LVFNL Round 8 Football Review | Demons triumph in return to Raywood


CALIVIL United marked a triumphant return to Raywood as it beat Maiden Gully YCW in Saturday’s eighth round in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL footy season.

On a day it paid tribute to the heritage of Northern United Football Club, Calivil United won three of four quarters and drew the other.

The clubs also played for the George Thompson Shield which honours the long-time trainer for Northern United and now Calivil United.

The Anthony Dennis-led Demons led 19-8 at quarter-time and 32-21 by the main break.

Wearing the distinctive maroon and gold the Northern United Swallows wore, Calivil United upped its play in the third to score 4.4 and held the Eagles to 1.2.

Jake Lawry led the Demons attack on three goals as Mitch Avard, Rhys Lourie and Jack Sinclair added two each in an 86-43 victory.

Josh Covington was the Eagles only multiple goalkicker on two.

Best for the Demons who have won two in a row were Rhys Lourie, Jake Lawry, Justin Hynes, Evan Ritchie, Mitch Avard and Lachlan Brook.

Joel Burns, Will Noden, Nathan Murley, coach Jay McDonald, Hamish McCartney and Tyler Miles were Maiden Gully YCW’s best.

Pyramid Hill’s dominance against Inglewood rolled on at Mitchell Park.

The Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Bulldogs took on an Inglewood line-up chasing a fifth consecutive victory.

Pyramid Hill led 33-14 at quarter-time and then slammed on 7.3 to 3.1 in the second.

A high-scoring contest kept going as the Blues fought back to win the third term, 34-29, but the Dogs scored six straight goals  to 2.3 in the last to complete a 143-82 victory.

Zach Alford was in top form as he kicked six goals in a best on ground performance for the red, white and blue, and Bailey George added four.

Other multiple goalkickers for Pyramid Hill were Scott Mann and Will Perryman on two.

Bregon Cotchett booted four goals for Inglewood as Charlie Ingham, Traiton Kendal  and Daniel Polack added two.

Best for the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Bulldogs included Bryden Morison, Jesse Sheahan, Declan Slingo, Bailey George and Thomas Brennan.

Bregon Cotchett, Sam Dorevitch, Daniel Polack, Charlie Ingham, Cody Wright and Callum March were best for the Darrell Billett-coached Blues.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine won a hard-fought clash with Mitiamo at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

The Bears led 31-10 at quarter-time, but Mitiamo hit back to score three goals as BLS added 1.5 in the second term.

Although the Bears added 4.3 in the third, Mitiamo’s tally of 3.5 kept it within three goals.

Both teams added 3.4 apiece in the last as the Justin Laird-coached Bears won 91-73.

Laird led the BLS attack on three goals as Charlie Gadsden, Steve Gladman and Darcy Poulter chipped in with two each.

Mitiamo’s Jay Reynolds kicked a match-high five goals.

Best for the Bears were Josh Taig, Justin Laird, Charlie Gadsden, Darcy Poulter, Kyal Zass and James Bailey.

Duncan Proud, Jay Reynolds, Daniel Walters, Dylan Clohesy, Luke Lougoon and Ross Turner played well for the Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo.

Just as it was when they met in last September’s grand final, Marong won a one-sided contest with Bridgewater.

Marong beat the Mean Machine by 94 points in the 2022 grand final and headed to Bridgewater on Saturday riding a six-game winning streak.

The Panthers led 20-7 at quarter-time and then slammed on 7.3 to nil in the second.

Marong’s formidable on-ball and midfield set up plenty of attacks from which the likes of Brandyn Grenfell, Matt Riordan, Kain Robins and Ryley Taylor capitalised.

Equally as impressive for the Linton Jacobs-coached Marong was its defensive play.

Harry Donegan’s goal in the first would be Bridgewater’s only major of the contest as the Panthers dominated in a 151-10 result.

Grenfell’s haul of seven put him at number one in the goalkicking race as Riordan and Robins added four goals, and Taylor chipped in with three.

Marong’s best were ruckman Michael Bradbury, Nathan Devanny, Kain Robins, Ryley Taylor, Richard Tibbett and Jack McCaig.

Jack Symons, Harry Donegan, Lachlan Allison, Darcy Wood, Ben Derrick and Tyler Estrada were best for the Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater.

Newbridge had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 520 per cent, 28 points; Pyramid Hill 189, 24; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 113, 20; Inglewood 121, 16; Bridgewater 89, 16; Calivil United 62, 8; Maiden Gully YCW 56, 8; Mitiamo 47, 4; Newbridge 42, 4.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

40 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

37 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

25 Kain Robins, Marong.

23 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

18 Matt Riordan, Marong.

17 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

17 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

16 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

16 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

14 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

14 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

14 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

14 Jack McCaig, Marong.

14 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

13 Dylan Collis, Pyramid Hill.

12 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

11 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

11 Will Perryman, Pyramid Hill.

10 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

Clubs reach the halfway mark of the home-and-away series next Saturday.

Inglewood is back on home turf at Dissy Machinery Oval to play Calivil United from 2.15pm.

Pyramid Hill and Newbridge clash in the Bulldogs’ kennel at Mitchell Park.

Maiden Gully YCW Eagles take on Bears-Lagoon Serpentine at Marist College Bendigo Oval.

Mitiamo and Marong meet at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval.

Bridgewater has the bye.

Photo: Elizabeth Sinclair