for the Sam Gale and Daniel Smith-coached Newbridge against the second-placed Bulldogs.

The Maroons had the bye last round.

Newbridge will be determined to keep the heat on the Bulldogs all match.

In round nine, Pyramid Hill beat the Maroons by 97 points.

Among the most consistent for Newbridge this season have been Dylan Lloyd and Tyler McLeod.

The Maroons’ team to tackle Pyramid Hill includes co-captains Will Daly and Angus Fortune,. Chris Dixon, David Romer, Caleb Sanders, Caleb Argus, Corey Van Aken, and Aidan Moore.

After a six-goal haul in the win at Inglewood’s Dissy Machinery Oval, Pyramid Hill’s Will Perryman will test Newbridge’s defence.

Other targets in attack for the red, white and blue are Zach Alford, Jesse Sheahan and Jack Woodward.

Midfielder Seb Relouw, Tom McGregor, Thomas Hetherington and ruckman Lachlan Sidebottom were among the Bulldogs’ best against Inglewood.

A talented Bulldogs line-up coached by Nathan Fitzpatrick includes Dylan Collis, captain Steven Gunther, Gavin James, Billy Micevski, and Declan Slingo.

Calivil United is on home turf at Calivil against Inglewood.

The Anthony Dennis-coached Demons will be aiming to end the season with a strong performance.

For Inglewood it’s an important hit-out going into its first finals series since 2003.

A fired-up Demons team will look to Mitch Avard, Jake Lawry, Rhys Lourie, Jack Maher, Kane Newton, Thomas Piazza and Cody Thompson to lead the way.

Calivil United also has the experience of Henry Miller and Evan Ritchie.

Tough ask to beat the Darrell Billett-coached Blues.

Players to watch for Inglewood include centreman Bregon Cotchett, ruckman Jayden Leach, Fergus and Keelan Payne and Cody Stobaus.

The Blues also have Charlie Ingham, Traiton Kendal, Luke Matheson, Daniel Polack and Jaspa Wendels.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine tackles Maiden Gully YCW Eagles at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

The Bears will be wary of a team it beat by just 25 points in round nine.

It’s also the Eagles’ final hit-out of the season.

The Justin Laird-coached Bears may have too much scoring power through the likes of James Rippingale, Harry Gadsden and James Bailey.

Best for BLS in the win at Mitiamo last round were Harry Gadsden, James Bailey, Justin Laird, Anthony Lewin, James Rippingale and Beau Roy-Clements.

In a season where he has missed a few matches because of representing Philippines on the cricket field, Miggy Podosky is back in the BLS footy team.

The Jay McDonald-coached Eagles will be keen to mark a fourth victory and chance to climb off the bottom rung.

Brandon Dimech kicked four goals in the win against Calivil United to be among the best.

Other key players for the Eagles include Tyler Miles, Sam Keneally, Brandon Dimech, Corey Walsh, Hamish McCartney and Mathew Crooks.

Bridgewater has the bye.

The Rick Ladson-coached Mean Machine will play in the elimination final on August 20 on Newbridge’s turf at Beck Legal Riverside Oval.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 605 per cent, 60 points; Pyramid Hill 176, 52; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 119, 44; Inglewood 105, 32; Bridgewater 75, 28; Mitiamo 57, 16; Newbridge 48, 16; Calivil United 57, 12; Maiden Gully YCW 54, 12.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

103 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

46 Kain Robins, Marong.

42 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

39 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

34 Will Perryman, Pyramid Hill.

34 Matt Riordan, Marong.

33 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

30 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

30 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

30 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

30 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

28 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

24 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

24 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

23 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

22 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

22 Brandon Dimech, Maiden Gully YCW.

22 Jesse Sheahan, Pyramid Hill.

21 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

20 Jack McCaig, Marong.

19 Brayden Baines, Mitiamo.

19 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

19 Harry Gadsden, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

18 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

18 Kyle Manley, Marong.

18 Daniel Polack, Inglewood.

17 Caleb Sanders, Newbridge.

16 Jake Lawry, Calivil United.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

15 Tyler Miles, Maiden Gully YCW.

15 James Rippingale, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

15 Caleb Sanders, Newbridge.

14 Bregon Cotchett, Inglewood.

14 Mitch Dingwall, Pyramid Hill.

14 Callum Draper, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

14 Nic Naughton, Bridgewater.

13 Dylan Collis, Pyramid Hill.