LVFNL Round 2 Football Review


Gun goalkickers in superb form

GUN goalkickers Josh Mellington and Lachlan Sharp have hit the 20-mark for Bears-Lagoon Serpentine and Bridgewater just two rounds into the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL senior footy season.

Recruited by the Bears from Benalla, Mellington’s experience at AFL level with Fremantle has shone through in the opening two rounds.

Mellington followed up a 10-goal haul in round one by repeating the feat in Saturday’s clash with Inglewood at Centre State Scaffolding in Inglewood.

The Bears raced to a 45-19 lead by quarter-time before Inglewood hit back to win the second term, 12-10.

Inspired by the play of Josh Mellington, Justin Laird and Doolan Nihill, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine scored 5.3 to 1.2 in the third.

A 49-point victory going into the last was 58 by the finish.

Mellington was best afield in the 98-40 victory.

Mitch Conlan kicked three goals for the Blues.

Best for the Jake Wilkinson-coached Bears included Josh Taig, Charlie Gadsden and Bailey Harrison.

Conlan, Will Allen, Lachlan Ford, Liam Marciano, Cody Stobaus and Matthew Rowe were best for the Fergus Payne-coached Inglewood.

It was another ruthless performance by Marong on Newbridge’s turf at Walker’s Doughnuts Riverside Oval.

Premiers of the past two seasons, Marong slammed on 8.6 to a goal in the first term.

The margin was 71 by half-time.

Just as impressive as Marong’s attack was the defensive workrate to limit Newbridge to a goal by three quarter-time.

Noah McCaig, Kain Robins and Ryan Wellington all kicked four goals as Marong ran out winners, 172-15.

Best for the the Linton Jacobs-coached Panthers were ruckman Michael Bradbury, Jonty Davis, Ben Gregg, Ryan Wellington, Noah McCaig and David Johnstone.

It was a tough hit-out for the Sam Gale and Daniel Smith-coached Newbridge.

Best for the Maroons were Will Daly, Lachie Costelow, Jackson Hufer, Tyler McLeod, Tyler Constable and Dylan Lloyd.

Pyramid Hill bounced back from defeat to score a 200-point win against Calivil United.

The Bulldogs had 55 scoring shots as they won 220 to 20.

Jesse Sheahan and Bailey Scott led the attack on seven and six goals as Jaydon Cowling, five, and Zach Alford, four, capped off moves into the 50m arc.

Best for the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill were Tom McGregor, captain Steven Gunther, Jesse Sheahan, Gavin James, Ben Knight and Jaydon Cowling.

Sam Green, Hamish McGregor, Sam Maher, coach Anthony Dennis, Dan Canfield and Liam Stephens were the Demons best.

The day’s play was completed with a night match between Maiden Gully YCW Eagles and Bridgewater at Marist College Oval in Maiden Gully.

The Shawn Filo and Angus Monfries-coached Eagles played well to be within 10 points at quarter-time.

From there the Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater clicked up a few gears.

Bridgewater won the second, 38-8, and the third, 27-6.

Highest scoring term for the Machine was the last in which is slammed on 7.4 to 2.0.

A multiple Ron Best medallist as leading goalkicker in the Bendigo FNL when at Strathfieldsaye, Lachlan Sharp kicked 12 goals in this match.

Other multiple goalkickers for Bridgewater were Lee Coghlan, Harry Conway and Xavier Walsh on two.

The Eagles’ attack was led by Todd Delaney on five.

Bridgewater’s best were Jack Neylon, Boden Alexander, Xavier Walsh, Lachlan Sharp, Ben Derrick and Harry Donegan.

Angus Monfries, Josh Worsley, Todd Delany, Thomas Birch, Declan Phyland and Luke Deslandes were best for the Eagles.

Mitiamo had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 1421 per cent, 8 points; Bridgewater 191, 8; Bears Lagoon-Serpentine 153, 8; Pyramid Hill 240, 4; Maiden Gully YCW 56, 0; Inglewood 40, 0; Newbridge 35, 0; Calivil United 24, 0; Mitiamo 5, 0.

Highlight of Saturday’s third round will be the rematch of ’23 grand finalists Marong and Pyramid Hill at Marong’s Malone Park from 2.15pm.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine tackles Newbridge at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

Bridgewater hosts Inglewood.

Mitiamo takes on Maiden Gully YCW Eagles at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval.

Calivil United has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

20 Josh Mellington, Bears Lagoon-Serpentine.

20 Lachlan Sharp, Bridgewater.

9 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

9 Jesse Sheahan, Pyramid Hill.

7 Ryan Wellington, Marong.

6 Todd Delaney, Maiden Gully YCW.

6 Noah McCaig, Marong.

6 Kain Robins, Marong.

6 Bailey Scott, Pyramid Hill.

6 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

5 Jaydon Cowling, Pyramid Hill.

4 Lee Coghlan, Bridgewater.

4 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

4 Farran Priest, Bears Lagoon-Serpentine.