LVFNL Round 6 Football Review | Eagles win tough contest with Newbridge


MAIDEN Gully YCW Eagles withstood a spirited challenge from Newbridge to mark a one-goal victory in Saturday’s sixth round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL season.

The Eagles were down 30-35 at half-time of the match on their ground at Marist College Bendigo oval in Maiden Gully.

Scores were locked on 50-all by three quarter-time.

In the last it was the Jay McDonald-coached Eagles who scored 2.2 to 1.2 to clinch a 64-58 victory.

Maiden Gully YCW’s attack was led by Brandon Dimech and Tyler Miles on two each.

Chris Dixon and playing coach Sam Gale kicked three goals apiece for Newbridge.

Best for the Eagles were Cooper Hale at half-forward, Jay McDonald, ruckman Matthew Crooks, Brandon Dimech at centre half-forward, Riley Bacon and Grayson Brown.

The competiveness and the second and third efforts by Crooks were a highlight for the Eagles.

Ruck-rover Dylan Stevens, key forwards Kynan Gard and Chris Dixon, wingmen Jack Clark and Aidan Moore and captain Angus Fortune were best for the Maroons.

Newbridge has Daniel Smith as non-playing co-coach.

Although the Maroons have a 1-5 record and are in seventh place they have been extremely competitive, especially the past two rounds.

Marong unleashed another first-quarter blitz against Bears-Lagoon Serpentine at Marong’s Malone Park.

It was first against second going into this round.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Panthers scored 8.2 to 1.1 in the first term and led 79-21 by the main break.

It was a more even contest across the final hour as Marong added 8.7 and the Bears fought on to score 6.4.

Kain Robins kicked four goals in a best afield performance as Marong won 134-61.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Panthers were Brandyn Grenfell, four; Nathan Devanny and Jack McCaig, three.

The Bears’ attack was led by Harry Gadsden, three; James Bailey and Orion Downing, two.

Marong’s best included Richard Tibbett, Nathan Devanny, Lachlan Lee, Brandyn Grenfell and Trent Fisher.

Harry Gadsden, Kyal Zass, Aidan Brohm, Josh Taig, Charlie Gadsden and Nash Kemp played well for the Justin Laird-coached BLS which dropped to the fifth rung on the ladder.

A sign of Marong’s strength is its for tally of 932 and 198 against.

After being in front by just 15 points at half-time, Bridgewater surged clear in the second half to score an 83-40 victory at home against Calivil United.

Bridgewater captain Josh Martyn continued his superb season by kicking six goals as classy on-baller Harry Donegan added two.

Calivil United coach Anthony Dennis and Jake Lawry kicked two goals each.

Best for the Rick Ladson-coached Mean Machine included Darcy Wood, Josh Martyn, Tyler Estrada, Ben Irvine and Jack Symons.

Gun ruckman Justin Hynes was best for Calivil United along with Cody Thompson, Henry and Walter Miller, Rhys Lourie and Ben Baker.

Pyramid Hill dominated play at John Forbes Oval in Mitiamo.

The Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Bulldogs scored 7.4 to 1.1 in the first term and then added 8.9 to 1.1 in the second to lead by 89 points at the long break.

Dylan Collis went on kick three goals in a best afield performance as Pyramid Hill won 27.20 (182) to 3.2 (20).

It’s been a mix of half-forward and on-ball for Collis who has starred in most games for Pyramid Hill.

Bulldogs’ captain Steven Gunther and Thomas Brennan kicked a match-high four goals as Zach Alford and Bailey George chipped in with three.

Other multiple goalkickers for the red, white and blue were Brodie Carroll, Mitch Dingwall and Will Perryman on two.

Mitiamo’s goalkickers were Brayden Baines, Ross Turner and Daniel Walters.

Best for Pyramid Hill included Steven Gunther, Zach Alford, Jesse Sheahan, Brodie Carroll and Harding medallist Billy Micevski.

Ross Turner, Luke Lougoon, Dylan Clohesy, Kobe Galvin, Waylon Draper and Lincon Hocking worked hard for the Jon Varcoe-coached Superoos.

Inglewood had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 470 per cent, 24 points; Pyramid Hill 164, 16; Bridgewater 130, 16; Inglewood 127, 12; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 104, 12; Maiden Gully YCW 71, 8; Newbridge 42, 4; Mitiamo 39, 4; Calivil United 41, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

35 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

33 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

21 Kain Robins, Marong.

16 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

14 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

14 Matt Riordan, Marong.

14 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

13 Jack McCaig, Marong.

12 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

12 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

11 Dylan Collis, Pyramid Hill.

11 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

11 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

10 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

In next Saturday’s round seven action, Maiden Gully YCW Eagles take on Pyramid Hill from 2.15pm at Marist College Bendigo in Maiden Gully.

Inglewood returns from the bye to host Newbridge at Dissy Machinery Oval.

Mitiamo is at home again to tackle Calivil United at John Forbes Oval .

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine faces Bridgewater at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

Marong has the bye.