LVFNL Round 9 Football Preview | Blues feel Calivil United’s heat at Inglewood


INGLEWOOD takes on a Calivil United senior footy team chasing its third victory in a row as the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL hits the halfway mark this Saturday.

The clash between the Blues and Demons at Inglewood’s Dissy Machinery Oval carries great importance for both clubs.

Fourth in the premiership race on a 4-3 record, Inglewood starts the day two wins clear of Calivil United, 2-5 and sixth on the ladder.

A four-game winning streak by Inglewood was ended in a 143-82 loss at Pyramid Hill’s Mitchell Park last Saturday.

Best for the Blues in that match were Bregon Cotchett, Sam Dorevitch, Daniel Polack and Charlie Ingham.

The Darrell Billett-coached Inglewood to face the Demons includes Fergus and Keelan Payne in attack, Cody Stobaus and captain Luke Matheson in defence, ruckman Thomas Kennedy, Traiton Kendal and Matt Rowe in midfield.

After a nil-five start, Calivil United has fought back strongly.

The Anthony Dennis-coached Demons claimed the George Thompson Shield as they beat Calivil United by 43 points in last Saturday’s match at Raywood.

Wingman Rhys Lourie earned the Kevin Demeo Memorial Medal for best afield in a match where Calivil United wore the maroon and gold donned by Northern United in its time in the Golden City FL and Bendigo FL.

Key players in the Demons team to face the Blues include ruckman Justin Hynes, Ben Baker, Jordan Lea, Henry Miller, Evan Ritchie and Cody Thompson.

Maiden Gully YCW Eagles return to Marist College Bendigo to take on Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

A win for the Jay McDonald-coached Eagles will keep the heat on the fifth-placed Bridgewater which has the bye.

Best for MGYCW in the clash with Calivil United at Raywood were Joel Burns, Will Noden, Nathan Murley and Jay McDonald.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine clawed its way to a three-goal win at home against Mitiamo last round.

It was a win, but there’s plenty for the Justin Laird-coached Bears to work on.

The BLS team to play at Maiden Gully includes Andy and Steve Gladman, Charlie and Harry Gadsden, Darcy Poulter and Josh Taig.

After playing cricket for his native Philippines in the Southeast Asian Games, Miggy Podosky is back on the footy field with the Bears.

The in-form Pyramid Hill is back on home turf at Mitchell Park to take on Newbridge.

The Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Bulldogs won last Saturday’s clash with Inglewood by 61 points.

It’s been a superb return to football by Zach Alford who kicked six goals to be best afield in Pyramid Hill’s latest victory.

Players to watch for the Bulldogs include Adrian Holland, Billy Micevski, Bryden Morison, Jesse Sheahan, Mitch Gunther and Declan Slingo.

Newbridge is back in action after a bye.

In round seven, Newbridge was beaten by 13 goals at Inglewood.

Best for the Maroons in that match were Dylan Lloyd, Dylan Stevens, Tyler McLeod, Jack Clark and Matt Giri.

Newbridge’s line-up to play at Pyramid Hill includes coach Sam Gale, co-captains Will Daly and Angus Fortune, Chris Dixon, Aidan Moore, Caleb Sanders and Corey Van Aken.

Mitiamo is on home turf at John Forbes Oval to take on Marong.

Massive challenge for the Jon Varcoe-coached Superoos against the reigning premier and unbeaten ladder-leader.

Mitiamo could take a lot of confidence from a 73-91 result at Serpentine.

The Superoos’ best against BLS included Duncan Proud, Daniel Walters and Dylan Clohesy.

Jay Reynolds lifted his season tally to 16 after a five-goal haul against the Bears, but this time is up against a defence which held Bridgewater to a goal last Saturday.

Mitiamo does have the experienced Luke Lougoon and Ross Turner capable of winning many contests.

A powerful Marong team had ruckman Michael Bradbury, Nathan Devanny, Kain Robins and Ryley Taylor star against Bridgewater last round.

The Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater has the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 520 per cent, 28 points; Pyramid Hill 189, 24; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 113, 20; Inglewood 121, 16; Bridgewater 89, 16; Calivil United 62, 8; Maiden Gully YCW 56, 8; Mitiamo 47, 4; Newbridge 42, 4.

Leading goalkickers:

40 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

37 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

25 Kain Robins, Marong.

23 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

18 Matt Riordan, Marong.

17 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

17 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

16 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

16 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

14 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

14 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

14 Jack McCaig, Marong.

14 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

13 Dylan Collis, Pyramid Hill.

12 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

11 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

11 Will Perryman, Pyramid Hill.

10 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.