LVFNL Round 7 Football Review | Bears outplay Bridgewater at Serpentine


BEARS Lagoon-Serpentine beat Bridgewater by 40 points in Saturday’s seventh round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL season.

The Bears made a great start on their turf at Gasden Finance Serpentine Reserve to lead 38-12 at quarter-time.

An evenly-contested second term went the Bears way, 18-13.

The Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater hit back to win the next term, albeit 16-14, before the Bears added 3.2 to 1.3 in the last for a 90-50 victory.

Bears’ coach Justin Laird kicked three goals as James Bailey, Callum Draper and Nash Kemp chipped in with two each.

The BLS defence did well to limit Bridgewater captain and gun forward Josh Martyn to just two goals.

Nick Hall marked his 150th match for the club by kicking two goals as Harry Donegan added two majors.

Best for the Bears were Kyal Zass, Darcy Poulter, Beau Roy-Clements, Aidan Brohm, Zac Stone and Ryan Prendergast.

Bridgewater’s best were Lachlan Allison, Darcy Wood, Jack Symons, Jacob Ellings, Ben Derrick and Emile Pavlich.

A winless run for Calivil United is over after the Demons won at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval by 25 points.

It was the Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo which made a strong start to lead 22-8 at quarter-time.

Calivil United fired up in the second to score 5.4 as it held the Superoos to just four points.

In the third it was Mitiamo which hit back to add 3.1 to 1.1.

The Anthony Dennis-coached Demons started the last leading by four points.

By the final siren the scoreboard read Calivil United 88, Mitiamo 63.

The Demons’ attack was led by Hamish Wall, three; Ben Baker, Anthony Dennis and Jake Lawry on two each.

Mitiamo’s leading goalkicker was Jay Reynolds on seven in a best afield performance.

Best for Calivil United were Evan Ritchie, Rhys Lourie, Brae Mensforth, Hamish Wall, Justin Hynes and Walter Miller.

Mitiamo’s best were Jay Reynolds, Duncan Proud, Luke Lougoon, Max Simpson, Ross Turner and Ethan Hocking.

Inglewood’s winning run hit four after a 135-57 result against Newbridge on the Blues’ turf at Dissy Machinery Oval.

The Blues led 33-19 at quarter-time and then slammed on 7.4 to 1.2 in the second.

Led by the play of Daniel Polack, Sam Dorevitch and Charlie McGaw, Inglewood scored 8.7 to 4.6 in the second half.

McGaw finished with a match-high six goals as Dorevitch, four; Charlie Ingham, Keelan Payne and Daniel Polack, two, were other multiple goalkickers for the Darrell Billett-coached Inglewood.

Chris Dixon kicked three goals for Newbridge as Liam Nihill added two.

The Blues’ best included Gabe Nevins, Cody Stobaus and Keelan Payne.

Dylan Lloyd, Dylan Stevens, Tyler McLeod, Jack Clarke, Matt Giri and Matt Adams were best for a Newbridge team coached by Sam Gale, playing, and Daniel Smith, non-playing.

Pyramid Hill dominated its clash with Maiden Gully YCW Eagles at Marist College Bendigo oval.

The Bulldogs led 35-4 at quarter-time and scored 5.3 to a goal in the second for a 68-18 lead by half-time.

The intensity and run of the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill did not let up in the second half as it added 9.10 and held the Eagles to 1.2.

Bailey George kicked a match-high four goals as Will Perryman, three; Thomas Brennan, Dylan Collis, Scott Mann, Billy Micevski, two each, capped off the Dogs’ on-ball and midfield dominance.

Goalkickers for the Eagles were Brandon Dimech and Cooper Hale.

Pyramid Hill’s best were Dylan Collis, Billy Micevski, Jesse Sheahan, Bryden Morison, Bailey George and Scott Mann.

Hamish McCartney, coach Jay McDonald, Riley Bacon, Sam Keneally, Damian Wust and Corey Walsh were best for the Eagles.

The unbeaten Marong had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 470 per cent, 24 points; Pyramid Hill 193, 20; Inglewood 141, 16; Bridgewater 116, 16; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 111, 16; Maiden Gully YCW 57, 8; Calivil United 52, 4; Mitiamo 43, 4; Newbridge 42, 4.

Leading goalkickers:

37 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

33 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

22 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

21 Kain Robins, Marong.

14 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

14 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

14 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

14 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

14 Matt Riordan, Marong.

14 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

13 Dylan Collis, Pyramid Hill.

13 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

13 Jack McCaig, Marong.

12 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

11 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

11 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

In next Saturday’s eighth round, Bridgewater takes on the unbeaten Marong at Bridgewater Recreation Reserve from 2.15pm.

Pyramid Hill is on home turf at Mitchell Park to play the Blues from Inglewood.

Calivil United and Maiden Gully YCW Eagles clash at Raywood Reserve.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine tackles Mitiamo at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

Newbridge has the bye.